We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Kong Frederik

Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
First Hotel Kong Frederik
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location! Just walking distance to the main shopping street "Strøget", close to the Tivoli, bus station etc.. The hotel is elegant, but it needs some renovation. I upgraded to a Delxue room, but the room was still very very small, and the bathrooms are old. But all in all, the stay was acceptable. The breakfast is very small, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank AprilGil
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear AprilGil, Thank you very much for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik upon your recent visit to Copenhagen. We appreciate that you have taken your time to review your stay. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our location. All our rooms have different layout and styles, with respect for our heritage building. We hope we will... More 

Malmö
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location was perfect but the room standard was poor. Minute bath instead of just shower was weird as bathroom was so small. If elderly couple it wouldbe impossible to use. Very poor ventliation. Noise between floors/rooms travelled easy and disturbed sleep.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 330ing330
GM_FHKF, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear 330ing330, Thank you for taking your time to post a review of our hotel here at Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you did enjoyed our location. However, I do apologize if you was disturbed by other travellers and felt our ventilation was poor. I would be very happy if you could contact me with more details so... More 

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice room, sizable and very light at top floor. Nice Italian style restaurant at ground floor, includinga little bar to hand out in with antipasto and noce wines. Good service in the bar. Good location close to everytning. Some traffic noise. Extra charge for a late check out.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Johan B
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Johan B, I am pleased ot see that you had an enjoyable stay at First Hotel Kong Frederik and thank you for sharing your experience. We are looking forward of seeing you here again, Kind regards Your Kong Frederik Team Henric Carlsson, General Manager More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in one of the suites and had a great time there. The terrace outside was great too - but the weather was not a sort that would make us use it. We had ordered excellent rooms for our sons. They were great too, but they said they heared sounds and speaches from the neighbour room very clearly. It... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank HaukenM
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear HaukenM, Thank you for sharing your experience here at Tripadvisor, and of staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your recent visit to Copenhagen. It is great to see that you did had a great time! The en-suite room comes with a locked connecting door, perfect for families, and we would have this door inspected to ensure a better... More 

Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only downside is parking. If you can do it in five minutes, like stated in the website you be in the Olympics... Other than that it is a fantastic hotel in the middle of Cph. with excellent and service minded staff and the rooms are small but well equiped, elegant and cosey.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank firstmemberplatinum
GM_FHKF, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Firstmemberplatinum, Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your recent visit to Copenhagen and for posting a review here at Tripadvisor. I am very happy to see that you had a fantastic stay and liked our atmosphere and service by our staff members. We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you here again and... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location, acceptable hotel. It's not perfect but it's ok. The bathroom has a step up which is odd and a trip hazard. The bed has two single duvets on it. Terrible!! The hair dryer didn't work.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rstde
GM_FHKF, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Rstde, Thank you for sharing your experience here at Tripadvisor and for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. I am happy to see you liked our location and had an overall pleasant stay. I do apologize that the hair dryer was not working properly and as well that you did not like single duvet setup, that is the standard... More 

Malmo, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located near Radhudpladsen. Older building with atmosphere. Room was small and faced the glassed-in courtyard which meant you had to close all curtains if you didn't want to be scrutinized by other guests in the rooms across. Also all noise from downstairs echoed and was magnified so the noiselevel in the room was quite high. Stuff was broken in... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank elisabethh119
GM_FHKF, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Elisabethh119, Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your visit to Copenhagen and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you experienced comfy beds and liked our location and atmosphere. I see there was room for improvement of your bedroom and I appreciate your comments and would working to ensure a... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing, had the best night in this Hotel and woke up prior to the alarm. The interior is just a mix of classic traditional Scandinavian and modern Architecture. The Service is average due to the Students at the Service desk, but still a trip worth. Totally central and every sport very close to reach Tivoli, Christiania, Central... More 

Helpful?
Thank ITCPU
GM_FHKF, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear ITCPU, we are very pleased to see that you had the best night ever at our hotel and you find our interior amazing and as well our location. We are co-operating with the Hospitality College of Copenhagen and have a interns just started here in January. I am sorry if you find the service from them average and I... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nicely located hotel, friendly staff. Breakfast buffet could have some more variation. Bathroom had some small errors. Beds are great! Nice meeting rooms. Complementary mini bar with water (still and sparkling) and orange drink is great

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ronaldj55
Hinnerup, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is good, friendly service prime location (apart from trafik noise if you're facing the street. I stay here quite often. However, the Italian restaurant (which I suspect is good), is also used to serve one of the most miserable Continental breakfasts you'll find anywhere, with Runny bacon semi hot sausages and the works. It seems Strange to have... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 735runew
GM_FHKF, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear 735runew we appreciate to be your home - away from home - and of sharing your opinion about our hotel. I am very happy to see you take benefits of our services, location and facilities. As you know, the breakfast room is operated by our partner CoFoCo and I have shared your comments and feedback with them to ensure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#51 of 117 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#39 of 117 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#17 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighborhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay