We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Gothenburg hotels

Scandic Hotel Opalen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Fristående Hudv... E
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    104
    64
    24
    18
See reviews for
48
48
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I clome back here every August! Good serviceminded staff that always do their best, good rooms (a bit small) with very comfy beds and I love the breakfast! They even have pancakes! So Great! :)..........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Scandic Opalen in Gothenborg was very good in all ways. Thank You! Close to Scandinavium. Close to train. Close to citycenter. Nice reception. Nice bar. Very good breakfast. Overall a very good visit!

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kungsbacka, Hallands Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

All Scandic hotels have very high standard and excellent front desk service, Opalen does not fail. Breakfast is extensive and regular fine Scandic standard. Good, large and quiet rooms. This is a good hotel for visiting the exhibition center or Scandinavium sport arena, just a few hundred meters away. The only thing I miss is more parking spaces, especially when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Hotel provided a very comfortable, well appointed room, with floor to ceiling windows that afforded outstanding views of the city (9th floor). Morning breakfast was abundant and the coffee and fruit bowl on the mezzanine level was welcome by us early risers. Hotel staff was very friendly, bi-lingual and efficient. Late check-out was cheerfully granted (by Robert!) and checkin/check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solvesborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. I was lucky to get one of the few parking spots of the hotel on the back side. The room was good, especially on the back side you don't get too much street noise (7th floor). Good bed, the pillow a bit soft, but there were plenty of spares. The bathroom looks a little old, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the staff took very good care of you. I hope that you bought a lottery ticket when you got one of the soaces in the back because you... More 

Drexel Hill, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After staying for 4 nights on the 7th floor in a one bedroom, I felt like I was at a youth hostel. The room was very small and the bathroom was very akward. But the most important fact is that after sleeping on the bed, both my wife and I felt very itchy as if something was bitting us. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you got an allergic reaction from the laundry detergent used on our sheets. I can understand that the room was a little to small for you when stayig for several nights, if you happen to pass... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stay in hotels at least 2 times a year and has been trying to stay at Scandic when possible. This time that was a mistake. We had a room on the second floor, and also a baby with pram. There were ALWAYS queues for the elevator. Once we had to wait 10 minutes. Rooms were dated. The pull out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that we could not live up to the expectations that you had regarding your stay and that you disappointment is so deep that you would not like to come back. I foyu... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Despite being very busy for the football week everything was good . They catered for everyone with plenty of breakfast space & the buffet was good . I had a larger top floor room , plenty of space , good bathroom & nice view. Gym was better than average . Staff pleasant & helpful , especially bar & restaurant .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review. Myself as well as the rest of the staff are very happy to hear that you have anjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please don't be a stranger. I wish you a wonderful summer! Malin... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When we stayed here (my girlfriend and I), we were shocked to discover how unclean the rooms in general were. Trash bin not emptied. Bed made with almost no effort at all. Also: No ventilation. Bathrooms are old. Parking is ridiculously expensive. Food is very bland. Won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to do our best to keep our guests happy but in your case it was truly a swing and miss. I am also sorry to hear that you will not... More 

Aalesund
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

- Our room was in ok condition, but the bathroom need to be renovated, and the ventilation there need to be fixed. - Trash bin in the bathroom had not been emptied since the last guests. - Only one small duvet in our queen size bed room. Not large enough for two persons! - It gets very warm in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry that we could not live up to the expectations you had. We will take everything you mentioned in consideration and work on improving them. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again some time. I wish you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay