We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Thessaloniki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8 Monastiriou Street, Thessaloniki 54629, Greece (Formerly Capitol Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Share an Experience

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
13
60
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Bristol
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed 1 night as part of a pilgrimage to Greece. 1 night was enough, plated meal was tasty and the stay was acceptable. Not the best advertisement for the rIHG Group but it served its purpose. Dinner, bed and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in thessaloniki for one night with my boyfriend and we decided to stay at holiday inn, to give ourselves a treat because it was our anniversary. The truth is that I was a bit disappointed. Everything was fine, but it was not what we expected! The furniture was old fashioned, in the bathroom there were many rusty parts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Boolitsa89, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our attentive service. However, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please note that your comments about the carpet have been already forwarded to the housekeeping department. Your feedback will be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
102 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I have stayed here before and I liked it. This time despite my IHG membership I had a decidedly average room. The bed was a double (thank god) and was comfortable. Bathroom had the smallest bath known to the human race. The check in staff where helpful and I enjoyed my restaurant meal - very attentive staff but I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

The last day of 2014 and the 1st of 2015.... We expected to be more interesting in a "HOLIDAY INN" hotel... Our room was clean but also not so careful maintenance I you could say... The shower rain was full of salt and felt dirty... THE BREAKFAST: Variety-ok, no clean table to eat your 1st breakfast in 2015!!! Not enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Stavri S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less satisfactory than you expected. Please note that we have already forwarded your comments to the hotel's management, in order to be checked and the necessary actions to be taken. Your feedback is important, as... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We stayed for more than 18 days so I know what I am talking about here. It was the best choice in a prime location 10 min walk from Thessaloniki sea side/ port, the night life in ladadika, and shopping at ignatia , Ermou and tsiminiski streets. Buffet breakfast was the best in variety and class. Take a room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Egadiri e, We would like to thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure to hear that your long stay in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki was the best choice for you. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, our plentiful buffet breakfast, your room and its amenities. We always strive to offer the ideal... More 

Vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Although the staff was competent and friendly during my whole stay it is the little things that makes a stay here only average. The rooms and especially bathrooms are small, I had a room with a Queen size bed and there was not much space to walk past the bed to the door or window. The bathtub which doubled as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Stefan L, Thank you for writing us your comments about your recent stay in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki. I am delighted to hear that you feel you received a friendly and attentive service from our staff, as well as that you enjoyed our rich buffet breakfast. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding your room. Your comment... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Rooms, breakfast amd service quality was below average. It should be considered as an two star hotel only. Room was small, shower, carpet and curtains were dirty. Lifts were only for 3 persons maximum. We found breakfast and general service standard as poor

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Cosmonautie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that your accommodation was not satisfactory. We would like to have more details about your stay, so we kindly ask you to send us an e-mail to sales@hithessaloniki.gr. We are proud of our hotel services and we always strive to deliver guest... More 

Tirana, Albania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The staff was great and friendly , the rooms were excellent , filled with all the things a person can request or need. The breakfast was delicious and rich and Wifi was available everywhere. Not far from airport and almost downtown :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear SirjaSt, Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us during your visit in our city. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that your overall experience was satisfactory. Your feedback is essential and enable us to check our performance and guest satisfaction, which is our main concern. Thank you once... More 

Savyon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel: 1. A very narrow room with a non functioning air condition system. 2. A tiny bathroom with bath towels long due to be retired. 3. A simple breakfast with cold eggs, bad cheeses and even undefined "orange juice". 4. Dark hotel corridors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, Thank you for taking the time to write us review. I am sorry to hear that our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its services and quality and your comments are troubling and surely will be looked into. Kindly note that we have already forwarded your comments to the hotel's management, in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The reception staff were the highlight of the hotel - extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is not in the best part of the city - quite a rundown area. It is about a 15 min walk to the seafront. Our hotel room was large but the bathroom was very small. Bed comfortable with decent linen and towels. Air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Colin10779, Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, regarding your recent stay in our city and for taking the time to leave us your review. We are glad to hear that your feel you recieved great service from our staff. We' ve noticed your comments about internet, and I would like to mention that HSIA was recently... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question