We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Rubinen

Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Rubinen
Rate this Hotel

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    108
    76
    24
    7
See reviews for
29
78
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Frillesas, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to be located right in the center of Gothenburg, this is the perfect hotel. Modern, trendy. We got a newly redecorated double room on the 6th floor. Very clean, comfortable beds. Only thing missing was a fridge in the room. Wifi is free and good. Nice buffet breakfast on the 2nd floor. There is a bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Hi MiaEJ2013, Thank you for your very nice review! We are really excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Gothenburg and here at Rubinen! :) I wish we can welcome you back also next time you plan to visit Gothenburg! Have a great day and thank you again! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an tricky hotel. Yes it will trick you by surroundings / location and give you a small, dirty, equipmentless, bad room for higher price! Believe me you can find another hotel at down side of street. This hotel is not on really good location as you think. Don't take this location bait! Rooms are very very small. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Şeref K, Thank you for your feed back! It is terrible for us to hear this and we will contant you privately so that we can sort this out in the best possible way! Wish you a good day and I really hope we will be able of welcoming you back to Gothenburg and Rubinen! Best regards, Carin V... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent about 70 nights per year at hotels since 1982. Most of those nights are spent at Scandic Hotels in Sweden, Denmark and Norway. One of the benefits of Scanidc is that you (almost) always know what to expect from the hotel. Sometimes you get something extra and sometimes you get disappointed. Staying at Scandic Rubinen always give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Lennart L, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear all those lovely words and we work really hard to give our guests a lovely stay! It is really nice to hear that you have experienced what we try to accomplish! :) Have a great day and thank you again! :) Best regards,... More 

Tomares, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I stayed here for 10 days. The room was fine, nice breakfast buffet, tye bar restaurant had good food and the "Dagens lunch" was very good value for the money. Central location. Friendly staff. All in all a good experience. Avoid booking their economy double. Had it for the first night and it's basically standing room only. Upgraded to one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Bpers2003, Thank you for your review! We really appreciate it! Have a lovely day and welcome back to us whenever you have an opportunity to visit Gothenburg! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Great location and very funky hotel. However is still a Scandics so the average room has one small towel per person and shampoo and soap in dispensers on the wall. It's also a place with the shower bathrooms ie have a shower and soak the place! But under floor heating dries it up for your next visit! Quick check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear MetalWarrior, Thank you for your nice review! We read all feed back and we are always trying to get better! I hope you will visit us again next time you are in Gothenburg! Have a lovely christmas and a happy new 2015! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

Good location for Art Galleries, Museums and good choice of restaurants nearby. No shortage of great coffee shops either and a 10 minute walk gets you down to the centre and some great shopping and even more coffee shops. The hotel bar offers some good dining options from the"build your own" meal to evening specials of a more traditional nature.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear LMM763, Thank you for your review from your stay. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed Rubinen and Gothenburg. Please let us know next time you plan to visit Gothenburg! Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The new renovation of the breakfast room on the first floor is super. The warm breakfast is very welcome in the cold months. One of my favorite reasonably priced hotels in Gothenburg. Good access to the airport shuttle bus stop, but a bit of a walk to the City centre. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Dune S, Thank you so much for your nice review!! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

Washington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Enjoyed my visit to Gothenburg, a nice city with very few tourists, great shopping and good food. hotel is centrally located in the center of the city. Easy to walk to Christmas market in Liseberg, a little further to the train station but still very doable, even with luggage. Hotel rooms were a bit small and our bed was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Traveling_Fool_2011, Thank you for your nice review regarding your stay! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Rubinen and also enjoyed Gothenburg! Have a great day and thak you again! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question