We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Gothenburg hotels

Scandic Hotel Opalen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Gothenburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Carl C Stockholm, Sweden
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    55
    24
    12
See reviews for
28
33
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

There is not that much to say about those Scandic hotels. Generally they do the job. But you never seem to remember anything about after you have left. Opalen is no exception. Service is good. Breakfast too. Location is good if you are going to visit the exhibition area for example.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moss, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in a Superior room. This room has a great view of the City. The location is good. The tram goes just outside the hotel, but we chose to walk. Just 10-15 minutes to the centre with shops etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolding, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night and had a room on the 12th floor. The room was clean an quiet. The staff was polite and very helpful. They have a parking garage which is easy accessable. All in all a good hotel. Next time I return to Gothenburg U would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. It makes me and my collegues very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back. Please don't be a stranger, hope to see you soon! Malin W More

Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could easily say that this is the place to be at in gothenburg. Never fails to hit target for me. I have many guests who visit gothenburg on business trips and this scandic is the only place I book for them. Great staff, Friendly faces all the time, A nice a decent bar, good service, clean, and everything you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review about us here on TripAdvisor. I do not know what to say except for thank you so very much for your kind words and excellent word of mouth reputation you are giving is. You have truly made our day so much brighter and... More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the Scandic Opalen mainly because it was very close to the event I was attending at Svenska Massan, and also because the price was a lot cheaper than some comparable hotels nearer the train station and the centre of the city. it is also very convenient for Landvetter airport, as the airport coaches from Flygbussarna stop at Korsvagen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you so very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you met nothing but kind and friendly faces when staying here with us. I have even before writing my response told Victoria what you had to say about... More

Halmstad, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have spent many nights in hundreds of hotels all around the world. Me and my husband recently came back from a long trip to NYC, LA and Maui. So we were not keen on travelling again and booked Opalen because of the location. I became a member and received 500 SEK rebate for two nights. I also have learned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us at Scandic Opalen. I am extremely happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you got to stay in a room you liked as well. It's important that you are not afraid of heights when... More

Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Arrived at 5:30, less than 1 minute wait to check-in. Stayed in a room in the newer, built-on the floors at the top. Stunning views! The room was really good, close to a new feeling (except for a few spots on one of armchairs). Well cleaned (but not perfect). It was a little tricky to watch television, because the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed wour stay with us and that you even would like to come back to us. It's always nice to get a feeling that we are doing it right and that our... More

Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice Modern Hotel near the city center. I was in an upgraded superior corner room on the top floor with a magnificent view of the city. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and accommodating with any of my requests. Hot and cold international breakfast was served in the morning with plenty of options to choose. Very close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write about your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were treated well by the staff at the front desk. We all do really enjoy helping our guests especially if they have a tricky job or question... More

Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The place is very nice, 10 min walk to the city center. It is a very big corner building. Rooms are a bit small and bathroom is a bit old fashioned. The hotel has a gym, pool with massaging water jets and sauna, very nice to get relaxed. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is amazing and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Myself and the rest of our staff would like to thank you for your kind words about us. We try to do our best and... More

South Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Rooms are extremely small and quite basic - ended up paying extra for an upgrade due to being unhappy with what we were first given. Food wasn't served late in the "bar" area even though it was a weekend, so that was disappointing. We had been out to a concert and were hungry afterwards. They also didn't open the "flow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. Criticism bot positive and concstructiv is crucial for us. I am sorry to hear that wo could not live up to the expectations you had on your stay this time. However I am happy to hear that you could find some golden moments... More

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Opalen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.