We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Reykjavik hotels

Kriunes Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland
Hotel amenities
Kriunes Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Kriunes Hotel to your Saves list
82%
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
693Wedding30 Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Though they need one more sign (at the end of the road before turning left and dropping down the hill) to make finding the hotel a breeze, the service was exceptional once we arrived. I had booked this for several days as part of our honeymoon. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating in late bookings for evening meals, early breakfasts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our experience at the Hotel Kriunes was positive. Originally there was a mix up in our Expedia booking but the hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. They were able to upgrade our hotel room at a very fair price to a comfortable room with a wonderful view. The staff here are superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After traveling on the Ring Road we spent the last two days here. As one reviewer said, it is not really a Hotel, maybe something between Hotel and Guesthouse. It seems that they are very popular as conference Hotel. We liked the Hotel very much. It has a very cosy and warm atmosphere. We even got an upgrade to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We picked this as we wanted to be out of the city centre, have some rural views and not be in a tiny room and it met all these things. It's a very relaxed personal hotel and the hosts were friendly and helpful. Not easy to find first time so make sure you have a good map with you. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location for a hotel near Reykjavik, large rooms, very tidy - but the décor - very dated and as far removed from Iceland design as imaginable...Mexican musicians guarding doors, bathrooms with a 'touch of Spain' and very cluttered lounge and dining area, no reception, hacienda style outside spaces...weird! Must be a great location in summer but not much to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited again and been going here for 2 years now as a base to see the Aurora Wonderful location on the outskirts of Reykjavik. Ideal for watching the Northern Lights when visible, especially those you won't see from the centre of the city because of the light pollution. A wonderfully charming family run hotel, lovely people, and a nice base... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the blurb on the hotel website, I expected something rather more upmarket from the Kriunes Hotel. It's not really a hotel in the service sense; there is no reception and despite saying they do evening meals, there is no menu and notice is required if you want to eat in the evening. On the one night we ate in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The receipt for your stay says "Kriunes Guest House" at the top, which I think is better way to describe this accommodation. There isn't a reception desk, nor check in process, nor an extensive breakfast nor a restaurant in the conventional sense. For breakfast there are cereals, cold meat, tea & coffee, bread / toast, sometimes fruit, and an offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

the bread and jam and hot tub are great. the view is great. there are TWO buses to take to town. both extremely unreliable, and taxi is $40. The hotel owner overcharged us for food (and would not disclose the cost when asked first) we were vulnerable. i am left with a feeling of being subtly manipulated and played by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kriunes, Owner at Kriunes Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am very disappointed to read that you had such a bad experience. Although I wish you would have expressed your dissatisfaction to me directly during one of our conversations. I would like to address the issues you have brought up. Firstly, our location in your hotel itinerary... More

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recommend this unusual hotel. 20 years ago it was a small farmhouse on the edge of a lake surrounded by countryside. It's now in a suburb -- but still on the expansive lakeside with enough land surrounding it to make it seem as though you're still in the country. In the last 20 years the family has added fourteen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Kriunes Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kriunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriunes Hotel

Address: Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kriunes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kriunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Kriunes Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby