We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    149
    66
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
71
37
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is very good. Staff at Reception is very pleasant and welcoming.They are ready to help always. Breakfast is Good with many options but for a Vegetarian ,there are not much options to eat. Rooms are clean and spacious If you have time ,do visit the Souvenior shop inside hotel near reception.The lady there is very pleasant and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liepaja
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location for business but you could wish for better service. Ventilation is not working and in sunny days you get 26C temperature in room. All I could get is noisy ventilator. And if you are staying more than one night - there is no guarantee that you will get room service every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mari S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Martins L, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a weekend in Helsinki at the beginning of August. I enjoyed a comfortable stay and the location is very convenient. The hotel is in Helsinki's business district. The 'Helsinki West' name might put some people off, but the hotel's location certainly wasn't a problem. It's less than five minutes walk to the nearest Metro station, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear ThatLindseyGuy, We loved reading how much you enjoyed your stay, hotel service and facililities. It has been a pleasure having you here with us. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards: Annika Kotilainen Front Office Manager More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Holiday Inn is a three++ hotel with no frills outside of city centre. Location Holiday Inn is located west of Helsinki centre in office - residential area and close by to west harbour. I'd imagine its main clientele would be business people who would like to be close by to roads leading towards the offices in Espoo or those visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mari S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear rantati7, Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I'm happy to read that your stay was satisfactory although you found our hotel a bit outdated. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards: Annika Kotilainen Front Office Manager More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for a few nights for business at the office which is practically next door. The hotel is at a very good location for business as well as for local sightseeeing due to proximity to Underground railway station of Ruoholahti. The room service is a bit dissapointing since they have a very limited menu for in-room dining while the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mari S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Rahul M, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Helsinki West Ruoholahti. I am pleased to see that our location was suitable to your trip requirements and that you enjoyed our friendly team. However, I apologize for the limited menu for in-room dining. Your comments are highly valuable to... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I went some times in this hotel: rooms are nice and clean, breakfast could be better, the guys are kind and ready to support if needed. Just an improvement in breakfast and it will became close to perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Paolo S, I am very grateful you took the time to write a review in this website after your stay at our hotel. I hope you enjoyed it, even if our breakfast was not up to your expectations. My team will be delighted to hear about your kind words! They always try their best to give the best customer... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The location Everything (the harbor, the train station) are within minutes by car/taxi. Also a City Market shopping center within walking distance, right across the street from the hotel. However, shops in Helsinki close at 6pm. The hotel This Holiday Inn has practically all you need for your business travel. It has a self-service business center, a souvenir shop, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you for your visit and feedback. We appreciate and welcome your comments and observations. I apologize that the air-conditioner did not work properly in your room! We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Comfortable hotel with all the 'standard' eminities so I can't complain. Nothing special to be honest. Food services VERY limited as you're so far out of 'town' like I'm used to... Was extremely disappointed that I ordered room service and was charged an additional € 10. That is what you expect at a 5 star hotel which this is not!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Riëtte B, Thank You for Your feedback. That is nice to hear that Your stay with us was comfortable. We are locating about 2,5 kilometers from the city center. I am sorry to hear that for Your purpose we are too far. Helsinki offers very good public transport, by Metro You can go to the center in 5 minutes.... More 

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

It was my 3rd or 4th stay in this Hotel & I was quite disappointed with my recent stay in Holiday Inn Helsinki-West,being a platinum member I was informed that I got upgraded to Executive Rooms but honestly there was not at all a single difference in rooms as I have stayed before in normal rooms and worst part was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mari S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear prashantbahl, Thank you for your comments, which you drew in my attention to your experience while guest at Holiday Inn Helsinki West Ruoholahti! As IHG Rewards Club Platinum member you are of extreme importance to us and we are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I have discussed the points you raised... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Nice hotel, clean good size rooms. Friendly staff. Great location for transport links. 1hr by bus and metro to the airport. Restaurant for a hotel is good quality and good value. Didn't mind been stuck in when the weather was bad. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mari S, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review

Dear Karl M, Pleased to have Your positive review! Your feedback is helping us for keep up the good work. That is great to hear that Your stay with us have been succeeded. Welcome for stay with us also in the future! Have a nice summer! Best regards, Tiina Heino Duty Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#34 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay