We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alexandra

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alexandra
Share an Experience

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    391
    109
    33
    16
See reviews for
89
311
103
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (745)
  • Mar-May only
    (187)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (196)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (206)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (156)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Avoid the breakfast as there are better options in the neighborhood. We had a room on the 5th floor so were not exposed to the refurbishment the hotel is going through but other friends were not as lucky and were a bit annoyed by this..... We rented some bikes from the hotel and this proved to be bery convenient as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear AntoinedlR, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor - we greatly appreciate your input and we are of course saddened to hear that our exterior renovation work was a disappointment to you. We are aware that renovation works rarely are a positive experience, but we have tried to limit the inconveniences that this may... More 

Pasadena, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure how this hotel has such a high rating. My first time in Denmark, so perhaps the comparison hotels are far worse? The hotel is very old-school, by which we don't mean charming or attentive but simply old. The room has no closet! The bathroom fixtures date form the 1950s certainly. Upscale motel at best. The furnishings are low... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear pas110, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share the experience that you have had with us - we greatly appreciate your comments. We are of course very sorry to hear that the hotel and your room did not meet your expectations. While we have a great passion for mid-modern century design, all of... More 

Derby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a long weekend at the hotel. The whole decor was great and showed the classical design look of the era they represented. Even down to a B &O turntable and receiver in the lounge area. The staff were great and extremely helpful and polite. Our only problem was the small bathroom and shower which was effectively a wet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Valuerequired, Thank you for your great review of the experience you had with us. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and design/decor - providing our guests with exceptional service in a homely and cozy environment is our passion, so your praise is much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the... More 

BCN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Hotel Alexandra during 5 days a some weeks ago. My visit to the city was mainly for business, so I did not need much facilites. I was placed in one of the rooms at the attic next to the staff ones, small room but will all needed. However I must say something about the wc. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear BcnLau, Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the bathroom did not live up to your expectations. Our single rooms are our smallest room category and the bathrooms are not that large - we do however have larger room categories at the hotel and perhaps... More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Alexandra recently for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon vacation across Northern Europe. We arrived in Copenhagen via Kastrup Airport and took the quick and efficient train service to Copenhagen Central Station. From the Central Station, it's about a 10-12 minute walk having to cross just 1 major junction. This would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear chris_from_singapore, Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review with us and for being so elaborate in your description - it is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our Danish design concept and that our lobby was warm and cosy to you. To us the lobby is the place where our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights, and immediately loved the Danish design and boutique feel of the lobby. The hotel is extremely well located, and is a great base to explore the city from - close to Tivoli Gardens and easy walking distance to the historic centre. The staff were very friendly (especially the gentleman working the night shift, who offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear eggpie2906, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us - we greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that we were able to make such a good impression, especially when it comes to the lobby and the feel of the hotel as a whole. We believe in creating an experience for our guests and... More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Great spot for us- short walk from the train station. Nice neighbourhood with good cafe's. Liked the retro look. Could have had better tea and coffee in the rooms as the only suggestion to improve. The attached Vietnamese cafe is good. Would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear aer197, Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that our hotel was a great spot for you all-in-all. Our passion is the Danish retro design of the mid-modern century, so we are glad you noticed as well as liked it. In regards to the... More 

Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Alexandra had great vibes and the staff was on point. Awesome location near the train station (easily walkable from there with some luggage) and close to tons of shopping/bars/restaurants. We stayed here with our baby and decided to upgrade to a larger room after the first of our three night stay so she had more room to crawl around. Both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear da_er_me, We are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for all of the kind words - they are much appreciated. We are also glad to hear that the room you upgraded to was more... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Stayed here for two nights in January. On arrival we noticed there were no curtains in our room and were quickly moved to another room. In fairness both rooms were lovely. This is definatly a hotel for people with an appriciation of design classics, the serive was impeccable, the location was great! Hopefully will return one day! Many thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Dastardly77, Thank you for such a great review of your experience with us and of course for taking the time to share it with us. We are very glad to hear that we were able to provide you with such a great service and that you enjoyed your room. We are sorry that there were no curtains in the... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel, where they have created a fantastic athmosphere showing a lot of the Retro Danish Design from the minute you enter the hotel. And we really enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine, in the cosy lobby area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Mblorup, Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us, as well as taking the time to share it with us. Your kind words about the atmosphere we have created with our passion for Danish mid-modern century design are very much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We believe in making our guests feel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

639 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (223)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (340)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room Deluxe (Classic Danish Design) (50)
Viewed
Double Room Superior (Danish Retro Room) (48)
Viewed
Finn Juhl Suite (55)
Viewed
Single Room Superior (Danish Retro Room) (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Twin Room (Danish Retro Room) (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question