We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Nils Ericsonsgatan 21 | Box 11444, Gothenburg 41103, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
445carolinea Stockholm, Sweden
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    53
    194
    125
    47
    10
See reviews for
73
95
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (429)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent 4 nights in room 845. First, the blanket is too small, you have a double bed but a single (half-single) blanket, it does not cover the whole body. Then, the ventilation in this room is very noisy, maybe the fact that it is not centered in the hole. And to finish, the shower, there is one centimeter clearance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Laurent D Thank you very much for providing us with detailed and clear points highlighting were we have failed to live up to our service standards. It is apparent that there have been problems connected to the room you have stayed in and we will look into how we can make sure this will be dealt with. Thank you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Porvoo, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good standard chain hotel, aĺl necessities available. Busy with mixed clientele, good breakfast. Easy going. Excellent place near the airport busses and central station. Everything at a walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hej LiisaW Thank you very much for excellent feedback. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able to return within the near future. Kind regards. More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are very kind and helpful, but the rooms are very spartan. The bed is nice and comfortable. The desk is too small to rest your arms when using a laptop, and the bathroom floor gets flooded when using the shower. The ventilation vent in the bathroom is very noisy and you can't close it. You can hear it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello peterp343 Thank you very much for telling us about your last stay with us. It is highly rewarding to get our guests perspective and this you have done in a very helpful manner which we will use to our benefit. Also, thank you very much for choosing to reward the hard working teammembers with praise, they certainly deserve it.... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Scandic Europa is a basic hotel in the city center of Gothenburg, just across the street from the central station. The staff is friendly, but not much more than that. The service level is not that high, at least not from the front desk staff. We were staying in a standard room, which was quite small, but okey due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights. Good location right next to central station. Breakfast was a great variety of everything. We had booked and requested a king bed. When we arrived we were informed the hotel was full. We were given a twin room which was next to the lift and had disability facilities. The room was compact but still had everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Sambox Thank you for feedback and valuable comments. While we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the overall stay it is unfortunate that we didn't manage to accomodate your bed preference, nor did we offer you a solution. Please accpeta my apologies regaring this, however, we will discuss this internally and make sure to better our routines in... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location is superb and the hotel has all the amenities one normally needs; the staff (front desk, restaurant and cleaning staff) are very friendly and helpful; interesting menu in the restaurant and a solid breakfast buffet; can be a bit too busy and crowded when hosting large conferences;

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Christer A Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences from your previous stay with us. We are especially pleased to hear such great comments regarding the employees and their hard work. We hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future. Kind regards. More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working in Sweden for ten days left little choice for a hotel, major conference blah blah blah. Company booked me in here, central location and all that, £1300 pounds for ten nights but it is Scandinavia I have been there four times before everything from kipping outside to hotels with most things between. Typical rabbit hutch room everything normal so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear yorkiePhil S Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your last stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious lack of attention to your needs and the fact that you brought this to our attention without any action from our side. Clearly we have failed in delivering high standards and we have certainly failed... More 

Seevetal, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

central located close to Central Station. Friendly and efficient welcome. Room was small with 2 single beds and a small bathroom. Bathroom was totally flooded after shower - this should be improved and cleanliness could be improved too. I had several long hair in the bath, on the toilet and some more dirt in the room. Good breakfast. But because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello hhlion Thank you for sharing your thoughts form your last stay at scandic Europa in such a clear way. We notice that in general you were satsisfied, nevertheless, we didn't manage to deliver on the most basic cleanliness. We apologize for this and will make sure to improve on this part. We wish you a warm welcome back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Pool and Sauna (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay