We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Edda - Akureyri

Hrafnagilstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Hotel amenities
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014
Sardionerak Sydney
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    67
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
18
57
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Important info up front: This hotel consists of two parts - an old part and a new part. Make sure you stay in the new part. Also, I only gave it 3 stars, but it's not a bad hotel. It just lacks character and is rather expensive for the basics it provides. It also has good sides though. Before I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A comfortable hotel, very clean with a good breakfast. A typical Hotel Edda, good value and straight forward. We stayed for one night while touring in Iceland. I would recommend it if you just want a place to stay the night but will be out and about most of the day. Also the botanical gardens next door are worth checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler We would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay and for recommending us to other readers, we highly appreciate that. We are also glad to see that you found our hotel to be of a good value and to have suited your needs while traveling through Iceland. And yes we agree that the Botanical... More 

Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

An old school with a feel that teachers and pupils will pop up. Clean, down to earth with a good breakfast spread. You can keep trim in the gym, play football or handball. Share bogs and bathrooms. What do you expect from school!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler Thank you for giving us such a positive review, that really means a lot to us. Yes our hotel is actually situated next to a local college so we can understand that you felt like you were back in school, we at least hope that you learned something about Akureyri and were able to explore all the nearby... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon as part of our round Iceland trip in 5 different Hotel Eddas. This was the busiest Hotel Edda we say with so many guests and staff! We were told we were in the best room in the hotel with a lovely view from the top floor of Akureyri. They have coach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler We are so happy to see that you and your husband had a pleasant stay with us on your honeymoon trip in Iceland. Ye the check in desk can get a little crowded from time to time, especially with big groups arriving, but our staff always seems to manage them well. We would like to thank you for... More 

Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Edda is located right next to the Botanic Gardens of Akureyri. Those gardens are definitely worth strolling through. Very beautiful en ideal for a picnic. Our room in hotel Edda was spacious en clean. We even had a microwave and a kitchen sink (which we did not use). Curtains were thick enough to keep the sunlight out. Sadly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler Thank you so much for writing such a positive review about our hotel. We are sorry however to see that our beds did not suit you and that you noticed some sulfur odor from the water in the bathroom, we will take your complaint for consideration and see if we can do anything about it. We are glad... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Small room without shower, nice and with amenities, I just jump to bed and over are some shells so I hit myself with them on my head, got so angry that I upgrade for one night. IoI was just the situation, hope they haven't put up the shells like that to makes us upgrade room. :) the desk service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are really sorry to see that you hurt yourself by knocking against the headboard. Those headboards are according to usual standards and regulations but accidents can of course occur. Although sensing the humor and irony, we can assure you that we did not put up those headboards to make... More 

Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was tired after driving all day and the Hotel Edda in Akureyri was very welcome. The room was large and well laid out. My only downside with this and other Edda hotels is the lack of wifi in the rooms - you have to go to the lobby for it. Sort of strange in this day and age. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Edda - Akureyri, responded to this review

Dear traveler We would like to thank you for the kind words and we are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and inviting. About the Wi-Fi we can understand your frustration but unfortunately due to some issues we were unable to offer Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms. This is hopefully something that we can change in... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hotel Edda is located about 3 kilometres from Akureyri airport, which is about 5 minutes’ drive. Although it takes about 1.5 kilometres from the hotel to downtown Akureyri, the hotel is just adjacent to the Akureyri Botanical Garden. Main markets in downtown are hence, about 1.5 kilometres away. The reception area is good and check in was prompt. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Clean, simple and very affordable. Near a pool / spa, and walking distance from the main strip. Very helpful staff. The garden area is nice, and there is food on site we didn't get a chance to hit. Perfect stop if you are hitting the ring road and just need a place to crash for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Edda-Akureyri for 3 nights during our conference trip to Akureyri in July 2013. Edda hotel are some kind of summer ho(s)tels, where students normally live during school years. Hotel Edda in Akureyri is located outside the city center, top of the quite steep hill. There are few restaurants on the way from center to hotel. Akuryeri... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay