We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo

Kirkkotie 23, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Hotel amenities
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015
Wildbirder Folkestone, United Kingdom
Add Photo

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    7
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

My wife and I stayed there for two nights. The first problem is that they had no luggage trollies to transport our luggage from reception to 2nd floor room - some distance away. Luckily, we had a friend who helped us but on checking out we had to make two trips. The hotel is 'stretched' out with 2nd floor rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development mananger at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Dear Wildbirder Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you were mostly happy with our services. We have luggage trollies in our back storage. We do not have that much space in reception hall to store them but they would be given to customers if they need them. I apologize if they were not offered to you. I... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The hotel is well located within gradually emptying Kuusamo. The reception staff was fine, some problems with computers though. No restaurant nor beverage service after 22:00 h... The room was clean and sleep quality fine. The shower closet is way too small for any bigger person. International TV channels available. Impersonal joint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Developmet Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Dear JR Sola Thank you for sharing with us your view on our service and standards. We value them and it helps us to serve our guests even better in the future. Especially we are happy to hear that you felt our staff friendly. Have a lovely and sunny Spring time. Hope to see you at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 via mobile

The rudest people I have ever seen!!i felt sometimes like we were soldiers!we tried to ask to change hotel but we couldn't!first and for sure the last time here!awful food, much below average,sometimes there wasn't any heat in the sector of the restaurant and we were trying to eat wearing our jackets for the whole dinner!every night after 2200 we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize if our hotel services showed shortcomings. Contactor of our heating systems were broken and because of Christmas holidays it took some time to get spare parts and fix it. In Christmas Eve restaurant were open exceptionally just until 10 pm. Other days it was open normally. We are very sorry if you experienced... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kuusamo hotels

Tampere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The previous night I stayed in Sokos Hotel Rovaniemi, which was a really pleasant experience. So the expectations were on the same level. Unfortunately these expectations were not met. In general all basic things are in order in this hotel. It is clean, it provides basic services, and the staff is fine. However, I encountered a bit too many small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, development manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We promise to try care of our hotel and our customers as good as possible and we are very sorry hear about if you were not satisfied with our hotel in all respects. We have reviewed your feedback with our staff and we are working to fix the deficiencies. I hope you will come back... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had read the reviews for this hotel and looked at other options. We needed to be in Kuusamo or nearby and struggled to find any alternatives in late May early June. We did book a superior room which has a fridge and tea/coffee and a few other extras. The room itself was a fair size but in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review dear Birdman44. We are very sorry hear about if you were not satisfied with our hotel in all respects. We promise to try care of our hotel and our customers in the best possible way. We have reviewed your feedback with our staff and we are working to fix the deficiencies. I hope you had... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A very comfortable and roomy hotel. Had everything we needed including free wifi in all areas, tea and coffee making facilities in our room and a very cosy restaurant with a great menu. We only experienced excellent service from the moment we entered the hotel - our room was ready for early check-in which was very much appreciated after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review dear Mary. It was really nice to hear that you had a successful visit in Kuusamo. We will try our best to ensure our guests feel at home in our hotel. We have here now a nice spring weather and skiing conditions still continues. We will hope that we see you here again soon.... More 

co mayo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooms are clean but a bit small. Theres wifi but nothing else. No facilities to even make a drink The staff are very helpful and willing to please. There is a restaurant in the hotel and the food is very good but the staff were not too friendly and theres limited choice on the menu. Quite old fashioned in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimmo N, Development Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry hear about if you did not enjoy your staying at our hotel in all respects. Our hotel rooms represent interior and architecture from three different decades. Last November we celebrated our 40th anniversary, so our rooms are traditional in design. We try to care of our hotel and our customers in... More 

Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
126 hotel reviews
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For those who need very little in the way of creature comforts. No frills room. Wifi, hot water, & lights- in good working order. Reasonable price- if you do not need much quiet or space. Situated in this mid-sized town in the Ostrobothnia province. Nearby are vast expanses of pristine boreal forest. I should have pitched a tent in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, the hotel itself is fine with the reception staff being very friendly and helpful but the restaurant is not good. Apparently the restaurant has been outsourced and is run by a different company from the hotel... And it shows. The staff were more like sergeant majors than anything else. I also find it ridiculous that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited hotel with my wife and two year ols son. Hotel staff was very friendly and the arrival was excellent as well as the whole stay. Only really lousy thing in this hotel us the restaurant Bueno. Service there is non-existent, bill was incorrect etc. Never going to that restaurant again but in this hotel I would stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay