We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Kuusamo hotels

Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkkotie 23, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Hotel amenities
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
NNe196 Tampere
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rudest people I have ever seen!!i felt sometimes like we were soldiers!we tried to ask to change hotel but we couldn't!first and for sure the last time here!awful food, much below average,sometimes there wasn't any heat in the sector of the restaurant and we were trying to eat wearing our jackets for the whole dinner!every night after 2200 we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampere
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The previous night I stayed in Sokos Hotel Rovaniemi, which was a really pleasant experience. So the expectations were on the same level. Unfortunately these expectations were not met. In general all basic things are in order in this hotel. It is clean, it provides basic services, and the staff is fine. However, I encountered a bit too many small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, development manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We promise to try care of our hotel and our customers as good as possible and we are very sorry hear about if you were not satisfied with our hotel in all respects. We have reviewed your feedback with our staff and we are working to fix the deficiencies. I hope you will come back... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had read the reviews for this hotel and looked at other options. We needed to be in Kuusamo or nearby and struggled to find any alternatives in late May early June. We did book a superior room which has a fridge and tea/coffee and a few other extras. The room itself was a fair size but in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review dear Birdman44. We are very sorry hear about if you were not satisfied with our hotel in all respects. We promise to try care of our hotel and our customers in the best possible way. We have reviewed your feedback with our staff and we are working to fix the deficiencies. I hope you had... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A very comfortable and roomy hotel. Had everything we needed including free wifi in all areas, tea and coffee making facilities in our room and a very cosy restaurant with a great menu. We only experienced excellent service from the moment we entered the hotel - our room was ready for early check-in which was very much appreciated after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review dear Mary. It was really nice to hear that you had a successful visit in Kuusamo. We will try our best to ensure our guests feel at home in our hotel. We have here now a nice spring weather and skiing conditions still continues. We will hope that we see you here again soon.... More 

co mayo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooms are clean but a bit small. Theres wifi but nothing else. No facilities to even make a drink The staff are very helpful and willing to please. There is a restaurant in the hotel and the food is very good but the staff were not too friendly and theres limited choice on the menu. Quite old fashioned in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry hear about if you did not enjoy your staying at our hotel in all respects. Our hotel rooms represent interior and architecture from three different decades. Last November we celebrated our 40th anniversary, so our rooms are traditional in design. We try to care of our hotel and our customers in... More 

Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
105 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

For those who need very little in the way of creature comforts. No frills room. Wifi, hot water, & lights- in good working order. Reasonable price- if you do not need much quiet or space. Situated in this mid-sized town in the Ostrobothnia province. Nearby are vast expanses of pristine boreal forest. I should have pitched a tent in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, the hotel itself is fine with the reception staff being very friendly and helpful but the restaurant is not good. Apparently the restaurant has been outsourced and is run by a different company from the hotel... And it shows. The staff were more like sergeant majors than anything else. I also find it ridiculous that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited hotel with my wife and two year ols son. Hotel staff was very friendly and the arrival was excellent as well as the whole stay. Only really lousy thing in this hotel us the restaurant Bueno. Service there is non-existent, bill was incorrect etc. Never going to that restaurant again but in this hotel I would stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel isn't bad but it's like something out of the 90s - from the decor to the karaoke. After a €20 taxi from the airport we visited the bar which had a choice of bad karaoke in one room or a karaoke sounding band which people were ballroom dancing to in the other, and it wasn't ballroom music. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Situated fairly close to the airport (only about 20,00 EUR in taxi fares), which at these Finnish latitudes is not so common. The room was okay, even though the analogical TV-set from the 1990's brings a smile to ones face. Breakfast was okay, although nothing special. The bar had karaoke (yokel alert, defcon 5!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo

Address: Kirkkotie 23, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Kuusamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay