We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Rovaniemi

3.5 of 5 Koskikatu 23, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Rovaniemi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Rovaniemi
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    82
    64
    15
    4
See reviews for
68
50
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms are nice, good location for the centre of town pleasant staff, shame the parking is not included. Be careful of the 50euro parking fines. Food served is good value for money. For business people, it's good you get vouches to spend on food and drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rovaniemi, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is aged, and has quite poor rooms. NEVER 4 stars!! Worst is the Scandic reservation system, where by booking room with SAUNA, you cannot be sure will you get one. I didn't and its fare for all to know that via WEB bookings and confirmations are not enough. Need to call and get separate mail or something for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 5 nights over Christmas, and thought this hotel could have been better. Upon arrival to the room, there was already a can of Coke disposed by the previous guest not being cleaned up despite the room looking tidy. The staff were attentive and gladly left our luggage in the store room when I arrived before check in time. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for sharing your thoughts online with your review. I understand your disappointment regarding our actions during the Christmas time. A not so well cleaned room is not acceptable under any circumstances so this is something we need to work harder with. I'm sure our cleanliness level is good but we still need to work harder with minimizing... More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

days Dec. 24-26 2014, problems: -incompetent staff at the reception -careless attitude -food for breakfast was not fresh, we got poisoning, besides Christmas breakfast menu could have been better at least for holidays -sauna did not work, neither did parking paying terminal and other facilities -extra bed was ordered 4 months in advance, but at 2.15 p.m. on the arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review and thoughts here on Tripadvisor. It really saddens me to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your comments show that there are many things we could do better and I agree with you that small details are more important than many of us can think. All in all I... More 

Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best thing, Santa came to the hotel and gave gifts to kids. A great experience made with care. Rooms are big enough, clean and comfortable. Food is tasteful but is self service and not always was everything available.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hi Adriana, thank you for your review. I'm glad to read you liked our programme on Christmas Eve. I wonder if you were at the hotel also on Dec 25th when there was a magician visiting our guests? I did not see the performance myself but when knowing the magic man I think he did very well. This was the... More 

Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a family Christmas holiday in Rovaniemi, Santa's home town, and wanted to avoid the "standard" tourist trap in town. The Scandic Hotel was an excellent choice in every respect: right in the pedestrian/shopping center of Rovaniemi, sorrounded dead by restaurants, close to the Artikum and other attractions and only a 5min ride to the airport or Santa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello Jorge! Thank you for your review, I really appreciate your kind words. It seems you had a very nice visit to Rovaniemi in every way. Although Santa Claus is very busy on Christmas Eve he has visited us for many years now. This year we booked him a different place in our hotel than before and to my opinion... More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We stayed in Scandic Rovaniemi for 2 nights this December. This is the peak season there, so I was paying close to 200 euros per night - and the quality I got for the money left me highly disappointed. The room was so cold that we had to wear two pajamas on just to keep warm at night. Everything was... More 

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback! It saddens me to read you were disappointed with your stay here at Scandic Rovaniemi. It is no secret that this hotel of ours is already a bit old so I do understand your point of view very well. What worries me more is the coldness in the room of yours as to... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I'll always have happy memories of my trips to Lapland, helped in part by the Scandic Hotel which has always been my base when there. (3 times) The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the town with the Christmas market, shopping centres restaurants and pubs conveniently near. The rooms are fine and the breakfast is nice. Its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Greetings from the Arctic Circle! This literally is an arctic location at the moment because the temperature is close to -25 degrees today. This is how it should be in winter! Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to read you had a good stay with us and that you have stayed with us for a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rovaniemi

Address: Koskikatu 23, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Rovaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rovaniemi Hotel Rovaniemi
Scandic Hotel Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Scandic Hotel
Scandic Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay