We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Hotel Portalen

Barnarpsgatan 6, Jonkoping 551 16, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Portalen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
323 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

It is situated in the middle of Jönköping so you are real close to everything included the trainstation. The hotel is a bit shabby on its way to decline so it is definitely in dire need of renovation. Staff is real good so that is a plusfactor.

Helpful?
Thank Birgitta-Kenneth
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are also looking forward to our upcoming renovation that will take place in the future. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Good business hotel in Jönköping. Situated in the middle of town. Nice clean room. Has a car park in the basement which is really good. Nice bar on the ground floor. Good breakfast room (actually have seldom seen such a busy breakfast room) and nice breakfast, quite typical for Sweden. All in all a nice business hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I wish you warmly welcome back! More 

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

This hotel was subpar for a Scandic location. The room did not measure up to the price (200 euros). The breakfast though is extremely good. For some reason this hotel does not provide facial tissues in the bathroom, and this during the cold season. My room had a nice big tub that I wanted to use but there was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It seems like we didn´t live up to your expectations and I am sorry for that. Next time you can just give the reception a ring and they will deliver a new stopper to you. I wish you warmly welcome back. More 

Travelers are raving about these Jonkoping hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

If you can choose another hotel in Jönköping do it. Especially if you travel by your self and they offer you a room at the 7th floor. This is 3 pictures that you can "enjoy" while you spend time to figure which hotel you should choose 1 beer bottle opener 2 the none clean mirror 3 the spooky green dots... More 

Helpful?
Thank PadreEmanuel
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva. Vi strävar hela tiden på att bli ännu bättre på det... More 

sweden karlskrona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Standard double room - no surprise, good or bad, just another hotel room, Sauna on the 7 floor has a nice few over the city center. Good breakfast buffet. Nothing fancy ... For 1 or 2 nights all you need and have to have but its missing some kind of a AHA effect.

Helpful?
Thank unique.dive.travel
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our goal is to exceed expectancy and it bothers me we couldn´t fulfill this! Do not hesitate to give us a second chance. I wish you warmly welcome back. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

A somewhat worn down but overall nice and clean hotel. Excellent location downtown and parking space under hotel. The room we had was spacious for two and comfortable. Good breakfast with a lot to choose from. Nice move to have the minibar moved to reception area but keep the fridge in the room for guests to chill own stuff. But... More 

Helpful?
Thank rtrip13
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your feedback regarding the shower. I will go ahead with this and se what we could do to fix this. I wish you warmly welcome back. More 

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Rooms were just average with hard beds. Hard to sleep since the walls were paper thin and street noise and partying all night long just across the street. I don't think the hotel was full and I would have thought the receptionist could have located us on the opposite of street side. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank SoccerTease
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you couldn`t sleep because of noice from outside. I can recommend you to book a room with yardview next thime. I wish you warmly welcome back. More 

Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Hotel was okay, but quite old-fashioned. Our room was a little bit noisy during the night, because of the street and some restaurant music nearby. There was a chargeable parking place under the hotel. The sauna was on top of the building with nice view!

Helpful?
Thank Mertsi
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this review

Thank´s for your review. Do not hesitate to ask for a quiet room with yardview next time you are in Jönköping. I wish you warmly welcome back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
2.4 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#8 of 16 in Jonkoping
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#5 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Victoria
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS John Bauer Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay