We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Danmark

Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Danmark
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Danmark
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    76
    58
    31
    25
See reviews for
30
84
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

True we may have been jet lagged but I honestly don't remember having a better sleep than I did for the two nights we spent at the hotel Danmark. (and I'm a light sleeper) The beds were extremely comfy and the down duvets were so cozy, we were able to snooze with the window open while we drifted off to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I loved this place. It is central, seriously cheap, and has free take away coffe in the mornings and free "wine hour" every day from five to six. It is not fancy or newly renovated!! It IS a bit shabby. But the room we got was spacious and light and clean enough. Copenhagen is expensive and I have not stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericia, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older hotel close to the main square (100m). Not for disabled persons. Good breakfast and friendly and helpfull staff. Rooms different in size. Close to attractions, Tivoli, National Museum and Parliament.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in the hotel recently for 5 days from the 12th to 17th of March and was in room 201. pros: Fantastic breakfast and really good coffee LOcation is perfect as its in central copenhagen and near where I need to be Staff are very friendly and accommodating ;) CONS: 1. Loud late night partying just below the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Dear ize091389 Thank you for staying at Hotel Danmark and for the review. I am sorry for inconveniences. We are aware of the weaknesses the hotel have and considering a renovation in the future. There is not much to do about the noise, Hotel Danmark is located in the heart of Copenhagen and people are enjoying time outside, especially during... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from our amazing trip to Copenhagen. We stayed with The Danmark and although we read some mixed reviews before we arrived, we found that we were nicely surprised. Here are the good points : *Friendly staff ( Although unfortunately not many of them but when they were on their own they coped with calm and professional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia W, Front Desk at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Dear katekinsella84 Thank you for your review and for staying at Hotel Danmark. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the weaknesses the hotel have and already have plans for renovation in the future. I hope that you had a opportunity to enjoy our free wine hour. If not, you may definitely try it next... More 

Cromarty, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

My mother and I booked this hotel at the last minute as our planned accommodation fell through. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival. There is a lift to take you up to the rooms. We staying in a twin room at the front of the hotel. The room wasn't huge but perfectly fine, we weren't planning to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I booked a room in October 2014 for June 2015 at the non cancelable rate. I let them know in December that we learned we are becoming grandparents and will not be traveling. They did not budge- I made a choice and they write it in stone. No money back. No partial money back. No future use of the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your email. When booking a non refundable booking, the conditions clearly states that the booking is prepaid and cannot be cancelled nor refunded. We like to honor the conditions of our bookings, as we do not wish to make exceptions as this is not fair against our other guests who have payed the extra amount to... More 

Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Firstly, I hadn't read up on many reviews of this hotel to begin with. Almost all hotels have some bad reviews, so I probably would have chosen this one even if I had read the reviews in here. I was on a business trip and my place of interest was 200 meters away - and it came recommended by locals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. The carpets in the hallway is quite worn, and we are waiting for the new carpets to arrive. Unfortunately all we can do is wait for them to arrive so we can update our hallways. I can see that a range of unfortunates have made your stay quite unsatisfying. I am very... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

As other viewers have said, the hotel is well located and achieves a high standard, The breakfasts were particularly good. However, although I had booked and paid for a room and breakfast ahead, on arrival the hotel refused to accept the voucher that I presented to it. The hotel insisted upon my paying it directly before allowing me access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback and also for staying with us. I would like to explain you this situation. It is a special case with your travel agency which receives payment from the guests, but chooses not to pay the hotels that the guests are supposed to stay in and have payed for. I am very sorry that you... More 

Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The hotel is located few minutes walk to train station, the center and the Tivoli. Our room was not so big but clean and comfortable, enough when you need to relax. We got a room at the 5th floor we had no problems or noise. The staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating. We recommend this hotel for a short vacation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We love to get feedback on our guest's stays. It is a great way to find out how to become better, and what we actually do good. We have different sizes of rooms so it is always possible to upgrade to a larger room size. We especially recommend this for longer stays. Have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question