We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Rovaniemi hotels

City Hotel Rovaniemi

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pekankatu 9, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Top City Hotel Rovaniemi)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Hotel Rovaniemi to your Saves list
City Hotel Rovaniemi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Rovaniemi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
austinlightwriter Austin, Texas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (272)
  • Photos (109)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    120
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
107
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is five miles south of the Arctic Circle, but with the outside temperature approaching 75-degrees F., the hotel room was almost unbearably hot. The combination of nearly 24 hours of sunshine, an east facing room, no air conditioning, and a tiny screened ventilation grate caused our room to be almost 15-degrees warmer than the outside air temperature. Combined... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Not a bad 2 night stay at the City Hotel. My room was an average size but as the previous reviewer mentioned, the bathroom was absolutely tiny! The shower consisted of a wrap around screen so I felt like I was camping and it was hard not to splash water around the floor. Breakfast was excellent with many options both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a fairly central hotel, near shopping centres and walking distance of river. Rooms were very small and the bathroom containing a bath, shower (together) a basin and toilet was miniscule measuring around 2 x 2.5 metres leaving 800mm of free floor space to swing the proverbial cat. An unusual feature of a see through panel from the bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback from our hotel. I ám so sorry that you wasn´t so pleased for our rooms as well as our modern style bathrooms with window. I still hope that you had nice time in Rovaniemi. Hope to see you again in Arctic Circle. Have a nice summer Best Regards Jaana Laaksonen More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Accommodation in Rovaneimi is generally quite expensive. But the breakfast in this hotel is perfect!! Very delicious smoke salmon and bread. Worth to come again just for the breakfast buffet. The room is quite small but the bed is comfortable. Good hot shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your nice feedback from City Hotel. Hotel breakfast is so important part of Holiday. Breakfast Buffet, cosy and relaxing atmosphere is the best way to start your new day. I hope to see you again in our hotel! Have a nice summer. Best Regards, Jaana & City Hotel Staff More

sunshine coast
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this splendid hotel. the reception was great and also close to a shopping centre. the rooms are on the small side as was the bathroom but all worked well Breakfast was good . You must visit the BULL bar and grill good beer great steaks Sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customers, I really enjoyed your kind feedback from our hotel and Rovaniemi. You have had nice time here in Arctic Circle - I´am happy:) Spring is coming and we have now much more light outside than few weeks ago! After one month the sun shines all day long, That´s true!! Do you know what? I like also good bear... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights .Room small bit clean ,beds really comfortable .Wifi rubbish have to keep logging on .Only 2 movies available on the movie channels which were the same for the 4 days duration of my stay .Breakfast excellent ,as was the resturant food .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback during your staying in our hotel. We have had some problems with wifi connections this month. I ám so sorry that wifi doesn´t worked properly during your visit. I hope that dispite wifi problems you have had nice time in Rovaniemi. You are very welcome again to Lapland Best Regards, Jaana Laaksonen More

Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was small but it was tidy. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, but the wifi sucked. There is a hotel bar, but in the basement there is another bar worth visiting for its good beer selection. Overall, pretty much what you would expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your visit in Rovaniemi and City Hotel. I ám happy to hear, that you have been pleased for our service. I ám really sorry about our wifi, which doesn´t worked so well. There have been some problems with wifi connections but know it´s working. I wish you all the best and it would be nice... More

London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel as good value for money, the room was a good size, clean and tidy. The breakfast is very good, and sets you up for the day. Downstairs bar was a little disappointing with little atmosphere and rude bar staff. Hotel reception staff on the other hand were helpful and polite. We ate in the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your staying in City Hotel Rovaniemi, it´s nice to hear that you have been pleased for our reception staff and breakfast. I ´am really sorry about your experince from our bar and bar staff downstair, I will talk with them and go throw what has happen. Our most important thing is take good care about... More

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The room is small. Once you place two opened luggages on the floor, you have no space to walk. Though we were told free wifi is included, the wifi is extremely slow as the hotel has limited the bandwidth to 516k (sth like that). Staff in general is okay, however, we have met a very unhelpful staff who really upset... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We've stayed at Rovaniemi (City Hotel) for 3 days. Our room was free before our arriving and it's a reason we had an opportunity for early check-in. After 22 hours of traveling it was more than useful. The "payment" for this ability was a cleaning after previous guest (probably, a room was empty for a while), not before our arriving.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Hotel Rovaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Hotel Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rovaniemi

Address: Pekankatu 9, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Top City Hotel Rovaniemi)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Rovaniemi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top City Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Top City Hotel
City Hotel Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An international hotel set right in the very centre of town next to shopping areas. Exceptional comfort and personal service create a cosy entirety for business or pleasure. The hotel has a fantastic location with warm and personal décor and delicious cuisine.The numerous sights and destinations within easy reach provide you with an opportunity to escape everyday routines. The excellent location of the capital of Lapland provides a perfect departure point for your adventures. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer