We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reykjavik Hostel Village

2.0 of 5 Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    101
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
31
56
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a very nice place to stay, it's not long to walk to tjonga that You want to watch like Harpan, Perlan, the church, shopping streets and shoppingcenter Kringlan, resturants and other things. The Room was good and nice. They where very serviceminded at the hotell reception. We would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Jesli69, Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We thank you for this excellent note: We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you for your next stay in Reykjavik. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Honestly, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, it is a joke!! First of all the house is a complete mess, the kitchen was in such a state when I arrived, someone had put back dirty plates cutlery etc it was vile. Secondly after living there for one month I decided I had to leave, yet the manager and staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Lydia, We are always happy to read each comments from our guest, even if there was something wrong because it is a good opportunity for us to improve the level of quality of our services. But with your comment we think it is totally unfair, wrong and we can‘t accept it. First at all you should explain that you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfectly friendly, we stayed in a double room, had a sink, well lit mirror, window with a view of snow outside, wardrobe, desk and chair. Suitable for for any one travelling with friends or a partner. We didn't bother with the breakfast as there as just 5 minute walk was a crepery! The hostel is perfectly warm and staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Lucygringo, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for pointing out our great location to visit Reykjavik. We are all looking forward to welcome you a next time. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed here for three nights and thought the staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. They gave us honest advice on the chances of seeing the northern lights which we appreciated as they could have easily have tried to sell us tours just to make the sales.The hostel is in a good location and only 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Jade, All the team of Reykjavik Hostel Village is pleased to read your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for this great comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, which was an over all okish experience. I have to say the beds/ blankets were very comfy and cosy, while that all that I can rave about.. the wifi was poor and kept losing its signal, breakfast is very basic, and noise traveled easly through the building. Other than that our room was toasty, semi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Laura t, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are sorry for the trouble with the Wifi. Our provider have fixed that and the connection is good now. We thank you for pointing out our location and the comfort of our rooms. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in hostels before, this one is excellent for the price. We were staying for a week, and were given a large room, which was comfortable and clean. No issues with the showers and toilets, as we were always able to access them when needed. There was a well equipped kitchen in our block, some reviewers mentioned that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Angela b, Thank you very much for sharing your great experience here All our staff is more than happy to read your great comments. We hope to see you a next time in Reykjavik, Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Peterlee, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for one week in December, I have not stayed in a hostel before so was not sure what to expect,and in all honesty can not fault the place ,perfect for a base camp while exploring iceland, the staff where exelent, and always happy to help and spoke very good English, I shall be using this place again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

The hostel is at a quite good location where we needed only 5min walk to the Hallgrímskirkja church and just on the main road to go out of the city to all the icelandic tourist destinations as well as Keflavik airport. We hired a car during our stay and the parking is easy and free. Though the reception office only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

As mentioned before perfect location about 5 minutes walk into reykjavik.The hostel was perfect for my needs and will stay again when i plan to return.I stayed in a very clean private room with a big bed and a sink.The shower and toilet was next door which didn't bother me as i knew there was no private facilities.Try and ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Excellent location on one edge of downtown, a nice walk through the main shopping street or a short walk down to the sea with the Mountains in view as you walk. Excellent hostel accommodation with really clean, warm rooms, friendly staff who are helpful and cheery. Shared bath/shower room is the only minor thing although they are kept really clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay