We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spar Hotel Majorna

Travelers' Choice award winner
Karl Johansgatan 66-70, Gothenburg 41455, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spar Hotel Majorna
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    129
    44
    6
    0
See reviews for
30
74
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
There are newer reviews for Spar Hotel Majorna
See the most recent reviews
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room small, fairly utilitarian, but adequate and clean. Not very much hanging space, or drawers, which could be a problem if staying for longer than a couple of days. The bed was very comfortable. I would have expected separate shower gel, soap, shampoo rather than the all in one dispenser on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us. Welcome back! Kind regards Terese Wibeck General Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Overall the standard of this hotel was very good. The staff were excellent - helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were aslo excellent. A plentiful supply of Swedish delicacies and international food that was topped up regularly as more guests came to eat. My bedroom was a good size as was the bathroom. Both very clean. The negative things were: -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your positive comments. I will take your comments regarding the shower gel and discuss it within the team, maybe it is time for a change? Welcome back Kind regards Terese Wibeck General Manager More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Room is acceptable. What is not is the minibar is missing. Water only from the public net..... Restaurant not attractive. Air in the hotel is viced. Spa is poor. Price quite high compared to the service received. Position not too far from the centrum. Some nice place not so far to eat. Internet easily available for more than one device.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We do not offer minibars in our rooms, our largest rooms have a minifridge that the guest can fill up with whatever he/she wants. We do not offer a spa, we have an excersise rooms with gym eguipment and a sauna, so if you were expecting a spa I can understand you were... More 

Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were met at Spar Hotel by a very friendly staff and very Swedish design. The room was clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The bed was super comfy, as well. The rooms are not huge as many Americans might be used to, but are very functional and make good use of the tight space, as the Swedish are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in end October 2013. This hotel is clean but as my title suggests, it's sparse. Sparse - no toiletries provided. The basics like toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver were omitted. Sparse - no complimentary room slippers provided. Sparse - no cupboard, no safe provided only 3 hangers were supplied The room is incredibly small and the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review on your stay with us. We have recently changed the opening hours of our gym and it seems not all staff members have been informed. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. The gym is open daily from 07:00-23:00, and you use your roomkey to get in. Spar Hotel is... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Spar Hotel Majorna is in a part of town that used to be where the maritime workers lived and is now a fashionable place to live. We liked being away from the business of the old town tourist area but we still weren't more than 15 mins away from the city centre by tram. The Maritime Museum is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The second time I have stayed there, both on business. It seams the 8th floor has been recently renovated and the rooms are perfect. Breakfast is good, the only small issue was not getting WiFi on the 8th floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your positive remarks regarding your stay with us. We´ve had some problems with the wifi during summer but I am happy to report that since two weeks the wifi is up and running perfectly in the whole house. I am to see you soon again, Kind regards Terese Wibeck General Manager Spar Hotel Majorna &... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are small (I'm a petite female, and I think the rooms are small) so make sure that you know that before you book a room. I was prepared for the small size because I'd stayed at a hotel in Copenhagen before checking into the Spar Hotel Majorna. I think the room size works for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We have six different roomtypes, so for your next visit we can hopefully offer you a larger room to better accomodate your needs. We hope to see you soon again, kind regards Terese Wibeck General Manager Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda More 

San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of a six week trip an DC four at the end.Rooms were big,spotless, cheerful friendly and helpful staff. Parking for fifty cars, first come first served.Buffet was gteat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very please you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Terese Wibeck General Manager Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda More 

Farum, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On transit in Gothenburg we stayed at the Spar Hotel Majorna. It is a budget hotel, but tidy, fine service, small but comfortable rooms. Non smoking. Good breakfast and parking facilities, as well as internet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bäste gäst, tack för ditt omdöme om din vistelse hos oss. Det är glädjande att du är så nöjd med... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question