We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Rovaniemi

Koskikatu 23, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Rovaniemi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Rovaniemi
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    102
    71
    18
    4
See reviews for
83
55
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very central location, clean rooms and everything functioned well. Breakfast exceeded expectations. Parking was reasonably prised, but in a hotel like this outside parking in an open parking area should be free of charge for hotel guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tromso, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and friends spent two nights here. We can say that we had really good weekend. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and what is very important child-friendly hotel. You can find special place for kids to play at the restaurant and even a potty in the bathroom :) I would highly recommend Scandic Rovaniemi as a... More 

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for your review and recommendations! I really appreciate your opinion and the fact that you used your time in order to give us feedback. To us families are important clients and Scandic pays a lot of attention to make all families feel welcome to our hotels. A play room for kids could always be better... More 

Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
49 hotel reviews
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

If I'm on a romantic holiday, you want every little detail to be perfect. But on a short business trip I'm totally satisfied with fast WiFi, comfy bed, breakfast and Central location and this hotel does those all. Not the fanciest exterior and rooms needs little renovation too, but front desk was friendly, hotel was clean and sauna in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! I agree. As long as the basic elements are taken care of and all the premises are kept clean the hotel product meets the needs of a business traveller. I'm glad you think that our hotel offers good sleep quality, friendly service and tasty breakfast to start the day with. We've done a lot during the past few years... More 

Western Finland, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

The personel in the hotel lobby were great on all days of our stays. They gave great advice about the services in the hotel and in the city center and made me feel very welcome. The rooms were however a bit frumpy so I wished I would have gotten the superior room instead of the standard one...

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! My office is located just behind our front desk. Sometimes I just stop what I'm doing at my desk, get up and go for a walk to see what is going on with my colleagues. It is very nice to notice that my colleagues seem to have fun when they work. I believe it is one reason why our... More 

Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Not a luxory but a normal hotel in the centre of Rovaniemi. Premises are ok, but slighly worse than Scandic average. Personnally I was really disappointed that first time ever I did not get frequent traveller points in Scandic due reservation's contract price. For me this is a reason to avoid this hotel in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Moi E K! Thank you for choosing Scandic during your trip to Rovaniemi and for your review here on Tripadvisor. Scandic has been opening new hotels and renovating the old ones quite fast during the past few years. That might be the reason why you mentioned Scandic Rovaniemi being a little under Scandic average. That is actually true but I... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
133 hotel reviews
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Hotel located in the heart of city centre, but it is really dated. Room smell like from 1980s. It is functional. Plastic shower certain in the bathroom, seriously it is 2015 in Finland. Surely some Ikea stuff could do better than that. Staff are really friendly and helpful, food in the restaurant is not too bad either. It was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking some time and posting your review, I really appreciate it. I'm sorry my reply took this long but now I'm back on the track again. We know we are not the newest hotel in Rovaniemi but then again we don't let it disturb us for two reasons. We are patient enough to wait for the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

Really good place. Decent price and good location. Breakfast also great Altho on Sundays they should open the bfast earlier to allow those flying back to Helsinki that day to eat as the one airport bus leaves earlier. They should also allow for private saunas at a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your positive feedback. I appreciate your ideas and the very good point regarding our Sunday breakfasts. We have to think if we prepared our breakfast half an hour earlier on Sundays than we do now. I don't know if half an hour is enough but then again there's always a possibility for an early breakfast when... More 

Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I stayed in this hotel twice in the same week, one day before and one day after our trip further north (to Levi). We came by a car from the airport, and it was easy to find. Public parking is next to the hotel, and requires payment 24 hour a day. It costs 8 Euro for one day. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juha_Scandic, General Manager at Scandic Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Hello! I guess it is already quite warm in Israel although we are only in the middle March now? It's been pretty warm and unbelievable sunny also in Rovaniemi but luckily we've still got a lots of snow here. You should have seen the northern lights in the night before last. It was quite a show although I missed the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay