We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Helsinki hotels

Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
68%
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
EuroTraveller1901 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (529)
  • Photos (122)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    250
    141
    31
    9
See reviews for
63
107
64
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was absolutely fine, nothing special or fancy but fine if you don't want to spend a lot of money and want to walk into the city center. Breakfast was pretty poor so I wouldn't bother with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very disappointed. Being August, we paid a lot of money for a twin room but being a 4*hotel were expecting a very pleasant stay. The room was small and VERY basic. It had been advertised as having a sitting area - this consisted of one chair. There was no kettle and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is 5* for location, and the staff where all very helpful and happy. The hotel is a little dated in deco, however it was clean and had excellent access to free wifi, both provided by the hotel and Helsinki public wifi! The breakfast included in our rate was ok,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear wake35, Thank you for your visit and this review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and that our front desk staff was helpful and happy during your time with us. Wish you welcome back in our hotel when returning to Helsinki. Kind regards, Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager More

Asheville, Nc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Sokos worked out perfectly for us during our final days in Helsinki. It is very conveniently located near the historic Railway Station, Kiasma, and the Atteneum Museum, where there is currently a special exhibition of the art of Tove Jansson, a very famous writer in Finland. Shops, restaurants, Alco, and even a cider pub (I had a microbrew lingonberry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear CarefreeRetiree2002, Thank you for staying with us and providing such wonderful feedback and taking the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisor readers. I hope you have a chance to return soon in Helsinki and we look forward to welcoming you back in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. Kind regards, Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel room was pretty small .. basic ..clean .. wireless .. amazing breakfast buffet .. bit grumpy receptionists .. bit old fashioned and bit depressing .. the good news is the location .. it's located in the best place of Helsinki in a walking distance from moat of the attractions and the vital places of the finnish capital

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear Sally0031, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and breakfast while staying in out hotel. Unfortunate that the staff was not entirely successful in their service this time even though the feedback of their activities has generally been positive. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.... More

Scot in London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very adequate comfortable hotel in a great location - all main attractions within walking distance including Parliament building, railway station, several museums, the new concert hall, the opera house, the main shopping street and the terminal for boat trips round the harbour. Oh yes, and a beach and the old Olympic Stadium as well! Only complaint about the hotel:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear pixieh, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. I truly appreciate your positive review and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your accommodation. I appreciate you for taking the time to write this comment and hope to see you again soon in our hotel. Kind regards, Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager More

Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel just a few nights ago. I arrived very late and the young woman at the reception was kind enough to check me in. However, the hotel is very large with many rooms. Outside looked like there had been strange people hanging about. Broken beer bottles and cigarette butts all over the place. Wasn't very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear YEJ2013, I am sorry to hear that you found your first guest room unacceptable and our room standards which did not meet your expectations. Our housekeepers work very hard to keep our guest rooms clean and hotel room like described is not the standard at our hotel. My sincerest apologies. I hope you consider staying with us again when... More

Sankt-peterburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booking a room in this hotel in Helsinki, I was expecting a high level worthy of four stars. But, unfortunately, the room was fairly modest, shower uncomfortable and why that double was only one shower cap, I'm not talking about slippers and robes - and they are not promised. On resershen service is good, breakfast is acceptable, and, perhaps, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear Olga Z, Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to completely satisfy your needs during your visit with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable room and friendly service to our every guest. I was pleased to hear that guest service was successful and location excellent. Kind regards,... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is well situated being close to the downtown area of Helsinki, close to the railway station and other transport. I was travelling with a group (58 Choristers) on route to the World Choir Games in Riga, Latvia. The room was clean and while not particularly large it was adequate. I had no difficulty with WiFi. I could control... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear John2090, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your detailed review and feel certain this information will be helpful to others traveling to our hotel. I am also pleased that your choir chose our hotel to stay in Helsinki and found it to be a good value considering the many choices in the area. Kind... More

Tampere, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The whole place is in desperate need of renovation. This hotel is by no means from the cheaper end of the range in Helsinki and proved to be very poor. The location is the only good thing about it as it's in the middle of everything. Reception was under staffed with big queues. The service was nice once you got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review

Dear Niko_Tampere, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We always strive to provide enjoyable guest experiences but it is regrettable that we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Please accept my sincerest apologies if the condition of the room you were given was a disappointment and fully booked hotel which caused annoyance.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Helsinki with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki #23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
494

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer