We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle House Luxury Apartments

Travelers' Choice award winner
Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    336
    115
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
287
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (464)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good position, very clean and comfortable. Communication from original enquiry to departure was excellent, prompt, efficient, but more over friendly. Plenty of information provided and help available. Our first trip to Iceland and we loved it and the welcome we received.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Took care of every detail including transportation pickup at airport. Apartment extremely clean and well stocked. Great information in apartment re. Restaurants, excursions, etc. we were allowed to bookin at 9:00 am which was great as our flight arrived at 6:15 am and we were extremely tired with the 7 hour time difference. Manager called our apartment within 1/2 hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
55 hotel reviews
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great view from our balcony of Tjornin ( the Pond), and that is part the joy of Castle House - it really is 7 minutes walk from the restaurants and shopping, but has no street noise. The apartments are well furnished with huge tv, comfortable living room. The kitchen had everything we needed, whilst the bathroom was modern, ultra clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For those planning to stay in Reykjavik for more than a few days this is perfect. I only stayed for a night but I am very pleased with it. The location is central and makes visiting attractions very easy as noted by other reviewers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had apartment 30, on the top floor with a small balcony that overlooked the lake, and the church in front, with the art museum next door. Location was a big plus point for me, apart from the view you are only about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street, and pass a bonus supermarket which is tucked away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Estes Park, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in our comfortable apartment. The location was excellent for our walking experiences; it felt like home when we returned each day. We enjoyed having a kitchen, and, though small, the living area suited us. We are vegans and we found several excellent restaurants within walking distance who took good care of us. Castle House was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Apartment 10 for 4 nights. 3 out of the 4 nights we were woken up at ridiculous hours. Unfortunately the apartment next-door has a bathroom that is in line with the bedroom of Apartment 10. You can quite literally hear everything that the guests staying in that apartment are doing...This is very annoying when someone decides to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IngibergurT, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review First of all, I am sorry you had this experience. I just wish you had contacted us during your 4 night stay, we could have moved you to a different apartment. We have a 24/7 phone service and we really wish all our guests to be happy with their stay with us. Regarding the issue,... More 

Vancouver, Wash, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights in early June. Facility was neat, clean, fully equipped, and centrally located within city. It's within short walking distance from 25 to 35 quality restaurants, a 24 hour convince store, and the bus system delivered us from airport to door, and pitched us up at the door for the return trip. Fully equipped kitchen with dish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Just to concur with the other reviewers we had a great stay at the Castle House. We stayed 2 nights before departing for our ring road drive. It was much closer to the downtown area than I thought when looking at a map. It was only a 10 minute walk to anywhere we wanted to go. The staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I stayed in Apartment 10 for a week in April 2015. The apartment is located in a quiet and pleasant area of Reykjavik, and is located within a 10-15 minute walk of the main shopping street and there are good restaurants nearby as well. It was very clean and well-maintained - the housekeeping staff are evidently doing a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay