We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairlight Beach House

Certificate of Excellence
1 Margaret Bacon Avenue | Cnr. South Beach Road, Umdloti, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Fairlight Beach House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    97
    46
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
99
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having known Umdloti for over 40 years we chose that Village. Not wanting to stay in one of those big Building we chose a B&B to our liking and the Fairlight Beach Hotel was exactly what we wanted. From Beulah to Collin to all the Staff,everyone went out of his way to help with request, although we only had one... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night as it was near King Shaka Airport. I am amazed at just how beautiful and peaceful Umdloti is. The beach house looks right onto the ocean, all rooms have are beautifully and tastefully decorated and have ocean views. The beds were comfy and the Peter room was nice and spacious. The breakfast was varied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at this beach house definitely surpassed our expectations and added to the fulfillment of a perfect weekend. The owner was such a lovely lady, she took her time in showing us around the property before leaving us to settle in to our room. Shortly after arriving, the owners son, Collin, offered us freshly made coffee and filled us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at this guest house was excellent. My expectation was surpassed by the friendly service on arrival and throughout my stay for the weekend. The friendly staff and owners made me feel at home. The personal touch to this establishment makes me feel like purchasing property in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We stayed at Fairlight this past weekend, after a lovely time in the Natal Midlands. The Tripadvisor reviews were not reliable for Fairlight. The owner arrived at the same time we did, but did not come up to introduce herself and left us with her staff. We were very disappointed by our room (the Peter room) which does not look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise H, Public Relations Manager at Fairlight Beach House, responded to this review

Hi JandL Cape, In response to your review posted on the 29 Jul 2015, "Disappointing, mould in the bedroom" – Fairlight would like to comment as follows: “We stayed at Fairlight this past weekend, after a lovely time in the Natal Midlands. The Tripadvisor reviews were not reliable for Fairlight. The owner arrived at the same time we did, but... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We were in the Coral Sands Apartment & had a wonderful view of the beach! The size & facilities were wonderful. Breakfast was great & the staff were all friendly! The rooms were clean & fresh! I would've preferred a duvet set in the second bedroom, apposed to sheets & a blanket. I by mistake left a window open &... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This quiet boutique hotel was one of the best experiences that I have had in a long time. It was situated right on the beach front and the Louise Room is worth the cost. The Louise room is situated on the 2nd level and only a few feet from the dining facility through the balcony access. Every night, you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The location and overall experience at Fairlight were amazing. Colin's special coffee with breakfast and courteous housekeeping staff must be complimented.The bathrooms in the standard rooms can do with some upgrading. Office staff should be more patient during bookings/payment procedures and when problems need to be addressed, that was really the only negative point of our stay. A really beautiful... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Great little beachfront B & B - magnificent views, central to restaurants and shops which are just a minutes walk away. Friendly staff make your time there lovely. Breakfast was excellent with many options available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Excellent and very quiet. Clean and beautiful rooms with a view. Wonderful breakfast daily. Friendly and helpful host and staff. Walking distance to the beach and all amenities. Neat gardens and swimming pool area. Friendly staff and host.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umdloti
4.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
4.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Umdloti Letting
#1 of 1 in Umdloti
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
10.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 9 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay