We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avalon Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg SE-411 17, Sweden
Special Price
20% off room rate
Avalon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Racingjohn789 Stone, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    308
    140
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
224
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is excellent right in the city centre. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was a bit small, and was slightly unusual with the bath in the bedroom, but very clean and very comfortable. Excellent choices for breakfast too. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was clean, staff was great and the breakfast was nice as well. Dead center in the middle of the city. 10 minute walk from the train station. Visitor center, tram and buses are all 1 minute away. Just a perfect location. This hotel has a cool pool on the roof that hangs over the edge of the building, approx... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The main reason for staying at Avalon is undoubtedly the city center location in the busy part of Gothenburg. My stay was short and efficient and the service provided efficient and friendly. My few remarks are that there were some rubbish left in my room and that I never understood the meaning of the hotel being "feng shui" certified. Is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this hotel many nights since it opened some 8 years ago. The location and the design and comfort of the rooms is splendid. The service level from staff is normally friendly but is sometime not as professional as one might expect at a hotel of in this range. I would advise the management to ensure everybody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristoffer K, Receptionschef at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, Thank you very much for your review! I regret to read that the service level did not reach your expectations. I found your reservation in our system and I will contact you so we can sort this out. Kind regards, Kristoffer Kinnunen Front Office Manager More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Buffet breakfast included in the room rate was very good, even the children found lots to choose from. The valet parking was fast and efficient. The roof top pool was refreshingly cold and quite small, but good fun. Our room was directly under the pool, which gave us a strange whooshing noise to listen to all night, so I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just checked in today for a two night stay. The front desk person was very rude when she discovered there would be 3 in our room. Well, very sorry that your website would not allow 2 adults with a child. Further, the study WiFi reception is bad and slow. Would recommend looking around for other options before booking here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristoffer K, Receptionschef at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, I'm truly sorry to read that you experienced a rude attitude during check in and I apologize for this. We should always act professional and courteous, no matter the circumstances. The reason you could not book a room for two adults and one child through our website is because all our rooms are for two people only. We... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The highlight of this hotel has to be its location. It is right in the middle of the city, and all the must see attractions are within a reasonable walking distance. The room that we chose was the one with the panoramic view, overlooking the square. The room was spacious and the amenities were complete. One complain would be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristoffer K, Receptionschef at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Deat atsbw, Thank you very much for your kind review! I apologize for our failure in delivering the shower caps, we have them at the front desk so they should have been delivered immediately. Our garage is actually cheaper than parking outside. We charge SEK 365, the outside parking has a fee of SEK 30 per hour on weekdays, and... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is right downtown beside Saluhall (the market). Excellent buffet breakfast with gluten free bread and a dedicated toaster. Lots of non-gluten free options as well. Good size rooms, and very clean. Good service from all the staff. I'd book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristoffer K, Receptionschef at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S K, Thank you very much for your pleasant review, it is very appreciated! We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with everything during your stay and we look forward to seeing you here again for your next visit to Gothenburg. Kind regards, Kristoffer Kinnunen More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Avalon is one of the Design Hotel options in Goteborg. It is a 8 year old property centrally located, seemingly no more than 10-15 minutes from anywhere. The rooms have some variety so do pick carefully but if you pick well, you are set. Nice restaurant, wonderful area, entertaining pool. Works for work or a family visit. Give it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Therese E, Kundansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nisola01, We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your nice feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Avalon Hotel. Have a gret summer! Kind Regards Therese - Hotel Manager More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel with friendly, staff has a unique feel with interesting pictures on the corridor walls, has a bar and restaurant which was quite popular , was in a great location for walking to bars , tram and shops. Plus the roof top pool gives fantastic views of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Therese E, Kundansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi david s, Thank you for your feedback! I hope to see you again. Kind Regards Therese - Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

458 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (143)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (279)
Viewed
Deluxe Panorama Room (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (42)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (61)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
Standard Room (39)
Viewed
Superior Room with Bath (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#7 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay