We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Funchal hotels

Four Views Baia

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Four Views Baia to your Saves list
Four Views Baia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
82%
Ranked #41 of 91 hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Fernando R
  • Overview
  • Reviews (260)
  • Photos (150)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    127
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
38
152
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

2nd time that I and my family were in this hotel, and I just have one word: Excellent Nice view to the Funchal bay, good location to the city center, nice pool, nice bar, nice restaurant with a excellent views and decoration.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Madeira with my wife. Location: Up the hill from the shopping mall. While it looks close on a map it does get a bit annoying to walk up everyday after coming back from town. Not an issue if you dont mind getting a taxi or renting a car. The airport bus drops you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor. We regret to read that we were not able offer you a memorable stay. Regarding a few details you have wrote, we would like to inform you that we have a courtesy bus that goes a few times a day to the center of Funchal,... More

Geneva
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a few night in this hotel with no personality. But it had all you could need: clean rooms, pool, spa (not tested), bar, etc... It takes about 20 min. to walk to Rua Santa Maria were the nice restaurants are.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your commentary in tripadvisor. We are happy that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope we can see you again. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations More

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four views is essentially 3 views but who's counting.. The name says it all.. This hotel has some amazing views of the city & harbour. The hotel truly has a resort feel with a beautiful swimming pool which also has a spectacular view around it.. They could use a hot tub though.. Weird that they don't have one by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We can understand thought your words that in a general way you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for the good words regarding the rooms and the views. The internet is something we are willing to offer to our guest in the rooms, unfortunately we are still... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 7 days, the hotel has a great view, rooms are clean and comfortable, the restaurant offers a great variety of foods . Staff always smiling and polite. I wished their public computers would have been from this 'age', but that's minor. Great hotel! I will definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and the hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Looking forward to meet you again. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from Funchal & Four Views Baia. The hotel is very clean and well run, Reception staff were very friendly. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view which we did not request but was lovely, the room was equipped for disabled people but the balcony was so small I don't think a wheelchair would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We regret to read that we were not able to offer you a memorable stay. We understand some of your concerning’s and we will be working on them in order to satisfy all the Guest needs. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff in the... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view from the hotel on the upper floors comprise all the island's capital. Room facilities are wonderful and the cleanliness is perfect. I have recommended this hotel to my friends and when I will return to this beautiful island for sure I'll stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities. Thank you for sharing your kind words with the world. We look forward to see you again in our Hotel. Best regards, Duarte Ferreira Guest Relations More

Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got booked at the Four Views due to a flight cancelation. When we arrived the staff had to check in 3 busses, it was chaos! But they handled the job perfectly, its not easy to recieve about 100 guests at once, always with a smile. After 2 weeks of disapointing food at our previous hotel this was a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and our staff, we will show them your kind words. Thank you very much for your commentary, we hope we can get the chance to see you... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pro: - reasonably close to the city center - nice swimming pool - clean - reasonably cheap Contra: - too small and too few elevators (sometimes you need to wait quiet a long time). - service at the restaurant on the pool deck is not very friendly. - food is below average. For breakfast they try to make up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We regret to read that we did not match your expectations for your holidays. The elevators detail it is something that it is hard for us to fix has it is a problem from the structure itself, even so we are continuously speaking with the elevators company... More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel using it for our base. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was expansive. Good value for money, and the hotel is located very close to the centre, old town and Estrada monumental. There is plenty of car park space and the hotel location is perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Thank you for the kind words you have used to qualify our rooms the breakfast and the sympathy of our staff. Regarding the bad details, we are sorry for the disappointment in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Four Views Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Funchal with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal #35 Luxury Hotel in Funchal #41 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
261

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Four Views Baia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer