We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg

3.0 of 5 Skeppsbroplatsen 1, Gothenburg S-41118, Sweden
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
30% discount
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
20
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is good value for the money, but not a budget alternative. Once you're inside this hotel, you're met by friendly staff, in a pleasant lobby. The single room I had, was comfortable and spacious, with a comfortable sofa, sofa table, and a desk folded into the wall. Lots of drawers, and a large enough wardrobe. Very intelligent use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear FiftyNiner, Thank you very much for your long and comprehensive review on Trip Advisor! Nice to read about clean rooms and how you describe our breakfast. Hope to welcome you back again to us, and hopefully all the constructions around us has been finished, we are really looking forward. Kind regards Mia @ Marketing department More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

The whole area is just a big construction site. It´s noisy and it´s dirty. It´s almost impossible to find a parking space near the hotel and the ones you find is very expensive. +The breakfast is just wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camilla H, Chef at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your stay here at our hotel. At the moment we have a lot of construction work here in Gothenburg and around the building, the city are planning to have a new tram line in this area. Due to this it can sometimes be difficult to find a... More 

Hellertown, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

From having done our homework, we knew that reception was not on the ground floor, so no big deal. The receptionist was very good as was all of the staff. The room was OK, needed some updating, but livable. The first night, the room next to us was having what sounded like a disco party, very loud voices and music.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear TJPeeker, Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though the area around us is under construction, but when its done, it will be perfect and our hotel will also be totally renovated as well (but open all the time) So we are more than happy to welcome you back to us again,... More 

Tiel, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

A good hotel near the old center of town, surrounded by quality restaurants. It's right next to the water. The rooms are small, but comforteable and very soundproof (I slept like a baby...). Breakfast was good and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Leo W, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback here on TripAdvisor about your visit with us, it means a lot. Lovely that you enjoyed our hotel, we hope to welcome you back again soon! Mia - Marketingdepartment More 

Cape Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was shicked to show up on the ground floor to no reception but rather felt like we were entering an old block of apartments. The hotel is in deperate need of a facelift and does not welcome visitors. The rooms smelt of mould. The pictures do not so it justice. The bathroom had not been upgraded since the 70's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camilla H, Chef at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At BEST WESTERN Hotell Göteborg we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren´t able to do that for you. The hotel is situated in a large building that we have shared with other companies before.... More 

The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The fact that reconstruction takes places in front of the hotel , tram line amongst other things, makes the accessibility a bit poor for the moment,true, taxi can not stop in front of entrance, but should not be hold against the hotel. Upon entering the somewhat old building, you will find the reception on the 4th floor.so, no big deal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Polarlys, Thank you for taking the time to leave reviews here on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to all of us who work with Best Western Hotel Göteborg. Sure it's a little "extra difficult" right now in the area where our hotel is located, on the occasion of the major construction going on. But we know that when all is... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just back from a 3 day trip in Gothenburg and am happy to recommend this hotel. It is a fairly standard BW - nothing fancy but clean, bright rooms. The breakfast is top class and there is coffee available all day. There is also a free snack served at around 5 which is quite substantial if you are feeling peckish.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Hey JoeOH, Thanks for your feedback! How wonderful that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our service was satisfactory. We at Best Western Hotell Göteborg will expand our hotel, one of the things that will change, among many others, is that our reception will be located at ground floor level. We will also be expanding into hotel rooms on all... More 

Vilnius County, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Poor quality, doesn`t meet expectation to best western... Old building, seems like ex-factory... When i visited tram line reconstructions outside. Good breakfast... Reception not on fist floor - the third. Not all floors belongs to best western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camilla H, Chef at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Martinnas, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your stay here last year. I am so sorry that we did not meet the standard that you expected, but I can promise that we do meet the Best Western standards since all the Best Western hotels are inspected once or twice every year. At the moment... More 

Mission Viejo, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not the place to stay if arriving by car! First there was NO place to park in front of the hotel when checking in. There were a few city spots, but they were taken. My husband stayed with the car in a no-parking zone while I checked in. We had to pay to park in the structure around... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, First, many thanks for your feedback here on Tripadvisor, we appreciate that very much. It is true that there are major renovations outside the Best Western Hotel Gothenburg, this is built for the future. And it will be very nice when all is settled and done, but off course in the meantime it could be problems outside the... More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

not even to my worst enemy I would suggest to spend a night in this hotel. For the price one would expect to have a decent room, a decent bathroom and a decent appearance. The building is horrible, the room is dull, the bathroom a nightmare, broken and old. Not even a soup!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camilla H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Paola, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your stay here last week. I am so sorry that we did not meet the standard on your room that you expected and that you found it horrible. If you had mentioned your disappointment up on check in here we would have given you an alternative... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg

Address: Skeppsbroplatsen 1, Gothenburg S-41118, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotell Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gothenburg
Gothenburg Best Western

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay