We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Funchal hotels

Four Views Baia

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Four Views Baia to your Saves list
Four Views Baia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #41 of 91 hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
TheCanadianNavigator Vancouver, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (251)
  • Photos (150)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    121
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
36
145
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Four views is essentially 3 views but who's counting.. The name says it all.. This hotel has some amazing views of the city & harbour. The hotel truly has a resort feel with a beautiful swimming pool which also has a spectacular view around it.. They could use a hot tub though.. Weird that they don't have one by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We can understand thought your words that in a general way you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for the good words regarding the rooms and the views. The internet is something we are willing to offer to our guest in the rooms, unfortunately we are still... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 7 days, the hotel has a great view, rooms are clean and comfortable, the restaurant offers a great variety of foods . Staff always smiling and polite. I wished their public computers would have been from this 'age', but that's minor. Great hotel! I will definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and the hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Looking forward to meet you again. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from Funchal & Four Views Baia. The hotel is very clean and well run, Reception staff were very friendly. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view which we did not request but was lovely, the room was equipped for disabled people but the balcony was so small I don't think a wheelchair would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We regret to read that we were not able to offer you a memorable stay. We understand some of your concerning’s and we will be working on them in order to satisfy all the Guest needs. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff in the... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The view from the hotel on the upper floors comprise all the island's capital. Room facilities are wonderful and the cleanliness is perfect. I have recommended this hotel to my friends and when I will return to this beautiful island for sure I'll stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities. Thank you for sharing your kind words with the world. We look forward to see you again in our Hotel. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations More

Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got booked at the Four Views due to a flight cancelation. When we arrived the staff had to check in 3 busses, it was chaos! But they handled the job perfectly, its not easy to recieve about 100 guests at once, always with a smile. After 2 weeks of disapointing food at our previous hotel this was a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and our staff, we will show them your kind words. Thank you very much for your commentary, we hope we can get the chance to see you... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pro: - reasonably close to the city center - nice swimming pool - clean - reasonably cheap Contra: - too small and too few elevators (sometimes you need to wait quiet a long time). - service at the restaurant on the pool deck is not very friendly. - food is below average. For breakfast they try to make up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We regret to read that we did not match your expectations for your holidays. The elevators detail it is something that it is hard for us to fix has it is a problem from the structure itself, even so we are continuously speaking with the elevators company... More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel using it for our base. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was expansive. Good value for money, and the hotel is located very close to the centre, old town and Estrada monumental. There is plenty of car park space and the hotel location is perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Thank you for the kind words you have used to qualify our rooms the breakfast and the sympathy of our staff. Regarding the bad details, we are sorry for the disappointment in the... More

south wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from a weeks stay. room was lovely, views stunning. breakfast was great...more than sufficient for hubbys 3-4 trips to buffet. ate in the hotel on 2 evenings and the food was lovely. the waiting staff are all amazingly polite and happy to chat. people have mentioned the walk into town and to get lift to car park.. however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your hollidays in our Hotel. And that you have shared with the world your experience. Thank you very much for your kind words. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So four views baia sold me and my boyfriend when booking at Thompson's looked modern, amazing views and great comments so we where very excited to get there. Pre going i had been warned its not really suited for young people as me and my boyfriend are both mid twenties and when booking she said there would be some night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor. Regarding your stay we regret to read that we did not fulfill your expectations. Most of our guests enjoys our restaurant and we had great comments regarding our food, we respect your opinion but some words you have used are hard to understand. Most of... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being our first visit to Funchal picking where to stay was a challenge but we couldn't have done better. We stayed in a mini apartment with a wonderful view over the fort and mountains. It was extremely comfortable and very quiet. The furniture and facilities were all of a high standard. The only minor negative would be the walk into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that everything during your stay was good. It is so nice to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our Rooms and that you have enjoyed your holidays. Regarding the walk to the center of Funchal, the hotel provides... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Four Views Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal #35 Luxury Hotel in Funchal #41 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
261

See which rooms travelers prefer