We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Copenhagen hotels

First Hotel Kong Frederik

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekends - save up to 40%
Save Saved
You added First Hotel Kong Frederik to your Saves list
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
39%
Ranked #80 of 117 hotels in Copenhagen
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
soi4 Pattaya, Thailand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (407)
  • Photos (93)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    115
    128
    69
    57
See reviews for
36
172
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

location....location...location We stayed here for 3 nights and it was most enjoyable Staff were very friendly and accommodating Room and bathroom were good size for a European Hotel - bathroom is a big issue as there are no hand rails to help you enter and exit the bathtub/shower - why is it that Europeans cannot understand that it is difficult... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

but everything else needed work. This hotel has a lobby/atrium in the middle of all the rooms, which are constructed around that space in a block. The hotel holds events in the "atrium" until 10pm, which means you get to listen to everyone else's noise while you are in your hotel room. The windows and walls are extremely thin, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Didak, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay. I know that our General Manager has been communicating with your regarding your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and our location. Regarding WiFi, there is the option to keep be signed in once logged in and to keep your own... More

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in was very efficient, the room we got was spacious but in need of a facelift. The tiles in our bathroom were broken on several places. There is no noise cancellation whatsoever in the rooms which makes it impossible to be in there if there is a dinner going on downstairs. Luckily it had ended when we got back after... More

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Chrissyoo, We appreciate your review and that you were pleased with the size of room, location, breakfast and our staff. We are sorry if you not will return to Kong Frederik because of our buildings structure, we are indeed one of the oldest heritage hotel buildings in Copenhagen – but your feedback is very important and will be in... More

Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and serviceminded staff in reception and restaurant, nice and well equipped twinroom, full danish breakfast, super central location without traffic noise. In the hottest summer days i would wish for more aircooling.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear OleJakob2014, thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik and for taken your time to share your experience. We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our services. During the heat record in Copenhagen this summer it has been a challenge to keep the building cool during the usual mild summer days in... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the First Hotel Kong Frederik in Copenhagen. This motel is centrally located right in the heart of the city and is an easy walk to the major train station and shopping areas. The motel itself is an old style european hotel and has a couple of floors. Our standard room was clean but small and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear WallyWombat1, Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik twice during your visits to Copenhagen. As you describe, the hotel is a classic hotel in a heritage building in the very heart of Copenhagen. We have several different room types, some with very large bathrooms and some with smaller. The rooms are located all over the building and... More

Littleport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a one night stay this trip. Hotel is superbly situated for attractions such as Tivoli baring right in the city centre. Design of hotel is olde world with lots of charm . Interesting internal garden area to relax in. Can feel a bit dark inside due to all the dark wood etc. rooms are not the largest but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Markthedancer, thank you for placing a review at Tripadvisor and for staying here during your visit to Copenhagen! We are happy to conclude that you liked our friendly staff, services, our charming rooms and to relax for a while in our atrium garden. We hope to see you here again! Kind regards More

Middelfart, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice Hotel , friendly staff, huge lounge with free coffee ect., nice price and right in the very center of Copenhagen. You can walk to many of the attactions you must see , when in Denmarks capital.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Ibgormp2014, Thank you for placing a review at Tripadvisor. We are happy that you felt like home and that our hotel provides value for money. We are the only hotel in Copenhagen offering complimentary soft minibar along with free coffee and tea facilities in our lobby areas. We are looking forward of welcoming you again // More

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in the middle of a heat wave. The rooms were a nice size for an older hotel and seemed well appointed. Our bathroom was clean, but old. However, the hotel has no air conditioning. One bedroom had a window opening to the interior courtyard. The other had two windows opening onto a fire escape and intimate views of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear MomWaller Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your visit this summer to Copenhagen. It’s appreciated that you liked our well appointed rooms and experienced, as expected, a well cleaned and sizeable room! We are sorry that the heat wave, with the same temperatures as in Italy, Greece and Spain, did effect your sleeping experience and... More

washington dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel earlier this year at a very busy period and the staff were nothing but friendly and accommodating. The hotel is in a charming old building just off the main square of Copenhagen. I got a lovely spacious room overlooking the street, with a big double bed and a sitting area with two armchairs. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear QMiro, thank you for your pleasant review. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, breakfast, bathrooms and atmosphere of the hotel. We are continuesly working to improve our facilities and are happy that you find our hotel in great shape. Welcome back! More

Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am sorry to say that even though the hotel is central and the hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are not 4 star simply because the bathrooms are in super bad shape! Mold, cracks and leftover I don't what. Under the sink are even worse;( Management should be ashamed of themselves and commenting that they've been working on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trine C, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear MarieAntoinette, thank you for your review and that you stayed at First Hotel Kong Frederik. It was a pleasure of speaking to you during your stay and communicate your feedback, both with myself and with our General Manager. It was a shame you didn’t like to change room as offered, but I think overall that we did a pleasant... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage First Hotel Kong Frederik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to First Hotel Kong Frederik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Copenhagen with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#35 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer