We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Middelfart hotels

Hindsgavl Slot

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")
Hotel amenities
Hindsgavl Slot
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hindsgavl Slot to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Middelfart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kkristen70 Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
61
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Placed on Fyn close to the high-way with easy access. Placed absolutely stunningly close to the see. Interior and exterior brilliantly manicured. Food and room experience top-class. A real get-away-for-a-weekend to enjoy with close friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much - we hope to see you again another time. Merry Christmas HIndsgavl Slot More 

Torhout, Belgium
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Have been sleeping there for the first time during a business trip. The setting is very unique and has quite some history behind it. The building is very nice with amazing spaces (for the breakbast, meeting rooms, ...). The food in the restaurant is of a very good quality. Not cheap but you are in the Nordic region... The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Davy Thank you for your respons. We hope to see you again - then you can try one of the modern rooms. Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I don't want to be unfair to this hotel because I arrived after dinner and left after breakfast. Unfair, because I was on a business trip and I had had a single room booked for me. It was small and spartan and shared by a rather large (and gentle) spider. The TV was small, and the bed was also small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your rewiev. Next time we will find you a bigger room. :) Kind regards HIndsgavl SLot More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

It is an old historic place. The current building is a "manor". The place reeks of history. Located exceptionally beautiful., Enjoy the beautiful garden and wildlife, where there are many deer. Enjoy the beautiful garden and wildlife, where there are many deer. Decor is not much solts like. It's more of a modern hotel. The staff is friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your rewiev. You are velcome another time. Have a nice day. Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and it was interesting. The food was a hit and miss - some breakfasts and lunches were great. Dinners would vary. The grounds are beautiful. There is a lot of opportunities for walking, exploring, visiting and swimming in the lake and extensive trails. I rented a bike twice and explored the local town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Marvin Thank you for your comment! We hope you will visit us another time. Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We made a splendid bicycle tour in the natural reserve. And we hoped to enjoy a nice lunch. However it probably was the worst lunch experience I ever had for a comparative price: - the salad was drawn in mayonnaise and so was the fake chicken. - our hungry children did not end their so-called french fries (half oil-juicy brown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Sir We are sorry that you had a bad experience in the restaurant. We will inform the head chef and make sure it will not happen again. Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We needed a place to stay during our trip through Denmark - one important criterion was the possibillity to bring along our dog.. This was no problem and they welcomed us warmly! We stayed in the "pig-stye" and got a spacious room with a dogs bowl as well :-) The room had a cool Danish contemporary design. The hotel/Castle itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Anders Thank you for your comment. We hope you will return another time and we will make sure that the coffee maschine is working :) Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's a very remarkable place and wonderful memories will stay for a long time! After arrival we had a drink on a terrace behind this castle with a beautiful view on a lake and green field. Staff was very attentive and we did not have to wait for our drinks. 4-course dinner was served with a top selection of 6... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear Olga Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. You are welcome any time! Kin regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel grounds are simply beautiful with many gorgeous walks right from the property (these are of-course accessible also to non-guests). Service is rather poor with curt response from reception and chilly response from waiters especially at breakfast- which is fairly poor compared with similar hotels - they almost expel you if you stay 1 minute after b-fast end time and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear 'Flywith' We are very sorry to hear your comment. Especially because it is not the same as our perception of the situation. We always get positive comments regarding our service. We do not 'expel' our guests by breakfast even though it's 10 o'clock, and we do not charge for 'taking 1 apple' - But we do charge for lunchpackets... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Amazing old castle. Renovated barns are outstanding. Food is fabulous. Conference facilities are generally good. Rooms in the renovated barns are absolutely excellent. However, the old rooms on the lower floors in the main buildings are worn - try to avoid these when you book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review

Dear 'RejseReview' Thank you for your comment. We are sorry regarding the room. We hope you'll return another time. Maybe you should try our new and modern rooms instead. Kind regards Hindsgavl Slot More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hindsgavl Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindsgavl Slot

Address: Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Middelfart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hindsgavl Slot 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hindsgavl Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay