We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Hotel Portalen

3.5 of 5 Barnarpsgatan 6, Jonkoping 551 16, Sweden
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
18
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Skåne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Was here on weeknights so didn't have the noise issue described by others. Funny thing was that on check-in the night man was outsourced (not strange in itself) but - wearing a uniform shirt with a "SECURITY GUARD (VÄKTARE)" badge! Kinda like the feeling when the band wonders why there is chicken wire in front of the stage in Blues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. I wish I heard your remarks before your departure so I had the opportunity to help and make your stay more comfortable. I am also sorry you did´t got any information regarding our garage. I will take action on this and put this as a daily routine. Best... More

Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Less than usual standard Scandic quality. Wish I'd read the reviews first. The noise from the clubs across the street is unbearable and if you have small children, this is not a wise choice for stay. Room was clean, large enough but no minibar. No dinner offered. Less than pleased at customer service, 'we have no restaurant but you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CeciliaH235, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva. Jensens Böfhouse som ligger på andra sidan gatan brukar vara... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We are seasoned Scandic customers but this hotel is clearly the worst ever. We visited a restaurant in the evening and when we returned to the hotel the nightclub across the street was so loud that it was impossible to sleep. We made several calls to the reception and at 1am we were offered another room that had a noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CeciliaH235, Informationsansvarig at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Hello! I am truly sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep at our hotel! Unfortunately we can not always affect the noise from outside - Scandic Portalen is a hotel in the middle of the city, close to restaurants and nightlife. You can always ask for a quieter room or if you have any other... More

Kotka, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with my son(14years). We were coming from europe back to Finland. So we desided rest until reach Stockholm. I'm writing this 1.30 ... the bar next to hotel is playing music ... until to 2. If I knew this I wouldn't stop. Now food, now rest ... more than 100€ with parking ... NOT WORTH IT!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CeciliaH235, Informationsansvarig at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Hello! We are sorry to hear that you could not sleep because of the noise outside of the hotel. We can almost always change rooms for you if you contact the reception. Scandic Portalen is placed in the middle of the city, close to the museums, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. This means, unfortunately that sometimes the noise outside can affect... More

Gothenburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here one Saturday to Sunday, got o good package deal with Training, SPA and good food. The gym was Nordic wellnes, with all possible training facilities. Tested the gym and the Body Pump, we used the Spa also, not so big but the simple important things. Dinner included in package at Karlssons salonger - very good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

I am glad to here that you had a pleasant stay at Scandic Portalen. I agree that Karlssons salonger serves really good food. Have a nice day and I wish you warmly welcome back! More

Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went here on a trip with my job, we also had a conference at the hotel. This was the second time I visited this hotel and it's located wonderful in the middle of the town, close to all restaurants and shopping in Jönköping. The rooms are normal, which is big enough. It's very quiet during the nights, so it's easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej Jag kan inte annat än hålla med dig om att läget är väldigt bra. Och att starta dagen med... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here one night on a business trip for a conference. As such, it's one of those trips where you actually spend very little time in the hotel! The room was OK, and the bathroom was OK also. A little dated. Didn't sleep overly well. You can hear people on the street outside as they leave the local clubs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva. Om du har tid över i Jönköping så tipsar vi... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Scandic Portalen is a very nice basic hotel that ticks a few boxes to make it that little bit more enjoyable. The rooms are basic but well kept, the beds are comfy but make use of the extra pillow. It's my 5th stay here and the staff have always been willing to go that extra mile. The basics are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Receptionschef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to read! We always try to go the extra mile for our guests and it is good to hear that you think we do! You can always ask for an extra pillow at the front desk and when you can check in, you can always ask for a quiet... More

Jonkoping, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Narrow bed along a wall, less than helpful personnel (didn´t even know how to find their garage), terrible food in the restaurant. Rundown breakfast restaurant. Priced as a luxury hotel in a metropolis but with the standard of a third class hotel in the countryside. Not worth a third of the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Receptionschef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Hello! I am sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. I thank you for you opinions and hope that we can give you a better stay next time that you visit us at Scandic Portalen. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, good location but if you are on business and stay Thursday evening expect very little sleep as the nightclub adjoining the hotel and below the rooms has pounding music until the early hours and you have no chance of keeping until it closes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Hotel Portalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Portalen

Address: Barnarpsgatan 6, Jonkoping 551 16, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Smaland and Blekinge > Smaland > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Portalen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Portalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay