We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Thessaloniki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8 Monastiriou Street, Thessaloniki 54629, Greece (Formerly Capitol Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
14
62
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were nicely laid out, everything was spotless and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very quite, the beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. It is located just west of the downtown core of Thessaloniki but still withing walking distance or a few euro dollars cab ride if you don't feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear SeaBreeze777, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again! Yours Sincerely, Christina Manolopoulou Sales & Marketing Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was a four-day-holiday in Turkey, we 3 families took am organized tour to Greece, FYROM, Bulgaria by bus. First stop wad Thessalinikos. We stayed at Holiday inn Thessalinicos. It was a very nice hotel, very convenient location. Four star hotel but five star breakfast. We enjoyed very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Semih Y, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Yours Sincerely, Christina Manolopoulou Sales & Marketing Manager More 

Athens
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needs urgent renovation, bathroom is old and smelly, the wall to wall carpet is dirty and very old. Single glazing balcony doors, noise from the street. The restaurant food was terrible and expensive. The hotel parking was 10 euros per day. The free wi-fi a joke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Yiannis B, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet expectations. Following your comments about the windows, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our rooms are equipped with double glazed windows, and they are soundproofed. We are proud of our hotel services and products, so your feedback... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We stayed two nights over the weekend and had a very good experience. Our check in was very efficient and we were quickly on the way up to our upgraded room (Jr Suite). The room was spacious and offered everything we needed for our time there. We had a car and used the garage (10 Euro per day) that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear TravelnurseUSA, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel! Yours Sincerely, Christina Manolopoulou Sales & Marketing Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I have been to Holiday inn's but this is good. The hotel was nice and classy for a business or leisure traveler. I had a nice time. Internet in the room, spacious rooms and very hospitable staff. A lot of Greeks have not very nice English but at least this hotel they could all speak good English. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear AbanaKE Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Yours Sincerely, Christina Manolopoulou Sales & Marketing Manager More 

Bristol
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 1 night as part of a pilgrimage to Greece. 1 night was enough, plated meal was tasty and the stay was acceptable. Not the best advertisement for the rIHG Group but it served its purpose. Dinner, bed and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear DavidFBristol, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and our hotel's convenient location. We are focused to deliver the ideal accommodation in every guest and your feedback is always taken under consideration. We hope you will visit us again. Yours Sincerely,... More 

Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in thessaloniki for one night with my boyfriend and we decided to stay at holiday inn, to give ourselves a treat because it was our anniversary. The truth is that I was a bit disappointed. Everything was fine, but it was not what we expected! The furniture was old fashioned, in the bathroom there were many rusty parts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Boolitsa89, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our attentive service. However, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please note that your comments about the carpet have been already forwarded to the housekeeping department. Your feedback will be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
109 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I have stayed here before and I liked it. This time despite my IHG membership I had a decidedly average room. The bed was a double (thank god) and was comfortable. Bathroom had the smallest bath known to the human race. The check in staff where helpful and I enjoyed my restaurant meal - very attentive staff but I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

The last day of 2014 and the 1st of 2015.... We expected to be more interesting in a "HOLIDAY INN" hotel... Our room was clean but also not so careful maintenance I you could say... The shower rain was full of salt and felt dirty... THE BREAKFAST: Variety-ok, no clean table to eat your 1st breakfast in 2015!!! Not enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Stavri S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less satisfactory than you expected. Please note that we have already forwarded your comments to the hotel's management, in order to be checked and the necessary actions to be taken. Your feedback is important, as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thessaloniki hotels

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We stayed for more than 18 days so I know what I am talking about here. It was the best choice in a prime location 10 min walk from Thessaloniki sea side/ port, the night life in ladadika, and shopping at ignatia , Ermou and tsiminiski streets. Buffet breakfast was the best in variety and class. Take a room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this review

Dear Egadiri e, We would like to thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure to hear that your long stay in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki was the best choice for you. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, our plentiful buffet breakfast, your room and its amenities. We always strive to offer the ideal... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay