We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hellsten

#29 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Luntmakargatan 68, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hellsten
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Hellsten
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    186
    240
    77
    25
    3
See reviews for
54
230
69
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (531)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 3 nights here as art of an 18 night road trip. Vey good location, Nice staff, Quirky interior design. Slightly design over substance e.g. had an ‘Unmanned bar’ which we never quite figured out. Everyone was encouraged to go across the street to the sister hotel to the bar there (?) but service there wasn’t great there either.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, a two-minute tunnelbana ride plus a two-minute walk from Central Station, or a leisurely 15-20 minute walk to Gamla Stan. Beautiful 19th century building with a colorful, funky mix of historical and modern finishes. I stayed in Room 1304, a "Single Grand Lit" room in the attic-level of the level perched above the main stairwell. The exposed beams,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is a great find. It's in a great location - just far enough out of the busy city centre, but just 2 mins from the metro, with a line that will take you to Central, Gamla Stan (old town) or Stusse (SoFo). Would recommend and stay again! Positives: Beautiful decorated, very creative and calming vibe. Clean! Great location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at Hotel Hellsten with a friend on a several day trip to Stockholm from America. We found the hotel to be a great choice for us. Pros -Doesn't break the bank -Cool atmosphere -Great breakfast -Excellent location (3 minute walk to underground station and then just two stops to city central) -We also had a lovely balcony with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear JackiTravels, Thank you for sharing your very detailed review with us! We appreciate the many "pros" and regarding the "cons" we are sorry that you experienced the elevator as slow and that you missed conditioner in your room. We hope to see you here soon again! Best regards, Izabelle Lim More 

Lulea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I just loved the hotel room, it's decorated in a victorian style, very cosy and romantic. Great breakfast and a very nice hotel bar. Nearby the centrum of Stockholm. About 10 minutes walk to central station, nice bars and restaurants just around the corner, nice and calm area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Luleaiscold, Thank you for your nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed your room and that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Izabelle Lim Sales and Marketing Coordinator More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms are very nice and big enough for a stay of 3-4 nights. The only thing that is really disturbing is that there are no curtains to black out the room during the nights. So sleeping is not that really that easy... The bathroom is really small. But everything was very clean. We really liked the hotel and the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Enomis84, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words about our staff and breakfast. We will immediately take action regarding the curtains. In Sweden we have bright nights during the summers and of course you should be able to get a good nights sleep with us.... More 

Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a clean and friendly hotel and well located in a central Latin . The room I had was really small though (nothing close to the one in the picture) and would have liked better food at the hotel bar when I didn't feel like going out for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Per H, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey C, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay! We are sorry that you thought your room was small - many of our rooms, even though in the same category, are different in size, shape and colour. Next time, please check with the front desk if you can change room. Taste and preference... More 

Benton Harbor, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (my husband and I) had a great time at this hotel. Our room was small but consistent with European standards. Unique furnishings and very comfortable bed. Can't understand how anyone could complain about breakfast, it had just about everything, including multiple breads and pastries (yes, and cinnamon bun slices), eggs, meats, cheeses fruits, herrings, etc. And very good coffee... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Perspicacious, Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments about our staff and breakfast. We truly hope to see you here again soon! Best regards, Izabelle Lim Sales and Marketing Coordinator More 

Prague
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location Rooms have the bare essential, wardrobe is very small, no iron, no tea/coffe etc... Breakfast is quite boring with limited choice Personnel can be quiet rude and careless Overall standards are quite low for the price

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear PavelF75, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with either your room, the breakfast or our staff. Obviously, you are very clear about what you felt was missing in your room and we are grateful for your suggestions. We offer an ironing room as well as tea and coffee in the... More 

Delft
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breakfast is very bad and worse than I have ever seen. Very little choice, and what is there is of low quality. Skip it and eat somewhere else. Fitness is smelly (no fresh air as there are no rooms), old, dangerous because parts are missing and when someone is on the Tredmill its very loud. Pity because the hotel has... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HellstenHotelGroup, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear heerink2015, Thank you for your feedback! Your kind words about our staff, rooms and overall atmosphere are highly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that the breakfast and fitness room was not up to your expectations. We strive to give all our guests a good start of the day with a breakfast buffet with various choices. Please let us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (231)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay