We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Upper Harbledown hotels

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Canterbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Geoff S Guildford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (387)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (77)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    181
    79
    25
    11
See reviews for
95
148
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of days on a bird watching trip to Kent. The hotel is not easy to get into, only being accessible from the A2 southbound and even then is not visible until you actually arrive at the exit. The greeting was very friendly and efficient. Our room was out the back of the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You are initially put off by the burned out building you drive past on the way into the car park, not a great first impression! Hotel was ok, room ok, food ok but service not great. I was not given a receipt for my evening meal and when I asked if I could get a copy next day, or a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the University of Kent, as we were attending the university's Open Day, and booked two rooms - one for ourselves and one for our son. The rooms were large, clean and had comfortable beds. Check-in/out was quick and there was plenty of parking. The hotel is adjacent to the busy A2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are glad you liked the room amenities, its size, cleanliness and the check in/out process. Please accept our apologies if any inconvenience caused... More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights, would not stay again. The room was on the 2nd floor, directly above the very noisy generators outside. These ran 24hrs a day. The staff also emptied the glass bins and rubbish at 6am next to the generators. Nosiest place I have ever stayed! Breakfast was poor, burnt fried sausages, dry scrambled eggs and beans.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to securely apologize for the challenges you had in our breakfast area, dinner and the noise outside the room. Just to clarify few things, we do not have generators in the hotel. However, it is unfortunate to hear there was a... More

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having past this place many times, it proximity to the very busy A2 and awkward access was not propitious. However, though the access is awkward and it is close to the A2 neither were a major issue. It was possibly fortunate that our room faced away from the road as there is no air-con so an open window was necessary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the room, public area, breakfast and the valued staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Look forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night whilst travelling - what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean etc. However although the kitchen was closed a staff member organised a pizza to be cooked and served in the bar with no fuss making us feel welcome after a long drive. Service like this is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a stop-over to the Andre Rieu Concert in Maastricht after a drive down from Manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb. Breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg & sausage, cereal, fruit and continental choices too. Slight criticism was no lift and the rooms would be better if there was a safe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were clean and the shower was very good. The breakfast area was very busy and the layout of the buffet area meant it was very crowded when selecting food. The staff were helpful and happy to book taxis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a nice ground floor room. Others in my group were upstairs and there was no elevator. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. It is not centrally located so if you don't have your own transportation (tour groups) you're done for the night when you get back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just 10 min from Canterbury a useful place to stay, rooms , lounge and breakfast area the usual Holiday Inn express standard, no lift so if you don't like stairs make sure you get a ground floor room. Recognised as a Priority Club member with a free drink although it was only half a pint. evey other Express I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer