We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Helsinki accommodations

Stadion Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland (Taka-Töölö)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stadion Hostel to your Saves list
Stadion Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
50%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Johan V
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    55
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
16
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice, helping staff. Free linen/towel, clean toilets/showers, free Wifi. Close to some supermarkets and pharmacies. Close to many bus- and tram stops (the city centre takes only 5 minutes by bus). The Finnair bus which goes directly to the airport leaves from a bus that's only a 10 minute walk from the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first time in dormitory room. Do not try it if you do not have something to put in your ears! Lucky i had. Wi-fi was free in the common rooms. Friendly staff and a cheap way to sleep. Clean and well equipped with cooking possibilities, refrigerators and so on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
54 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was acceptable. The staff were great! However, the hostel is far from the city centre maybe 30 mins walk. And some of it is up a hill. The hostel is located inside the stadium. The accommodation was very basic. 12 people in 1 room. Showers were average. Breakfast for 6.50 eur was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stadion Hostel is located in a very pretty area, but if you are travelling via public transport with more than a backpack, be prepared for a bit of a walk from the tram. The signage from the main road is great, but signage for the entrance isn't visable from the street, so you have to keep walking into a carpark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

what do you expect from a hostel? super-friendly helpful staff, tidy rooms, clean bathing facilities, well-equipped kitchen, airy dining room, lots of interesting people to talk to in the evenings and cheap prices. You'll find it all in this hostel. We stayed there for just one night but there were tourists who stayed for two weeks. We paid only 58... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hostel is good for small budjet travellers. Rooms are fine, but beds are slightly uncomfortable. Dining room and TV room are i good condition. Check-in times are flexible and you can stay longer if there is room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you plan to stay in Helsinki for only 2-3 days (and spend them by whole-day sightseeing, using hostel only for sleeping), you can choose Stadion Hostel. It looks outdated, there is only a limited space in the room (we stayed in the room for 3 people), no washstand. Shared bathrooms were clean and usable. We were able to connect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Typical hostel with your huge rooms with 10 beds and shared bathrooms that aren't super clean. If you're on a budget and traveling solo, this might be the best deal in town, but if you're willing to spend a couple eurosmore, look for other hostels in a better location. This hostel was pretty hard to find because it's behind the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Don't bother staying here, it's so old and basic, the Internet only works in the lobby, the showers are terrible with hardly any privacy, the beds are like children's beds and the pillows are rubbish. The staff are not very friendly. The shared kitchen is one you would expect on a fishing boat in the arctic. Also the people that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Elskan M, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would just like to comment on a few points you mentioned. We have a free WiFi in the lobby and the breakfast room, and additionally 2 internet-connected computers in the breakfast room. This is also mentioned on our website. I am not... More

England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a decent hostel. Very spacious dorms and quite a few nice areas to hang out. Location isn't great but it is walking distance into the centre (15-20 mins). It does feel a outdated in certain areas compared to modern hostels mainly because of the basic hardboard-type of wood in the corridors. There's a bit of artwork on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stadion Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stadion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadion Hostel

Address: Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Taka-Töölö
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stadion Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Stadion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Helsinki

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Helsinki with
any amenities