We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Kuusamo hotels

Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkkotie 23, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Kuusamo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
NNe196 Tampere
  • Overview
  • Reviews (27)
  • Photos (38)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The previous night I stayed in Sokos Hotel Rovaniemi, which was a really pleasant experience. So the expectations were on the same level. Unfortunately these expectations were not met. In general all basic things are in order in this hotel. It is clean, it provides basic services, and the staff is fine. However, I encountered a bit too many small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had read the reviews for this hotel and looked at other options. We needed to be in Kuusamo or nearby and struggled to find any alternatives in late May early June. We did book a superior room which has a fridge and tea/coffee and a few other extras. The room itself was a fair size but in need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review dear Birdman44. We are very sorry hear about if you were not satisfied with our hotel in all respects. We promise to try care of our hotel and our customers in the best possible way. We have reviewed your feedback with our staff and we are working to fix the deficiencies. I hope you had... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A very comfortable and roomy hotel. Had everything we needed including free wifi in all areas, tea and coffee making facilities in our room and a very cosy restaurant with a great menu. We only experienced excellent service from the moment we entered the hotel - our room was ready for early check-in which was very much appreciated after a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review dear Mary. It was really nice to hear that you had a successful visit in Kuusamo. We will try our best to ensure our guests feel at home in our hotel. We have here now a nice spring weather and skiing conditions still continues. We will hope that we see you here again soon.... More

co mayo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooms are clean but a bit small. Theres wifi but nothing else. No facilities to even make a drink The staff are very helpful and willing to please. There is a restaurant in the hotel and the food is very good but the staff were not too friendly and theres limited choice on the menu. Quite old fashioned in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry hear about if you did not enjoy your staying at our hotel in all respects. Our hotel rooms represent interior and architecture from three different decades. Last November we celebrated our 40th anniversary, so our rooms are traditional in design. We try to care of our hotel and our customers in... More

Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

For those who need very little in the way of creature comforts. No frills room. Wifi, hot water, & lights- in good working order. Reasonable price- if you do not need much quiet or space. Situated in this mid-sized town in the Ostrobothnia province. Nearby are vast expanses of pristine boreal forest. I should have pitched a tent in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, the hotel itself is fine with the reception staff being very friendly and helpful but the restaurant is not good. Apparently the restaurant has been outsourced and is run by a different company from the hotel... And it shows. The staff were more like sergeant majors than anything else. I also find it ridiculous that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited hotel with my wife and two year ols son. Hotel staff was very friendly and the arrival was excellent as well as the whole stay. Only really lousy thing in this hotel us the restaurant Bueno. Service there is non-existent, bill was incorrect etc. Never going to that restaurant again but in this hotel I would stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel isn't bad but it's like something out of the 90s - from the decor to the karaoke. After a €20 taxi from the airport we visited the bar which had a choice of bad karaoke in one room or a karaoke sounding band which people were ballroom dancing to in the other, and it wasn't ballroom music. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Situated fairly close to the airport (only about 20,00 EUR in taxi fares), which at these Finnish latitudes is not so common. The room was okay, even though the analogical TV-set from the 1990's brings a smile to ones face. Breakfast was okay, although nothing special. The bar had karaoke (yokel alert, defcon 5!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santorini
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The housekeeping wasn't exist, the maid just put the blanket over the pillows, that was all. The staff didn't know what "bathrobe" means. Moreover the lift was out of order, so we have to carry our staff by steps to our rooms, via an outdoor corridor, which was really cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo

Address: Kirkkotie 23, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Kuusamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern hotel with restaurant, bar & saunas located in lakeside park near town center; 1 km to bus station; 6 km to KAO airport. SkiBus connection (usually from the middle of November to first of May) to Ruka ski resort. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
179

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer