We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Karlstad City

Drottninggatan 4, Karlstad 65224, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Karlstad City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed,a family of four, in a family room. The room was spacious, but a bit worn down. Staff was very friendly, but simple routines did not seem to work.In our room two lights were broken,one with the plug broken. And no one had noticed. We got a replacement, but so weak that the entire sitting area was left in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonas P
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing about your stay with us. Sorry to hear everything was not as expected. Hope to see you soon again so that we can show that we can do better. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We had booked family room for 4 persons. First of all beds was not made for 4 - there was only bedding for 3 persons. Room has a lot noise so we had to get new room. Cleaning on hallway and rooms were very poor. Drinking glasses in room was dirty. Arrived Sunday afternoon and was told that restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your visit wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel and rooms. Our restaurant and bar is closed on Sundays, sorry you didn´t get that information. I hope you can consider staying with us again if visiting Karlstad , so that we can show that we can do better. Happy new year! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Second ime at this hotel. Last time here was in march 2015. Does not feel like the same hotel. Staff still friendly and lobby looks nice. Quick check in as last time. Did not use the overpriced indoor garage this time, plenty of parkingplaces way cheaper around the corner. Scandic city surprised us this time with a runed down look.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mranderz
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. That helps us to get better. Sorry to hear your stay wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel. We will of course look into what went wrong. We do hope you come see us again. Happy new year! More 

Sundsvall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

Second time stay here, nice location. Quite place. Decent gym, sauna and jacuzzi. Plenty of place to chat with friends if do not want to stay in room. Omelet on Wednesday breakfast is great. A little bit old decoration in room but ok in my mind.

Helpful?
Thank duanran
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your thoughts about our hotel. Come see us soon again! Have a lovely day. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Being on a Cosmos bus tour we were quite satisfied with all aspects of this hotel. Helpful staff and had a good breakfast . All nice and clean. What I could not understand was WHY the lifts were so small for such a big hotel? Three people MAX ! We waited 15 minutes in a queue to use the lift... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maurice B
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Dear Maurice, Nice to hear from someone " down under" ! Thanks for your thoughts. Please come see us again if you come back to Karlstad! More 

Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with my brother and sister in law for one night. The room was light and airy. We had a few drinks at the bar and found the staff fun and friendly. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Karlstad.

Helpful?
Thank NicVic10
Anki T, Bokningschef at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej, Roligt att ni trivdes så bra hos oss! Hoppas vi ses snart igen More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

I'd rate this hotel a 4 if it were not for the poor cleaning of the bathroom. Great staff and spacious rooms. I just can not get over the fact that the bathroom was in bad shape. Dust every where. Mysterious "spots" in the ceiling.

Helpful?
Thank 747FAN
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for letting us know this. We will of course take a look at this. Come see us again so we can show that we can do better! More 

Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Great central hotel with nice lobbyarea, restaurang,breakfast and staff. Its neewly renovated and the food for evening menu is out of the Box , small dishes in a glass , great Idea and it shows the managements thinking in innovativt ways .

Helpful?
Thank Catharina Mary H
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Come see us soon again! More 

Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Staff is nice but the cleaning staff uses the same lift as the guests and the stairs are only to be used in case of emergency. I stayed in this hotel for approximately three weeks and the long waiting for the lift became a nuisance. If you leave the windows open you will hear loud noises from shrieking seagulls! On... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay at our hotel, although you were not all satisfied. It helps us in our struggle to always get better. Please come see us again so that we can show you we can do better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Bilan
Clarion Collection Bilan
#1 of 18 in Karlstad
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay