We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Upplandsgatan 2a, Stockholm 11123, Sweden
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
City Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My stay at city backpackers was phenomenal. The staff was great and the pub crawl and cooking class made our stay even better. I highly recommend staying at city backpackers. I can't comment on the shared rooms because my party had a private one but i'm sure the other ones are great as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank evanssr19
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best hostel ever and I've stayed in more than I can remember. I won't forget this one. It looks amazing and stylish, the facilities are superb and the international staff quite simply excellent. Friendly, professional and welcoming. I can't recommend City Back Packers enough. It was so nice, I really had to force myself to leave and explore Stockholm... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank 337maxwelld
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks heaps for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us. It's great to know that we are on the right track to make a wonderful experience for the guests. We are always striving to improve things to meet the travellers needs. Please do come and visit us again, you are more than... More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose it for the free pasta and free coffee/tea, and I got it! Although the coffee is only available after noon which was disappointing, everything else was fantastic! The guy who checked me in showed me to my room and explained the codes, shoes, linen and breakfast really well. I didn't have the breakfast but I made full use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita K
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Glad to hear that you had a great stay. Actually wehave free tea and coffee available from 11am until midnight. It's a shame you did not try our breakfast offer, it is great value for money and is available in our cafe between 7-11am. You are very welcome to visit us again and try our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

City Backpackers Hostel is overall very good. It is located on the main street, about 10 minutes walk from Central Station. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The hostel is kind of a maze when you first arrive. There's little signage and everything is all over the place. However, you'll soon get used to it. Even though my room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamupdate
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I can understand you dislike codes, but we honestly use these for guests safety. We usually recommend to guests having trouble with codes to take a photo with their phones so that they always have it available.Sorry to hear that you had trouble finding bathrooms. You should have received a map upon check-in which marks out... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know many had said it is one of the best hostels, but if you are a seasoned backpacker, you will know what I am talking about. Definitely, they have a very good location, around 700 mt from the Stockholm C station. There is free wifi, hostel is clean, there is free pasta in the kitchen and a free sauna... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thegreyeye
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are very sad to hear that you had such a bad experience with our staff. We are surprised because the behaviour that you have experienced does not sound familiar with anyone that we know here. We take this issue very seriously så with staff and the room heating problem we will address this... More 

New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would definitely recommend this hostel! The private showers with rainfall shower heads are much nicer than what we were expecting! Everyone was super accommodating and the space was really clean. We participated in the viking tour and it was such a great experience! Location is also great..super close to lots of shopping, bars, restaurants!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brittanyc114
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the fab review. Welcome back anytime and we hope you have an even better experience with us. Have a great weekend! Kindly Charmaine CBP More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed staying in this hostel and when I say that its friendly it is SO friendly. You have no choice but to talk to people / make friends. There are a few things that didn't make our stay a five. 1) There are key pads in and out of rooms and the main entrance to rooms, this is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_Albanite
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and have noted your problems with your room. We hoped you would have come to reception to let us know if there was a problem, we might of been able to solve it straight away. We have taken note about your difficulties not having a mirror and about the blind in the room and we have... More 

Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I like this hostel. It's beautiful, stylish and clean. You can use the kitchen, have free sauna and have a lot of activities. You only walk 10 minutes to the central station. The staff is very friendly. I would stay there any time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank andi655
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again someday! Kindly Charmaine CBP More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the City Backpackers Hostel between Christmas and New Year 2015 as a solo traveller. As soon as I checked in and looked around, I could tell it is unavoidably sociable and friendly. I arrived at 6pm and had a dinner plan with a group of people literally 5 minutes later, and was booked on to a Swedish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonTDavies
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. It really means alot to us! I will pass on your thanks and kind comments about the Sauna tour to my colleague Michael. We really want our guests to have a special experience with us and glad to hear that we lived up to your expectations.Welcome back anytime! Charmaine CBP More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

The hostel is nice and functional but I usually prefer smaller ones. If you're into meeting a lot of people and if u like busy places this is the one, always people coming in and out. Breakfast was incredibly good for a hostel. Beds are a little bit noisy. You have a code to come inside of the hostel, that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cárin S
CBPmanager, Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinions. I can understand that it might be tricky to remember codes. We use these though for guests safety. I usually recommend to guests to take a copy with their mobile phone so that it is easy to remember. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Stockholm! Cheers... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
HTL Kungsgatan
HTL Kungsgatan
#25 of 161 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel L
#9 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#11 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Norrmalm

Neighborhood Profile
Norrmalm
Norrmalm is Stockholm’s most central and busiest neighborhood. It’s home to the main shopping street, Drottninggatan, and to Stockholm icons like the Sergels Torg glass obelisk, the famous Hay Market with its Carl Milles sculptures, and the Hötorget Skyscrapers, a sight on every other Stockholm postcard. Norrmalm is also home to Sweden’s most traditional department stores Nordiska Kompaniet and Åhléns City juxtaposed with Stockholm’s most modern shopping mall, Mood Stockholm. Visitors to this area get to experience the unique Swedish philosophy of protecting cultural heritage while also staying on top of fashion innovation and modern architecture.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay