We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dave W
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    69
    142
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
73
75
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (351)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was fantastic, staff more than happy to help and advise on surrounding area. Not far to walk to either the main street or to Liseberg theme park which is worth a visit. Room are modern but small, bathroom was cinished to a poor quality though given the standards of the rest of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida L, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hej Dave, How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the service was great! We have many different room types and we are happy to guide you through them if you have plans to come to Gothenburg again! As for the worn bathrooms, we will of course take this feedback with us. Nice summer and hope to... More 

Tjockhult
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did have a room with a view on the 12:th floor. There was no minibar. There is a safe but badly placed. Bathroom is big and good, just one sink though. Bed is a little bit hard but otherwise good. One really good and appreciated thing is that lightswitches and 220 volt is placed just beside the bed! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Bootsyfan, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review onTripadvisor and also for your great feedback! It´s reviews like this with both things we do good and less good that really helps us where to put our focus, so thank you again. I wish you a nice summer. Best regards Anna More 

Aneby, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, good location and easy access. Lovely with a bathtub. Near to the cinnema. And the relax vas good. The personal is very serviceminded. I was there for a night and loved it, I like to go back som day.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida L, General Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello Liselotte, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. I wish you a wonderful summer! Kind regards Ida More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When checking in we were met by a crowd in the entrance of the hotel having a party at the hotel. I was quite surprised that they were allowed to stand right by the doors smoking and blocking the entrance without anyone doing anything about it. Sadly the entrance remained "untouched" after the party during the whole weekend with plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Grover888, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay at our hotel, unfortunately Summerburst, a large concert, was in town and it was a challenge for the hotel both in the lobby- and breakfast area. I´m happy to hear... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are small, and the queen size beds are actually single bed 120cm or so. Not possible to upgrade or change, personnel not very helpful. Hotel need a major upgrade. Fewer and larger rooms. The star rating should be maximum two. On the positive side the location is good, and it appear to be quiet and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Ursus80, Thank you for takning the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor and also for the feedback given. I´m really sad to hear that our teammembers couldn´t help you in the way as excpected and that the size of our room wasn´t at your saticfaction. If you were to visit us again I would recommend our large... More 

Falun, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to Scandinaium and Ullevi and the shopping street Kungsportsavenyn. Great breakfast buffét! Nice and clean rooms. They also have a small gym that is quite ok for a hotel. Also a relaxing area with a jacuzzi and sauna.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida L, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello Caroline, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It is very important to us that our guests feel comfortable and everything is quite and clean. We are very happy to hear that you have anjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again. I wish you a... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Opalen has a good location between Ullevi & Liseberg and still close down to Avenyn. The room was clean but maybe not totally up to date. But i heard that they are renovating at the moment. The breakfast is really nice and the bar was ok, although they were out of most tap beer. A big plus for the really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida L, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello Mindtrust, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I wish you a wonderful summer! Kind regards Ida More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

The big downside of this hotel are the small rooms (at least ours was really small and just provided us with enough room to enter the badroom). All else, the hotel is very good. The main reason to choose this hotel might be the location. It is located just off center, but close enough to the action to do everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi evertverhagen, thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for the descpription of our location. I´m sorry that you didn´t like the size of your room, but if you were to stay with us in the future I would recommend rooms on floor 9-13, they are larger and have panoramicview... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay