We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

#28 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    285
    201
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
118
316
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (554)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (205)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
There are newer reviews for Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had mixed feelings about this hotel after reading some of the reviews. Personally, the family and I were all very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in a Junior suite as we had a 15 year old staying with us. This room is very comfortable and offers a kitchenette with two hob burners, a fridge and enough pots and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with my wife and two kids (11 and 15) to have four days vacations in Madeira 19 years after first visit. Decided to choose a modern hotel in Funchal but away enough from the city center or at least the busy center. We chose Golden Residence that is 2km from city centre but having a car is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a really enjoyable stay. The hotel has great facilities, breakfast was amazing and our suite was very well appointed and the whole place was sparkling clean. We stayed during high season and although the hotel was busy there was enough space for everyone to relax. The staff were excellent, they work so hard and we really appreciated everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend the Golden Residence. Our suite was spacious with plenty of room for our family of 4. The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff was friendly. There is free wifi in the common areas. The swimming pool seems a little small but we always found a place and there was always plenty of room. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We stayed in this hotel from 17 to 27 july. We had a very pleasant stay ! It is a good hotel that we can only recommend... The location is a little further of the centre of Funchal, but if you like walking, it is still in walking distance of the capitel centre. We mostly walked downtown and took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We have just returned from holiday & stayed at This hotel for 1 Week. We found all the staff very friendly & efficient.Our room was in block A, yes it overlooked the flats opposite us but that was fine we were out all the time and hardly saw a soul. We enjoyed the walk from the restaurant to block A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the fact that you have shared your experience of our services and facilities with TripAdvisor readers. On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of... More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We had an excellant apartment, ideal base to do day trips out, reception staff were very helpfull if you needed to find out about organised trips to north side of island. Local bus service was very good,only one a day to north side of island so a bit limited. Airport transfer bus (aerobus) is only 8 euro return, the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which are most valued to us. It is very important for us that you know that our guests opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve as our main goal is to let our guests feel how special they are to us. Sincerely hoping that you will consider... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Read all the reviews not just the happy ones there are a lot of issues here 1. We had a side sea view room. Our glass balcony was around 100 feet away from a block of flats with balconies, not a great outlook. We were in block A, not quite needing binoculars to see the sea but it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to satisfy you. We always try to do our best in order to fulfil our guest’s desires and wishes. Unfortunately we were not successful with you. The Golden Residence Hotel has 3 connecting buldings with diferent room categories and prices.... More 

kent, uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

When we arrived at this hotel to start our 10 day stay we were told it was overbooked & they had no room for us for the first 2 nights which was a bit of a downer but not totally unexpected as previous reviewers had mentioned this happening. However we were taken by taxi to another 5* hotel nearby for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We have truly appreciated your review regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experiences. It was a great pleasure to have had you as our guests while celebrating your partner’s birthdays. We were most happy to know that you have appreciated our small gesture. Our... More 

Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Just returned from a week's holiday in Madeira staying at this hotel. Loved the location. It was peaceful - away from the more touristy areas of Funchal, which suited us just fine. We really couldn't fault the hotel. It was exceptionally clean and tidy. We loved the pools and garden terraces. The food was very good with plenty of choice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Sunny Madeira Island, we remain with kind regards. Arcília Martin Resident Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

730 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (398)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (114)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (321)
Viewed
Amenities (100)
Viewed
Apartment (36)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (14)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (58)
Viewed
Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Suite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#11 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#29 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay