We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Hotel des Colonies

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel des Colonies to your Saves list
Hotel des Colonies
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
52%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Tillydog7 Rathgar, Dublin
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    78
    79
    28
    10
See reviews for
21
45
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rathgar, Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very basic. The rooms are not small (we had two separate rooms) and the beds were clean and comfortable. One small bar of soap and an all purpose shower cream. Towels small. The breakfast is 15 Euro. We had it one morning and it was awful. Cold scrambled eggs and cheap processed meat slices and processed cheese.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would first of all like to thank you for staying at the Hôtel des Colonies, and we are glad you could appreciate the bedding and room layout. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast, as we try to offer the most varied dishes to please as many guests as possible. You comment... More

taunton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel whilst on city break rooms where spacious and bed was realy comfy would of been handy to have a english channel on tv but no big issue good value hotel would recomend for short break

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the room’s layout and apologize for the inconvenience of having too few English-speaking channels on the TV. We hope you could visit Brussels and hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Victor Camhis, General Manager. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

please stay elsewhere we stayed here for a few nights and at the end of our stay I was jealous of the homeless people staff grunt at you if you complain carpets are just dirty don't walk in barefoot wallpaper black in parts sockets are suspect if you can find one doors slam unnecessary breakfast is way to dear you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My team and I would like to apologize for the stay you had with us, and we hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that what you experienced is far from the high quality service we are able to offer. I remain at your full disposal, should you have any other comments you... More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is located very closely to Gareth du Nord, but if you're coming from Gare du Midi (eg from the Eurostar) then it's a very easy Metro ride to Rogier. It's a bit difficult to find from the station, but once you get your head around how the street names work and get a decent map, you'll be fine!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us an in-depth review of your stay with us. It is a real pleasure for us to read such comments, and we are glad you could enjoy the experience. We are sorry to hear that there were not enough English-speaking channels for you to enjoy, we will do our best... More

Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here one night only for business. the hotel is very centrally located near Gare du Nord but its location near the red light district accounts for the layers of security e.g. you need your key to get out of the elevator and onto your floor. the entrance is quite impressive with the big gold bull/cow. We couldn't decide the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear guest, We really would like to thank you for giving us a very detailed and precise feedback about your stay at Hotel des Colonies. We are sorry to hear about such experience with a taxi in Brussels as it should never happen to our guests, especially when the taxi is called by our hotel. We shall review our contacts... More

Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very old-fashioned entrance, lobby and reception. Friendly staff at the reception, otherwise very hard to find other staff, even in the bar, entrance, floors, .... Safe but cool security system to enter every door, elevator, floor, room by keycard. High ceiling rooms with TV and clean bathroom with bathtub. No safety box, no fridge, but free Wifi. Rather cheap and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Pilithai, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your stay at the Hotel des Colonies. Regarding the staff presence, they are at the guest’s disposition and always ready to answer any of your questions. A safety box is available at the guest’s request at the reception... More

Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The place of the hotel is very good just surrounded by 5 star hotels in the business area (near to European Covent Garden). The hotel is secure. There is no hairdryer or any wardrope in the rooms. The one bed rooms are to small. I wouldn't prefer even I stay alone.. But double rooms are ok. The bathroom might be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Gulsenist, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you say, the hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city, at walking distance from the Grand Place and Rue Neuve, one of the major commercial street in Brussels. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness was... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night in June 2014.The customer service was very good - they were very friendly, I was allowed to check in early and once I had checked out they kept my suitcase behind reception for me while I explored the city before my train. Good location. 5 minutes from Gare du Nord, about a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear theonlytrueblonde, We would like to thank you for all those positive comments, it is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to see that the staff attitude was as you were expecting, whenever you have a request the reception will always be helping you as far as they can (special request,... More

Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel one night in May 2014. It is nice and clean hotel, walking distance from Brussels Nord and shopping area. Problems with wi-fi in room and in lobby, no coffeemakers in room. Good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear mimax2, First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and comments about Hotel des Colonies. The hotel is, as you mentioned, close to the train station, the city center and is located near square Rogier, where you can catch bus, metros, taxis… The breakfast is served as a buffet with a wide variety of bread,... More

Sliema, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is extremely central. The room for 3 was very well sized. We also had a big bathroom. We opted not to book breakfast as one of us was a Coeliac and from talking on the phone there was hardly any knowledge of Gluten free products. Other than this I will use this hotel again as its also walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Christian140857, First of all I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the size of your room and its equipment. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect, close to the center, shops and restaurants and with all the public transportation (metro,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel des Colonies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode with
any amenities