We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Astoria

Banegaardspladsen 4, Copenhagen 1570, Denmark (Formerly Astoria Hotel - Copenhagen)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Astoria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
tracy c
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    65
    63
    50
    51
See reviews for
20
74
43
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel Astoria is a property in need of a complete make-over with regards to rooms and décor. With this said, although I have stayed in properties which have rated 5 Stars or better, I have never experienced such an attentive and caring staff as the staff encountered at Hotel Astoria. My first night there, I observed a homeless man ring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This place was great because it was located right in the Tivoli area and more importantly, right next to the Kobenhavn train stop. This made everything we wanted to do/see in Copenhagen extremely convenient. The bed was pretty comfy, and we had wifi in our room and in the lobby. The room was clean. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the Astoria last year with my son for a short break, selection was based on its central location, my first review was less than complimentary. However I had the opportunity at the last minute to go back to Copenhagen with the family and did not have time to check around so we ended up booking at the Astoria... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear dave s, Thank you for your review and for giving us an extra chance. I am more than pleased that you enjoed your stay at Hotel Astoria and I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again. Kind regards, Nadia Wilk More 

Yokohama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

First of all, the good points of this place are its very convenient location right next to Central Station. It is also reasonably priced. The lobby area is pleasant and the staff at reception are very nice. Not so great is the fact that the rooms are fairly basic, and the location, while convenient, can be noisy as the drunks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear tpdv21 Thank you for your review. I apologize for your unpleasant experience during your stay.Our housekeeping knows clearly which rooms are avaiable for cleaning. 'The knocking procedure' is for make sure if our staying guests are in the room or not. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience. As the hotel is located centrally next to the central station... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

An old small and cheap hotel 50 meters from the main train station (København H) made it the perfect spot for my 3 days of work in Copenhagen - using public transportation in the daytime. Agee with others users that the rooms could need a brush-up. But I only used the room for sleeping and did´t find that a major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Bwh71 Thank for staying with us and for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Astoria. Please contact us directly next time (astoria@hotelastoria.dk) to book one of our new renovated rooms. Best regards from Copenhagen, Nadia Wilk More 

Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
10 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

Although the reception area of the hotel is modern, looks new and sells drinks 24/7, it's such a pity that the rooms are a world apart. Our room was tiny, with old wooden furniture, an uncomfortable bed and smelly bathroom. To top it off, our lock was temperamental and the key got jammed in the lock - we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear AlBea2014, Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your unpleasant experience at Hotel Astoria. I agree that standard of some rooms is not good. We are on it and we do offer an upgrade to our new renovated rooms for an extra charge upon arrival. Our WiFi works well but last Saturday our provider, Swiss.com had some... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Avoid! I booked two nights in a single room for 160 Euro! The hotel is old, i think it was built in the 1930s. It must have been a nice hotel back then. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small and dirty: stains on the carpet, dirty walls, mould in the bathroom. There was no remote for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Istvan_Dublin Thank you for your feedback. First of all I would like to apologize for your poor experience at Hotel Astoria. When Brøchner Hotels took over Hotel Astoria for one year ago, we were aware of the weakness and a low standard of the hotel. However, Hotel Astoria has a potential. The hotel from 30ies and the building was... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

The rooms in this hotel are very basic which is all you need if you are just using the room for sleeping, wires could be hidden or tidied in the room, it would make the room look more modern. People complaining about the train noises are right but what do you expect when the hotel is situated next door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Amy95x Thank you for the review. Hotel Astoria is from 30ies and we are aware that the interior seems to be basic and not modern. The hotel is under the renovation but we already have 34 rooms in new condition. However, we are going to continue the refurbishment and keep the old school design with new furniture. The rate... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I booked this hotel because of the location opposite the train station. The property is a beautiful historic building which seems to need a total renovation. The carpets and furniture seem to need replacement 20 years ago. The renovation is underway but it seems nobody has an idea when it will be completed. Terrible single L shaped room which made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie S, Thank you for your feedback. Hotel Astoria is under the renovation since October 2014. The windows and the elevation have already been renovated. We do offer 34 rooms with new interior in old fashioned design to bring the classy and old style of the hotel back to the 30ies. The rate for new rooms is 200 kroner... More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My partner and I rented a private room at Hotel Astoria. The beds were so comfy. This hotel had many younger travellers, but the atmosphere was great. Hotel satffs were very attentive and so funny. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear vangbong1tamhon_00 Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Astoria. That is so great that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope to meet you again shortly. Best wishes, Nadia Wilk More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question