We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Helsinki accommodations

Stadion Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland (Taka-Töölö)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stadion Hostel to your Saves list
Stadion Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PresPJ Beijing, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (106)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    53
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
16
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
49 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was acceptable. The staff were great! However, the hostel is far from the city centre maybe 30 mins walk. And some of it is up a hill. The hostel is located inside the stadium. The accommodation was very basic. 12 people in 1 room. Showers were average. Breakfast for 6.50 eur was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stadion Hostel is located in a very pretty area, but if you are travelling via public transport with more than a backpack, be prepared for a bit of a walk from the tram. The signage from the main road is great, but signage for the entrance isn't visable from the street, so you have to keep walking into a carpark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

what do you expect from a hostel? super-friendly helpful staff, tidy rooms, clean bathing facilities, well-equipped kitchen, airy dining room, lots of interesting people to talk to in the evenings and cheap prices. You'll find it all in this hostel. We stayed there for just one night but there were tourists who stayed for two weeks. We paid only 58... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hostel is good for small budjet travellers. Rooms are fine, but beds are slightly uncomfortable. Dining room and TV room are i good condition. Check-in times are flexible and you can stay longer if there is room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you plan to stay in Helsinki for only 2-3 days (and spend them by whole-day sightseeing, using hostel only for sleeping), you can choose Stadion Hostel. It looks outdated, there is only a limited space in the room (we stayed in the room for 3 people), no washstand. Shared bathrooms were clean and usable. We were able to connect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Typical hostel with your huge rooms with 10 beds and shared bathrooms that aren't super clean. If you're on a budget and traveling solo, this might be the best deal in town, but if you're willing to spend a couple eurosmore, look for other hostels in a better location. This hostel was pretty hard to find because it's behind the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Don't bother staying here, it's so old and basic, the Internet only works in the lobby, the showers are terrible with hardly any privacy, the beds are like children's beds and the pillows are rubbish. The staff are not very friendly. The shared kitchen is one you would expect on a fishing boat in the arctic. Also the people that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Elskan M, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would just like to comment on a few points you mentioned. We have a free WiFi in the lobby and the breakfast room, and additionally 2 internet-connected computers in the breakfast room. This is also mentioned on our website. I am not... More

England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a decent hostel. Very spacious dorms and quite a few nice areas to hang out. Location isn't great but it is walking distance into the centre (15-20 mins). It does feel a outdated in certain areas compared to modern hostels mainly because of the basic hardboard-type of wood in the corridors. There's a bit of artwork on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I chose a private room with shared bathroom - they only have bunk beds in these rooms, no double beds, but no problem. It was the cheapest option for us in a very expensive city. We still found the price to be much higher than it should have been (50 euros for a hostel room with bunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I come back to the hostel at 4.30 a.m. from the party. The guy at reception meet me with a terrible speech. He said, that it is unacceptable behavior. It was really rude. He didn't gave me a towel and he gave me a key to the room other that I'd booked. He explained that it is only about my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Arina P, I am sorry to hear that you had a problem when returning to the hostel at night. It seems that there has been a misunderstanding between yourself and the receptionist. The hostel has "silent hours" from 11pm until 7am to guarantee a good night's sleep for guests, and we do not check in new guests into dormitory... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stadion Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stadion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadion Hostel

Address: Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Taka-Töölö
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stadion Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stadion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Helsinki

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stadion Hostel offers travellers cheap accommodation at the Helsinki Olympic Stadium, close to the heart of Helsinki and its sights. The Hostel offers shared accommodation to those looking for adventure and low prices, and smaller rooms to those who value privacy. All the rooms in Stadion Hostel are non-smoking.Our services:- Breakfast available at an extra charge- Free parking- Free internet-connected computers and WiFi- Self-catering kitchen- Security lockers- Laundry- 24-hour Reception- Information on Helsinki- Vending machines- TV lounge- Luggage storage- Good transport connections to city centre- Group reservations ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer