We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Gothenburg hotels

Scandic Hotel Opalen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
60%
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Arnaud C Solvesborg, Sweden
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    89
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
41
42
10
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solvesborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. I was lucky to get one of the few parking spots of the hotel on the back side. The room was good, especially on the back side you don't get too much street noise (7th floor). Good bed, the pillow a bit soft, but there were plenty of spares. The bathroom looks a little old, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drexel Hill, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After staying for 4 nights on the 7th floor in a one bedroom, I felt like I was at a youth hostel. The room was very small and the bathroom was very akward. But the most important fact is that after sleeping on the bed, both my wife and I felt very itchy as if something was bitting us. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stay in hotels at least 2 times a year and has been trying to stay at Scandic when possible. This time that was a mistake. We had a room on the second floor, and also a baby with pram. There were ALWAYS queues for the elevator. Once we had to wait 10 minutes. Rooms were dated. The pull out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that we could not live up to the expectations that you had regarding your stay and that you disappointment is so deep that you would not like to come back. I foyu... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Despite being very busy for the football week everything was good . They catered for everyone with plenty of breakfast space & the buffet was good . I had a larger top floor room , plenty of space , good bathroom & nice view. Gym was better than average . Staff pleasant & helpful , especially bar & restaurant .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review. Myself as well as the rest of the staff are very happy to hear that you have anjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please don't be a stranger. I wish you a wonderful summer! Malin... More

Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When we stayed here (my girlfriend and I), we were shocked to discover how unclean the rooms in general were. Trash bin not emptied. Bed made with almost no effort at all. Also: No ventilation. Bathrooms are old. Parking is ridiculously expensive. Food is very bland. Won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to do our best to keep our guests happy but in your case it was truly a swing and miss. I am also sorry to hear that you will not... More

Aalesund
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

- Our room was in ok condition, but the bathroom need to be renovated, and the ventilation there need to be fixed. - Trash bin in the bathroom had not been emptied since the last guests. - Only one small duvet in our queen size bed room. Not large enough for two persons! - It gets very warm in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry that we could not live up to the expectations you had. We will take everything you mentioned in consideration and work on improving them. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again some time. I wish you... More

Motala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed in a room on one of the top floors. Magnificent view, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, and no disturbing noises. Good breakfast choices for everyone, and lots to choose from, including organic options. Located conveniently, with most major attractions within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient secure parking under the hotel - but it costs extra. Reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and your kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to see and enjoy our city. I do hope that you will come back to us another time. I wish you a fantastic summer!... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Göteborgsvarvet Half Marathon. The room was clean, and while it was fine, it could use some renovation. The bed was comfortable, and it was quiet so we slept well. The breakfast was decent, and the hotel is right next to a tram stop which makes it easy to get around. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to let us know how you're stay with us was. It seems like it was a pleasant one and you have made some good points for us to take a look at. I dope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel and beautiful city. I wish you... More

hereford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Opalen for a conference recently. I was lucky to have a room on the 11th floor. It was spacious, light and what I expected if a Swedish hotel- like ikea. No real complaints although single duvets on a double bed was a bit odd! Breakfast was buffet, a good selection and fresh. Friends stayed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a nice stay. I do hope that we will have the pleasure and welcoming you again. I wish you a very niec summer! Malin W More

Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here a little while ago but finally getting round to writing this review. The hotel looks nice from the outside and indeed it is quite an iconic feature of that part of Göteborg. It becomes a complete disappointment from the moment you walk in the door. It's like the hotel is stuck in a time-warp from the 70s. Reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very mudch for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We also try to do our best in order for our guest to feel welcome and satisfied about their stay but in youi case we have clearly failed.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Opalen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gothenburg with
any amenities