We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Review This Hotel

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    103
    57
    15
    18
See reviews for
31
56
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place is perfect, for short stay, or if you need a simple place, just a bed to sleep, if you spend most of your day out. The hostle has very good location, what you need is in walking distance from the city center, or from a great view point also. I can recomend this place for those who have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel consists of several buildings on the same road which is not clear when you book, this is not a problem as all the buildings are close to each other and if you check in late the keys and a map are left in reception. I booked a room to myself and it had everything i needed and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on two nights, one 10 days ago and one a couple of nights ago. Good points: - The desk staff are lovely, polite and really friendly and helpful - couldn't fault them! I rang them because the internet was down, and even though I was annoyed about this, the guy on the desk was lovely and apologetic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first you are greeted by the big house that you assume to be the entire hostel; which is very comfy from the inside and out (mind you). But you are surprised by the check in process (for after hours only) are surprisingly simple: enter the building and pick up your envelope right outside the reception office - they will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Reykjavic in March 2015 and decided on this hostel as it was reasonably priced and was close to the city centre. We arrived at about 5pm to find that the reception was closed. It is only open between 8am and 4pm which is a first for me, having stayed in many hostels throughout Europe. We also found one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

a very nice place to stay, it's not long to walk to tjonga that You want to watch like Harpan, Perlan, the church, shopping streets and shoppingcenter Kringlan, resturants and other things. The Room was good and nice. They where very serviceminded at the hotell reception. We would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Jesli69, Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We thank you for this excellent note: We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you for your next stay in Reykjavik. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Honestly, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, it is a joke!! First of all the house is a complete mess, the kitchen was in such a state when I arrived, someone had put back dirty plates cutlery etc it was vile. Secondly after living there for one month I decided I had to leave, yet the manager and staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Lydia, We are always happy to read each comments from our guest, even if there was something wrong because it is a good opportunity for us to improve the level of quality of our services. But with your comment we think it is totally unfair, wrong and we can‘t accept it. First at all you should explain that you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Perfectly friendly, we stayed in a double room, had a sink, well lit mirror, window with a view of snow outside, wardrobe, desk and chair. Suitable for for any one travelling with friends or a partner. We didn't bother with the breakfast as there as just 5 minute walk was a crepery! The hostel is perfectly warm and staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Lucygringo, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for pointing out our great location to visit Reykjavik. We are all looking forward to welcome you a next time. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed here for three nights and thought the staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. They gave us honest advice on the chances of seeing the northern lights which we appreciated as they could have easily have tried to sell us tours just to make the sales.The hostel is in a good location and only 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Jade, All the team of Reykjavik Hostel Village is pleased to read your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for this great comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, which was an over all okish experience. I have to say the beds/ blankets were very comfy and cosy, while that all that I can rave about.. the wifi was poor and kept losing its signal, breakfast is very basic, and noise traveled easly through the building. Other than that our room was toasty, semi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Laura t, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are sorry for the trouble with the Wifi. Our provider have fixed that and the connection is good now. We thank you for pointing out our location and the comfort of our rooms. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question