We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hetan Majatalo

Travelers' Choice award winner
PO Box 1 | Riekontie 8, Enontekio 99401, Finland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Add Photo

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hetan Majatalo as part of a “Heavenly Peace” Santa break with Transun in December 2014. My review has to be read with this in mind because I would expect the experience at the Hetan Majatalo to be very different at other times of the year, particularly in terms of value for money. Overall, we were disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, thank you for your informative review. Especially thank you for reviewing our familyhotel and your tour operator seperately as we try to do our best with accommodation, meals and service at the reception and according to all reviews I think we have succeeded with that. As you mentioned we have nothing to do with Transun's transfers, activities,... More 

Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Myself, my husband and our two adult daughters stayed here for a few days a couple of weeks ago. I can't think of anything much extra to add to all the other good comments - lovely cosy rooms, really comfortable beds, powerful and easily controlled shower, lovely bar/reception area, nothing was over-priced. Two things make the Majatalo really special though.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Greetings from behind the reception! :) I have to admit that tears came into my eyes while reading your such a lovely text! =) Even though it is hard work in a familyhotel we get lots of power of guests like you and those kinds of words. So thank you a lot!! Welcome back as soon as you can!! More 

Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

been there to meet up with friends for a few days of northern fun - sauna, snow castle, husky rides, cross-country skiing, walks in the woods. all good and dandy, but the tops of the crops for the stay was definitely the most welcoming, helpful, nice, relaxed and cosy stay at Tiina's and her family!! greatly taken care of, all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Dear bwoe, thank you sooooo much for your nice feedback. We are very happy to hear you have been so satisfied with our familyhotel. Hopefully you can return soon! :) More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

This has to be the worst hotel to stay for a holiday. If there are 3 persons in this hotel, they give you a room with 2 single beds and a mattress on the floor for the third person. The Transun rep was next to useless. When you complain she tells you to see the hotel owner. I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tiina V, Omistaja at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Dear Tulip, thank you for your visit! It made us all really sad after reading your such an unsatisfied review. As we are a family-run hotel we remember (almost) all of our guests, also you. During this Xmas season of Transun we only had one, your, family of three persons sharing a twin room. Most of our rooms (20 of... More 

Kiel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

From the first moment till the last, Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is basic, cosy and welcoming. Food, very nice, and there was plenty of it. For breakfast I missed little bit fruits :( We managed to choose the 3 coldest (-27 - -30) days after xmas and of course had problems with our car, Petri and Tiina tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Liebe Tiina und Frank, thanks for your nice stay and review. <3 It was our pleasure to have you here and help you. We hope the journey back home went well. Next time, when you should stay longer, you will get you some more fruits for breakfast. :) We are working on getting the Internet-access to the whole house and... More 

Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with half-board. First of all, the location is very convenient. It is just few minutes walk from the bus stop, restaurant and supermarket. Also the backyard of the hotel is great for viewing the northern light. The room is cosy, with the feel of a log cabin yet equipped with amenities. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tiina V, Omistaja at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Hei from Lapland! Kiitos, thank you for your visit and review. We are happy that you had a stay with us! You have captured beautiful Northern Lights right behind the hotel, great! What a nice memory! Welcome back some day! :) More 

Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Lovely visit with two children and two grandparents. Stayed in the main hotel but pine clad room felt like a cabin and children loved their mezzanine sleeping area. Hotel extremely well organised, discreet but very efficient staff and simple but superb and wholesome meals that the kids loved but gave a taste of local food. Setting also superb, easy walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tiina V, Omistaja at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Dear Ian & family, thank you for your visit in our family hotel. We are very pleased to hear you liked the stay in Hetta and Majatalo. We are sorry and feeling sympathetic that your experience with your touroperator Transun was not the best possible. We hope after all you had an unforgettable holiday and the kids enjoyed! <3 What... More 

Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Went with family for a Heavenly Peace Santa 5 day holiday arranged through Transun the week before Xams.Rooms were basic but comfortable, on 1st glance looked like a large sauna with all it's wooden panels, room was very warm, temp set at 22C. Food was very good, 3 hearty meals everyday, buffet style simple food and very tasty. All the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tiina V, Omistaja at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Dear LesleyD, kiitos, thank you for your visit! It is very nice you wrote such a nice review. It is good to hear you liked your stay in our familyhotel. :) Also I am sorry about the busses of Transun but great that other things were success. :) Happy 2015! More 

bordeaux
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

All right, the hotel is just about in the middle of Raw Nature, just off the Main Road in fact, int he heart of Lapland, its wide open spaces, endless woods and too many to be numbered ponds, lakes, creeks, and, in the summer, clouds of starving mosquitoes...Coming form Sweden, do not forget that Finland is one hour ahead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tiina V, Omistaja at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Greetings from snowy Lapland and thank you for your visit, nice and informational review and recommendation! It is totally different now than it was in summer when you visited us -now we have no mosquitoes and no midnight sun. :) Welcome back to Finland, Lapland and our familyhotel some day, merry Christmas and happy 2015 with lots of nice holidays! More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Stayed here just after Christmas 2013 for a Santa Trip with my husband and two daughters aged 8 and 5. The hotel is ideally located just off the main road, but when I say main road there was perhaps one car every half hour! It is a fairly short transfer from Enontekio airport perhaps no more than 30 mins. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review

Hei! Thank you a lot for your really nice and informational review. We guess it will help many people. :) Thank you also for your visit. We are happy to hear you liked your stay and want to recommend our family hotel to others also. <3 Welcome back some day! :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay