We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Kong Frederik

Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    94
    60
    36
    29
See reviews for
40
113
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had two rooms for 5 nights at the Kong Frederik in June 2015. It is an historic building so it's a little creaky, but our room was large enough and comfortable. The bathroom was good sized and modern, the beds comfortable. The daily cleaning service was OK, but not very thorough. Our rooms were on the interior with windows opening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I never saw something so small ...but it's a good location :) . Elevator was confusing ..it's a big deal to reach 3rd floor . Staff was helpful , nice and friendly . Great breakfast ...one of the best in Europe .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are pleased you chose First Hotel Kong Frederik at your recent visit to Copenhagen – Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guest survey. We have many room types with different size, view, decorations and more. On our webpage you find pictures of the rooms and descriptions. We are pleased to hear you... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

No doubt this is a remodeled very historic hotel. No modern amenities but clean rooms and all you need for a great place to crash in the heart of Copenhagen. Close to public transportation (along the 5A bus and walking distance to the central station and Norrport Station) and in the heart of central Copenhagen near the walking streets that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Matt. Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor - Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. I am truly happy to read about your recent visit – It is a pleasure to understand that you enjoyed it. I am sorry to learn that you were not informed about our modern nepresso machines... More 

Coulsdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good location but I thought the reception and lounge dark. We had difficulty operating the lift because we couldn't see the tiny arrow on the key cards. I agree with other reviews stating how noisy the bedrooms were because of the atrium. The worst thing was no cups for the 'unlimited' coffee / tea and no kettle in the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne G, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. We could not agree with you more about our lovely location in the heart of Copenhagen. We are sorry to hear that you had some difficulties during your recent visit. Thank you for drawing to our attention you had a hard time reading the arrow on your key card.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sited next to city centre close to shops and restaurants this hotel is in need of a refit although comfortable the rooms have bits missing from walls etc. however the staff a fabulous and make the stay enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik – we would like to thank you for placing a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. We could not agree with you more about our amazing location in the heart of Copenhagen. I am concerned to hear about the room you stayed in,... More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WiFi is terrible, I had work to do during the afternoons and couldn't do any work from the hotel. The hotel staff just shrug their shoulders to my complaints. The bathroom had dirty tiles in the shower that were never cleaned by the staff.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. We are pleased to inform you that we are currently upgrading our WIFI connection we have unfortunately been experiencing some difficulties with it lately but are happy to inform the issue is located. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and we hope you approached our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights, room was noisy next to ventilation system, despite paying more for a bigger room, noisy. Room was a good size but dated would say 2* no more. Cleaner needs to know how to clean, didn't replace bath mat when taken away or dirty glasses that were there duration of our stay. Hotel staff and breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Sabrina. Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik – thank you also for taking the time to place a review of your recent visit on TripAdvisor. We are very surprised to read your review. Thank you for bringing to our attention about the cleaning in your room. Our hotel is located on 2 buildings with rooms located... More 

sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was a little nervous booking here as I usually book with large chains but was pleasantly surprised. This hotel has history but has been warmly renovated to include modern conveniences without losing it's charm. It has inviting sitting nooks with cosy chairs and free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and mini bar (non alcoholic drinks). Rooms are clean and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik – thank you also for taking the time to place a review of your recent visit on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure reading your review. We are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and experienced the well renowned atmosphere our historical hotel hosts. We do hope we may... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good Location and staff I like the hotel and recommend it ok Good Location and staff I like the hotel and recommend it ok Good Location and staff I like the hotel and recommend it ok Good Location and staff I like the hotel and recommend it ok

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik at your recent visit to Copenhagen. We are pleased to understand you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front Office Manager More 

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on a Disney Cruise that departed out of Copenhagen. Stayed a couple nights at the First Hotel Kong Frederik prior to embarking on the cruise. The hotel has a great location, an easy walk to Tivoli, which the kids loved. The hotel itself is older, but in great shape and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. I was with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Wordman113, First of all - thank you very much for taking your time to post a review after your recent visit to Copenhagen, ready to board the cruise line for a great time in Scandinavia. I am very happy to see that you did have a pleasant stay and enjoyed our comfy beds, location and find us in a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay