We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Hotel des Colonies

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Hotel des Colonies
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel des Colonies to your Saves list
52%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Memo F
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    82
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
49
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
norfolk, england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in August as part of a coach party and as the trip was inexpensive, I guess you get what you pay for. The entrance is interesting with some lovely original features showing the age and history of the building. However, the reception staff left a lot to be desired. Hospitality is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I went to Brussels for two days and we Found this hotel Which is conveniently located, 3 minutes of the Subway, 5 minutes of the train station and 15 minutes of the down town of brussles (walking). The room was small, but clean, The Recepcionist was kind and speaks differents language. One more thing that I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location: although the main entrance is a bit hard to find, the location is great for business travels (but have in mind that you have a handful of bigger, name-brand hotels around). Very close to Gare du Nord, so getting there from the airport is easy, there is a subway station across the street and it is 2 stops to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in a perfect location right next to the Brussels Nord Train Station, Taxi lineup across the street and bus route was very close. We walked to Brussels Center in about 15 minutes. One thing that caught us off guard was they offered a continental breakfast which we ate each day. Just gave them the room number. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bear in mid that you probably book this for the price compared with others in the same location. A fair standard and reasonably clean. The overall look is dark and majestically shabby but no real complaints. We did not take breakfast as very easy to get a croissant and coffee anywhere within easy walking distance; 15 euros seems a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all the 'welcome' at the frontdesk was not welcome at all. Very unfriendly staff, even a simple good afternoon was too much asked. They also pre-charged my credit card for the full stay. This is pretty unusual as you would expect them to just book a reservation on the card and only produce the full charge at check-out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you had such a negative experience with us and we will do all that we can to make sure this kind of incident does not happen again. I have forwarded your comment to the persons in charge and we would like to apologise for the inconvenience. We are surprised to learn that your... More

Rathgar, Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel is very basic. The rooms are not small (we had two separate rooms) and the beds were clean and comfortable. One small bar of soap and an all purpose shower cream. Towels small. The breakfast is 15 Euro. We had it one morning and it was awful. Cold scrambled eggs and cheap processed meat slices and processed cheese.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would first of all like to thank you for staying at the Hôtel des Colonies, and we are glad you could appreciate the bedding and room layout. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast, as we try to offer the most varied dishes to please as many guests as possible. You comment... More

taunton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst on city break rooms where spacious and bed was realy comfy would of been handy to have a english channel on tv but no big issue good value hotel would recomend for short break

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the room’s layout and apologize for the inconvenience of having too few English-speaking channels on the TV. We hope you could visit Brussels and hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Victor Camhis, General Manager. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

please stay elsewhere we stayed here for a few nights and at the end of our stay I was jealous of the homeless people staff grunt at you if you complain carpets are just dirty don't walk in barefoot wallpaper black in parts sockets are suspect if you can find one doors slam unnecessary breakfast is way to dear you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My team and I would like to apologize for the stay you had with us, and we hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that what you experienced is far from the high quality service we are able to offer. I remain at your full disposal, should you have any other comments you... More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is located very closely to Gareth du Nord, but if you're coming from Gare du Midi (eg from the Eurostar) then it's a very easy Metro ride to Rogier. It's a bit difficult to find from the station, but once you get your head around how the street names work and get a decent map, you'll be fine!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us an in-depth review of your stay with us. It is a real pleasure for us to read such comments, and we are glad you could enjoy the experience. We are sorry to hear that there were not enough English-speaking channels for you to enjoy, we will do our best... More

Do you own or manage Hotel des Colonies?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel des Colonies

Enlarge Map