We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Gothenburg hotels

Scandic Europa Gothenburg

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nils Ericsonsgatan 21 | Box 11444, Gothenburg 41103, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Europa Gothenburg to your Saves list
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014
zippysin Singapore
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    141
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
54
72
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (324)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
There are newer reviews for Scandic Europa Gothenburg
See the most recent reviews
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The hotel is right opposite the Gothenburg Central Train Station. Next to the shopping Mall with easy access to the tram and buses. The check-in was easy with free wifi. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello zippysin Thank you for your time taken to share your thoughts at tripadvisor. We are very pleased to receive such great feedback and we will keep challenging ourselves to perform better each day. We hope that you will be able to return to Scandic Europa within the near future so you may experience the hotel after the refurbishment is... More

Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I enjoyed 2 3 night stays at this centrally located hotel. The food and lodging services were fine for business travel and the central location made it easy an walk to local restaurants and coffee shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello DrDawna Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Europa. We will share this success and we hope to be able to welcome you back once our refurbishment is completed mid october this year. Wish you a great end of the summer. Kind regards More

New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

The location is good, but the hotel is not. My room was a decent size, but it felt dirty. The toilet seemed like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and the rooms trash bucket was filled with rust. The walls were also quite thin. It reminded me of being in a college dorm, sadly my college days are over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Geoff M Thank you very much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. Clearly we have faulted in our preparations and for this i am truly sorry. It is also unfortunate that you left Gothenburg with a negative impression about Scandic Europa, we will look into this and sharpen our routines. Nevertheless, i hope that we will be able... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I like the location of this hotel, the friendly staff at the front desk and the smallish but new rooms. I cannot, however, accept that the corridors are very dirty and that nobody does anything about it. I complained last time I stayed and the time before that and even last night. They do nothing about it. It is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Sjurontour Tahnk you very much for your feedback. It is not uplifting to read that we have not managed to meet your expectations, nor have we managed to meet our standards. However, it is great to receive such crisp feedback which will enable us to look into our routines and improve. I hope that you will return to Scandic... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Scandic Europe in July this year and having read several negative reviews prior to our stay the hotel we had a good experience. The hotel was undergoing some renovation around the reception but we booked in quickly without problem, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Andy P Thank you very much for staying with us and for your time taken to share your thoughts on tripadvisor. It is great for us to receive such positive feedback and we will bring it with us for the future. We hope that you and your wife will come visit us again once the refusbishment is completed mid... More

Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Good location, center of the town, just to the central station and almost inside the shopping mall :-) Sauna and pool. but pool is bit small and pretty cold. These days there are renovation works but ends in October. Rooms are nice, clean, but view is not so nice, looking into others windows. I think it would be nice to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Igor K Thank you for your great feedback, it is great for all of us to know we are on the right track. We will certainly take your views with us for the future and hope that you will return to Scandic Europa after the refurbishment is completed mid october. Kind regards. More

Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Very disappointing room when compared to similar rated accommodation elsewhere in the world. Small room, no view, no fridge, no outdoor area. Very difficult to find a positive comment ,- maybe location. Room safe not working and not corrected during our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Madeleine G Thank you very much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. It is disapointing to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations, fot hat i sincerely apologize, we will discuss these points in order to work out a way forward. I hope that you will be able to come visit us again once the refurbishment... More

Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Although Scandic is a hotel chain, this was the first time I stayed in one. Based on my experience, I would say that they are a good budget hotel that is located near the train station. The room was very basic but suited our purpose and the wifi in the room worked perfectly. The hotel chain seems to pride themselves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello A J Thank you very much for taking time to let us know about your impressions from your stay at Scandic Europa. It is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours and we carry it with us for future improvements. We hope that, when returning to Gothenburg, you will come see us again once the refurbishment is completed... More

Atvidaberg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel has an very good and central location, other than that I would say it´s a medium class hotel. The breakfast was good and the room was ok. There was same constuktion worm at the time for my stay but only at daytime so I did not have any problem with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Brillo67 Tahnk you very much for telling us about your experience at Scandic Europa. We are very grateful that you have shared your views about your impressions and we hope to be able to welcome you back once the refurbishment is finished in the middle of october. Kind regards More

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in a "family room" which was modern and reasonably clean with a great panorama window overseeing Gothenburg. The room was quite small though. The hotel is located in Central Gotheburg with trams and buses across the street, Breakfast was ok, but it was packed and full of small children that kept the ambient noise up.... I suspect this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Joakimlundberg Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great that we met your demands and that you enoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will be able to come visit us once the refurbishment is finished mid october. Kind regards. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: Nils Ericsonsgatan 21 | Box 11444, Gothenburg 41103, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay