We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Square Copenhagen

Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Hotel amenities
The Square Copenhagen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
terry m London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

1,463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    292
    672
    329
    117
    53
See reviews for
238
457
107
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1463)
  • Mar-May only
    (328)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (515)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (352)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (268)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

good location , friendly staff , very good rooms with nice beds , nearby pubs , bars and tivoli gardens and many landmarks inc CA statue and the square across the road has good pic points and transport from there to local area

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for seven nights in The Square during what was a great holiday in Copenhagen this month. The sights, food and people in Copenhagen are, in our opinion, great. However we didn't enjoy returning to The Square each day as it took the shine off our experiences, casting a shadow on our bright memories. Why? Well, our issue was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the central station (about 10 minute walk). Rooms though are very small, typically European hotels. My 2 kids were in a sofa bed which they say could be for 2 people but it is very small. It's probably only for 2 very small kids. Rooms were clean. Hotel staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LITH, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent two quick nights in this centrally located hotel. Room had a view of the alley and the back of the building next door. Check-in was extremely clumsy and time consuming. Front desk needs to smile more and be a bit more helpful. On the second day of my stay I returned to my room at 1530 and noted that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you can handle some bass coming in through the walls from the club next door, you'll love this hotel. I want to be clear: this is an excellent hotel with games, drinks and bikes available in the lobby. The elevator doors are a bit awkward but everything else feels as expected. It's just the club next door that doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a modern, clean and excellent hotel. For the price of products in Copenahgen it is value for money and affords every comfort. The beds are fantastic! best night's sleep in a long time. the breakfast is everything you need and all the staff are SO helpful. Highly recommend this for everything i've just said along with its central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Golabarry Thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Square and that you would recommend us. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our trip in Kobenhavn. When booking I had no idea where it was and if we were in a great location. But boy we sure got lucky as this hotel was perfect for our vacation! The Good: - The hotel is walking distance from Central station (Kobehavn H)!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Tom Thank you for your feedback and your comments, which are highly apreciated. I am glad that your overall experience was good, and I do apologize for the small things, which definately does not live up to our expectations to ourselves nor our guests. Thank you for your comments on the age of the hotel. We do our utmost... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room was small (generally expected in a city hotel) but very clean and had everything I needed. Very comfortable bed :-)! Great location for railway station, Tivoli gardens, supermarket, tourist information, loads of eateries, several cinemas, bus stops, shops etc. My room faced onto the inner courtyard and was very quiet. My mum's room was on the main street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for taking your time to write us your feedback of your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us, and we will definately take up to consideration to have black our curtains in the rooms. Your are indeed correct that you can wish to have a quiet room facing our courtyard. We will always do our... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel had great location, with modern look from website. In reality the location is well placed for train station, Tivoli Gardens and bars, restaurants and shopping are within 2 to 15 minute wonder depending on taste etc. But we got upgrade to 6th floor room with balcony overlooking the square, but unfortunately, as seems to be the case all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Fraser Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise from the metro construction, especially during the night, this is crutial infomation to us, and we will definately take this matter up with the construction builders . You are of course always welcome to request... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We paid $538 Australian for one night, it had a 4 star rating The room was a cupboard, with two very slim single beds jammed in a corner. Street noise was ridiculous. I rang to change but they no way!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you for taking your time to write us your feedback. I am sorry that you did not like our hotel. Our rooms are typical Scandinavian size, but we have several room categories to choose from if you wish to have a more spacious room. Thank you for your comments on the noise from the street. Unfortunately the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

730 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (87)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (47)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite Deluxe (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (39)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay