We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Jolly Harbour hotels

Sugar Ridge

4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sugar Ridge to your Saves list
Sugar Ridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012
Sandie D Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (518)
  • Photos (480)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (206)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    162
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
32
384
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sugar Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Overpriced, purporting to offer a level of service which did not meet our expectations. We are not difficult to please, however do expect to be treated with respect and to have staff listen to and make some effort to make our stay enjoyable. I was celebrating my 50th birthday during our stay so we decided to eat at Carmichaels which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Halifax. NS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Sugar Ridge. We were on the East side of the Island for our first part of our stay, and I must say, coming to the southwest side of Antigua was a wonderful change (must less wind!) We arrived early afternoon, and had a fast and speedy check-in. The lady at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have to say - I'm somewhat confused by some of the comments below about the hotel and the service. I actually wonder if these people came to the same hotel as me! We've just returned from a 12 night stay at Sugar Ridge and had a truly wonderful time. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon. We were pretty disappointed overall. We did the all-inclusive because we saw reviews that everything was so good. It definitely was not worth it. The breakfasts were decent, but they don't change the menu and there is only one place for breakfast, so after a few days it gets boring. Lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keith2409_12, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you feel our All Inclusive meal plan was not value for money. The breakfast menu does not change, however, it does comprise an extensive a la carte menu giving what most guests consider a very wide choice, and having one restaurant for breakfast is typical of very many hotels. Carmichael’s menu does as you... More

New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Sugar Ridge's grounds and aesthetics are spectacular. Very chic and clean design. Rooms are comfortable, great views, and housekeeping was always at your service. Large and well equipped fitness facility. The hotel lacks nightly entertainment and activities. Food quality is poor and restaurants do not carry any whole fruits/veggies. At breakfast a lot of the stuff tasted like it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
keith2409_12, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

I was very pleased to read that you liked the chic design and spectacular setting of Sugar Ridge. Our Entertainment schedule includes live entertainment 4 and sometimes 5 nights each week which varies from DJ to pianist, I’m sorry to read you didn’t enjoy any of them . Everything that we serve for breakfast is freshly prepared each day; however... More

Norwich UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

It is interesting how reviews vary....we stayed at Sugar Ridge for 7 nights 3 weeks ago and had an excellent holiday. If I had to choose the most striking aspect I would say the caring, attentive staff quickly followed by the amazing views especially at sunset.There is indeed a road near the hotel but it honestly did not bother us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked this through a regular agent who previously has always got it so right... We did 2 night here before we had to checkout. The rooms are very average, food is also average. Football games playing loudly on the tvs in the restaurant?! Not what you'd expect from this sort of hotel. It really is a concrete jungle. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
keith2409_12, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

It is almost one year since you stayed with us and after such a lapse of time it is not possible to identify your booking and give a constructive response. We are sorry you did not like Sugar Ridge and feel sure had you stayed longer that you would have developed a very different point of view. More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel with just 60 rooms, each clustered in villas of 4 (2 upper/2 lower) on the hillside. Each room has a generous size terrace with a 2 person chaise, 2 chairs/table and on the lower villa unit your own plunge pool. We absolutely loved the plunge pool and used it almost every day.The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keith2409_12, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sending in your very informative review. We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I noted your comments concerning the All Inclusive meal plan and I think it is worth taking the opportunity to clarify to readers that there are no supplements on any of the Sugar Club menus... More

Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Antigua and stayed at Sugar Ridge last month. My husband and I upgraded to room 59. We LOVED this room. It had the best views of the harbour and the ocean. We were very pleased with this hotel and the service was great. The shuttle service was great as well. We never had any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved the Sugar Ridge and highly recommend it. Lovely grounds, amazing view, generally good service, great breakfast, wonderful pool setting, Had a few minor issues: 1) Some noise from the nearby main road which was unexpected, Also noise from a bar nearby; a jacuzzi that was on automatic so we heard gurgling noise in our room upstairs; and noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sugar Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

480 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (471)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (110)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer