We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dom Henrique Hotel

4.0 of 5
Rua Guedes De Azevedo 179, Porto 4049-009, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Dom Henrique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Porto
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Chris-Stony Munich, Germany
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    151
    86
    22
    7
See reviews for
65
127
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I expected more of this four star hotel. Lobby was fine, but getting off the elevator brought you to a completely dark corridor. Very depressing. The room I got smelled awful like something chemical. I went to reception and got a change, but the new room smelled the same. So I think it might be the detergent they use for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carla C, Diretor de vendas at Dom Henrique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris-Stony, Recently our Hotel Dom Henrique - Downtown had been renovate, from the lobby to the rooms, so we believe that during your visit the smell of paint could still feel it, and we used the products needed and we did all the effort to the smell disappear. We apologize the inconvenient and we would like to say to... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is pretty good. Nice staff and quiet rooms. The lounge bar has a nice view of Porto City, as well as many goos drinks. Unfortunately the fitness room is very small. In the other hand, the neighborhood is calm and safe. It is close by to the bars of the Praça dos Leões, which is a nice place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carla C, Diretor de vendas at Dom Henrique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, We want to thank you the time you spent sharing your experience in this hotel with other travelers. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that we were able to satisfy all your needs. We promise to exceed your expectations at a future stay. The hotel is placed in a privileged place, in downtown... More 

Billericay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good locations and in walking distance to the River Duoro. We had a superior room which had recently been renovated to a good standard. The bed was larger than a king size and extremely comfortable. Great pillows. Very nice shower and bathroom. We thought that breakfast was fine, plenty of choice and good quality. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carla C, Diretor de vendas at Dom Henrique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client We want to thank you the time you spent sharing your experience in this hotel with other travelers. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that we were able to satisfy all your needs. We apologize for the inconvenience restaurante. The hotel is placed in a privileged place, in downtown city, so close of... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The location of this hotel is good, it's in walking distance from the Douro river(20 min). Walking to the river there are a lot of things to see so that makes it easy to walk. When you need to go to Vila nova de Gaia you probably need to take a cab, it's a bit too far to walk(or it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Room was large and so was the bathroom, but that's all for good news. Ok, maybe I was not lucky and the hotel is under renovation until March, or so they say, because it seems that no one knows exactly. The problem is that they keep open only three floors...and so I had a room which was some 30 years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

The hotel is located in the City Center, and not too far from the bus stop and the train station. Besides the Duoro River is a simple 15 min walk! Property is good with big, and clean rooms though the appearance is slightly oldish, but good enough for a convenient stay nonetheless. The breakfast spread is rather good, and staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Nice Hotel very clean and big room for family ( 2 room ), I am traveling with wife and two kids. The staff is very helpful and humble. The Hotel also near by the shopping area and also the tourism attraction and also near the train station . The hotel in the downtown and the distance to airport is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
115 hotel reviews
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Old hotel with some new features. Location is good in the centre. Room was good sized, bed comfortable, telly with good selection, unfortunately aircon did not heat so I was freezing. Toiletries and mostly hot water. I wish the cleaners would look at the doors and see the dirt and clean it. Wifi very good and free. Breakfast served from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant if slightly dated, very good breakfasts with gluten free bread on request, easy walking distance to all major sights and the metro. Great views from the 17th floor bar. Major updating seems to be ongoing, so would be interesting to see the result next year. Very happy with stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night as part of a solo trip through Portugal and I chose the Hotel because of its rooftop restaurant. The Hotel is about fifteen minutes walk from the Centre (longer to walk back as it is uphill!) and very close to the Trindade metro stop. My room on the seventh floor was quite small -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question