We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Rovaniemi hotels

Rantasipi Pohjanhovi

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Hotel amenities
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rantasipi Pohjanhovi to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tiffany W Mount Isa, Australia
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    42
    9
    10
See reviews for
54
45
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Mount Isa, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was absolutely fantastic. Spacious rooms & facilities and lovely staff that can help you with your every need. Just a short walk from shops & restaurants (but the on site restaurant for dinner is amazing), right next to the bus station where you can be picked up and taken to the Santa Village & short walk along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I stayed in Pohjanhovi ("Northern Court") for the second time. First time I had a room with a balcony, but now I had an even better one with a view towards the Kemijoki river. The room in itself was a basic one, nothing special, but clean and tidy. The hotel is located near the city centrum, and there are several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed our white Christmas in this centrally located hotel opposite a river. They did Christmas well for the children - santa, ginger bread making, tree decorating. Our daughter received a little gift from the hotel and a cute stuffed reindeer toy from santa who arrived on a reindeer sleigh. We borrowed sleds and had great fun in the snow.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Hello June, Thank you for staying with us and writing us a review. We’re glad to hear that you and your children enjoyed the Christmas activities we have arranged. Christmas in Lapland is especially exciting for children and we do our best to enhance that experience. We’re sorry that you weren’t satisfied with the location of your room and you... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2008, had a comfortable stay but wasn't to keen on the food on offer. Luckily our five day package was jam packed with activities seeing Santa etc... Rooms were great, warm and cosy and comfortable just what was needed after a busy day out in the snow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at a room in an annex, only accessible through a tunnel from the reception building. Uneccessary long walk. Old outdated annex with very poor ventilation. We woke up sweaty with dry eyes and sore throat. Cleaning is not good. Big hairball in shower at our arrival. It grew bigger and wan't removed by cleaning personnel during our stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Rusl3, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your visit. We are sorry that you weren’t satisfied with your room and the cleaning was inadequate. Our hotel does indeed consist of two parts, and some of our standard rooms are in the annex building, which is accessible through a connecting corridor. The points... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were here for three nights during Midsummer. The hotel is in a nice location close to the beach/bonfire area. Also very close to dining and shopping, etc. The airport bus will take you right there. Rooms were clean and basic, but comfortable enough.The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. The only thing was that there are two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Roxy, Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write us a review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Midsummer is very lovely time here in Rovaniemi, the nature is at its best. We’re sorry that you found the room location difficult. Our hotel consists of two buildings and some of our... More

Fredrikstad, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful hotel , hotel needs a little tender care i would say , but it has charm :) i would recommend this hotel to anybody ! Staff is so helpful and Nice in all ways. We changed Our room upon arrival , from standard double room to a junior suite , all at 2300 hours. It took 2 minutes !!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in 2012 and while the hotel is a little dated (antlers on the room fixtures) it was comfortable and warm. The breakfast was good and the best part was the sauna and the pool. I had a view of the carpark which I was disappointed in. However, it was comfortable and an easy base... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Savonlinna
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We booked online room from Rantasipi Pohjanhovi and we want view to the river. Well we got nice river view like you can see (photo what we took)... Room was tiny, toilet should update immediately. Reception person said that room not have any carpet (cause we needed allergy room)... well surprise, some part of room floor was carpet, some part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Adolf H, Thank you for staying with us and writing us a review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the river view from your room. We apologize that the room itself didn’t meet your expectations and the receptionist gave you wrong information about the carpet. We don’t have floor mats in any of our rooms, but some rooms... More

Scandinavia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had hoped to stay at either the City hotel or the Santa Claus, but they were both fully booked during my stay, so I opted for one of the legendary and historical hotels in Finland, Pohjanhovi. I was not disappointed. The hotel is located next to the Jatkankynttila bridge in the city centre. Some of the rooms have great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rantasipi Pohjanhovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantasipi Pohjanhovi

Address: Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rantasipi Pohjanhovi 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rantasipi Pohjanhovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Hotel Rovaniemi

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay