We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Upper Harbledown hotels

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Canterbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rachel1807 Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (379)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (77)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    176
    78
    24
    11
See reviews for
96
148
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on 28th July before an early morning ferry crossing. Lovely and clean, friendly staff and big portions in the restaurant. I agree with others that it's a bit tricky to get to (depending on which direction you're coming from) but I'd definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. Pleased to know you have liked the cleanliness of the hotel, dinner food and importantly our valued staff. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit. Look forward to welcoming you soon. Regards Malith Jayathilake Operations Manager More

Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrrived late with two kids after the kitchen had just closed. But the front staffand chef went out of their way to help us. the chef rustled up quick meal which was fab! My husband said it was one of the best pizzas and the curry I had was great too! It was hot so we left the windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel. We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the valued staff, tastiness of the food, comfortable beddings and overall stay. We hope to have the honour of serving you again hear at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. Regards Malith Jayathilake Operations Manager More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of days on a bird watching trip to Kent. The hotel is not easy to get into, only being accessible from the A2 southbound and even then is not visible until you actually arrive at the exit. The greeting was very friendly and efficient. Our room was out the back of the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You are initially put off by the burned out building you drive past on the way into the car park, not a great first impression! Hotel was ok, room ok, food ok but service not great. I was not given a receipt for my evening meal and when I asked if I could get a copy next day, or a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Mark P, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the University of Kent, as we were attending the university's Open Day, and booked two rooms - one for ourselves and one for our son. The rooms were large, clean and had comfortable beds. Check-in/out was quick and there was plenty of parking. The hotel is adjacent to the busy A2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are glad you liked the room amenities, its size, cleanliness and the check in/out process. Please accept our apologies if any inconvenience caused... More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights, would not stay again. The room was on the 2nd floor, directly above the very noisy generators outside. These ran 24hrs a day. The staff also emptied the glass bins and rubbish at 6am next to the generators. Nosiest place I have ever stayed! Breakfast was poor, burnt fried sausages, dry scrambled eggs and beans.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to securely apologize for the challenges you had in our breakfast area, dinner and the noise outside the room. Just to clarify few things, we do not have generators in the hotel. However, it is unfortunate to hear there was a... More

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having past this place many times, it proximity to the very busy A2 and awkward access was not propitious. However, though the access is awkward and it is close to the A2 neither were a major issue. It was possibly fortunate that our room faced away from the road as there is no air-con so an open window was necessary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the room, public area, breakfast and the valued staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Look forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night whilst travelling - what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean etc. However although the kitchen was closed a staff member organised a pizza to be cooked and served in the bar with no fuss making us feel welcome after a long drive. Service like this is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on a stop-over to the Andre Rieu Concert in Maastricht after a drive down from Manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb. Breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg & sausage, cereal, fruit and continental choices too. Slight criticism was no lift and the rooms would be better if there was a safe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were clean and the shower was very good. The breakfast area was very busy and the layout of the buffet area meant it was very crowded when selecting food. The staff were helpful and happy to book taxis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer