We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Add Photo

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    112
    64
    20
    20
See reviews for
34
66
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've spend a few nights in a dorm room (5 beds, mixed). The room was quite small, but it had a fridge, a kettle (tea and coffee available), a desk and a wardrobe (no lockers). You can store some of your stuff at the reception. The hostel is quite clean, there were no problems with access to the bathrooms/toilets. Kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, the hostel is organised in several buildings, so I have to do the check in one building, my room was in another (3-minute walk), the bathroom in another and the breakfast in another one. This made my stay unconfortable, above all when I have to leave my room under the rain to have a shower in another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Felix, Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that you had an uncomfortable stay. The bed booked by your travel agency was in a mixed dorm. It is a room shared with other travelers. But it is also possible to book a private room at our hostel. If something was wrong on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My small clean room was in the house way up the road from reception. Rooms 53 to 73 are in this building. Actuall rooms 72 and 73 are in the garage. There is a bathroom on each floor and I had a fridge and a kettle in my room. Reception was always helpful. A towel was supplied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear gayeontario, Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to see you again during your next stay in Reykjavik. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Farmington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read the other reviews of this place and maybe my expectations are higher, but apart from friendly staff, I really can't find anything to commend this hotel for. Perhaps Reykjavik is an expensive city, which is why I found myself paying Euro 171 for a room with three beds (nearly 60 Euros a pop). I wouldn't have minded that,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear AvidTraveller2011, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The feedback of our guest is really important for us so we know what to do to continue to improve our service. Warm regards, Thomas More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice room and building (there are several), very helpful and friendly reception, easy walk to city center and Reykjavic Excursions bus terminal. A great choice on a budget or if you prefer to spend your money on food and drink :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Zeftravel, Thank you for posting your review. We are really happy to read your satisfaction and we hope to see you again. Warm regards, Thomas More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At £70 per night for a double room with shared bathroom, it was the best value I could find. We arrived at 10am and we were told we could leave our bags in a room as check in was available from 2pm which was fantastic, however we were told that we could pay 2500kr and check in early. Given that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. We talked with the housekeeper about the cleaning of your room and breakfast and we present you our sincerest apologies. We are more than happy to hear that you had a good time with our staff. We read each comment very carefully to try to find... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean and cozy bathrooms and bedrooms, fridge and waterboiler in the bedrooms a great plus. Staff was very friendly and helped us with all our questions, including making calls for us to order day trips. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will definately come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Mia, Thank you very much for your nice review ! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We hope to have the pleasure to see you a next time. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Clifton Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In short: staying at Hostel Village was the best choice! We were within minutes of every restaurant, major roadway, the water, even Harpa Music Hall and Perlan. Not only was the location perfect, but the breakfasts had a great variety. The beds were very comfortable and the room spacious enough for a desk, minifridge, armoir, & sink. The hostel staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Jen, Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! It is a huge pleasure to read your satisfaction. We are all looking forward to welcome you very soon! Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Tornio, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The hostel was nice and clean. Our room was located in another building, not at the same as the reception was. It was very quiet there, only locks on the doors were noisy. There were a double bed and a single bed in our room. It was a good solution for us, for two women. So we could have separate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are happy to read that you had a good time in our hostel. We hope to see you again. Warm regards, Thomas, Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay