We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Reykjavik hotels

Fosshotel Baron

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Fosshotel Baron
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
79%
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Thomas K Bergen, Norway
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    437
    141
    23
    10
See reviews for
101
379
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (757)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (175)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (199)
All months
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fosshotel is a 3-stars hotel for sure, but it is a great 3-stars hotel. Good location, clean rooms, parking and nice breakfast. The bar was cosy and the service good. Wifi is free, but did not extend to all parts of our big (and long) room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Thomas K, Thank you for your review and hope you and your family had a great stay in Iceland. Best Regards Kristbjorn General Manager at Fosshotel Baron More

Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights on a layover home from Scotland. The hotel is in good location with the front rooms having a water view (albeit between other buildings). 3 of us were sharing a room on the first floor which was more like an apartment--2 bedrooms, kitchenette with fridge, sink, cooktop, microwave, toaster and cofeemaker. This is a great money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent 6 days in Iceland with 4 nights in this hotel. On the first evening i arrived, the check-in was very very slow. The attic-style single room was small and basic. The first impression was not good. Maybe what i want to say is, i started loving this hotel from the second day onwards. The breakfast was excellent, specifically... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Selsel33, Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at Fosshotel Baron. Very glad to read you were happy with the hotel and that your initial impression did change during your stay. Hope you had a wonderfull stay in Iceland and maybe you will have the chance to visit again in the future. Best Regards Kristbjörn... More

Bayside, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a place that grows on you ! While not "trendy" it was clean, comfortable and accessible. I was in a double room which certainly was not luxurious but again it was more than adequate. My major complaint was the lack of a tub and a particularly small shower area (1 meter x 1 meter). I would have also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Old, dirty, tiny, uncomfortable, frumpy room. Internet connection rare and weak. Breakfast area small, loud. Has one thing (only) going for it- close to restaurant/shopping area. Much better options up the hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Judydub, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry we did not live up to you expectations but I do hope you nevertheless managed to enjoy your stay in Reykjavik. Best Regards Kristbjörn Manager at Fosshotel Baron More

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights while on vacation. The hotel is well located; at the end of the main shopping street which is approximately a 15 minute walk. The room was a decent size. The shower was tiny. A soap/shampoo dispenser was provided. Breakfast was great. We travel often and you don't find many hotels European hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off we were here for a week in March to see the Lights and enjoy what Iceland has to offer. The Hotel is in a good spot for light watching at night just far enough from the bright lights of the down town area. It is just about 200m up a slight slope to the main shopping street with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Similar to the other reviews, the Fosshotel Baron is close to the city center (approximately 15 minute walk) and the harbor. Service was descent. The breakfast was quite good, and the staff was able to answer any questions I had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katonah, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here's what's good about Fosshotel Baron: the location near the shopping district, near restaurants, on the water, views, all the airport and tour buses stop there, the lobby is nice, the front desk staff is very helpful, the breakfast is extensive and good, the rooms are fine -- clean and warm. But our bathroom was quite basic and a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a conference. It's in a very nice location right by the ocean; it's reasonably close to the city center but not right in the center. I would have preferred to be closer to my conference, but I did enjoy the ocean view from the room. The facilities are good, and the staff were helpful. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Fosshotel Baron?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Fosshotel Baron