We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Funchal hotels

Four Views Monumental Lido

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Four Views Monumental Lido to your Saves list
Four Views Monumental Lido
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #36 of 91 hotels in Funchal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
laura1234567 Constanta, Romania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (521)
  • Photos (252)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (7)
  • Room tips (146)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    234
    84
    30
    6
See reviews for
76
330
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

nice hotel, but stay Away from lower floor rooms, either sea view or mountain view. they can be verry noisy considering the hotel îs located on a rather busy street. Lido, the pedestrian area, as well as the Marina downtown were all under construction after the 2010 flood. Madeira îs a verry nice place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
west midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned for a week in funchal madeira a place we had never travelled to before. We chose four views monumental because it had recently re-opened after refurbishment. When we arrived major road works were being carried out outside the hotel and we were a bit worried in case we were in a room above. The reception area was big,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from first visti to Funchal. Nice hotel but dining room service was appalling. This was no fault of the staff who admitted to being exhausted. Since the refurb the staff have been cut from 12 to 8 and on the day we spoke to them 2 were on day off and 1 was on holiday. Plates were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I have have just returned from a fortnights holiday (our 3rd visit) and it was brilliant. The refurbishment has been fantastic we could not fault anything Many thanks to Lidia on the 10th floor for keeping our rooms clean and fresh it was lovely to see you again. the restaurant is as ever great so much choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. The commentary you have written is lovely and we feel happy that you have enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel. It is so important for us that you had a memorable stay. Thank you very much for the kind words regarding the staff and me. It is... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Four Views Monumental Hotel in Funchal. We booked our holiday through Thomson and chose a half-board package. We had requested (and paid for a sea view room) when booking and were relieved to find we had indeed been given such a room upon check-in. The transfer from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your commentary in Tripadvisor. We have read it very carefully and we feel sorry that in general way we were not able to offer you a memorable stay. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. In the restaurant we regret to read that you did not like our food, we have a Mediterranean... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week, returned last night. The hotel is lovely, it has been refurbished to a high standard. The rooms are nice, one of the best we've stayed in. It is definitely worth paying for a sea view, the view was great. The pool area is really nice and they are always sunbeds available no matter what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. We regret to read that you did not appreciate our food; even so we will check what had happened In order to correct it. Thank you very much for sharing your words with the world. We hope we ca get the chance to see you again... More

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third visit to this hotel and the first since the refurbishment. We like the location and the value for money this hotel offers, along with the option to either stay in a traditional hotel room, or opt for self-catering studios, which is what we choose to do. The refurbishment looks good. The beds we had this year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that if you would come back to Madeira you would return to our hotel. Our truly apologies for the road works unfortunately it is something that we cannot... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a week's break at the Four Views Hotel with my hubby and two children. Had a lovely time and the hotel was great. The kids enjoyed the pool very much and the hotel room met our needs fully. A variety of delicious food was served in the restaurnt and the entertainment was very good but finished early.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

“Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We are happy to read that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that if you would come back to Madeira you would return to our hotel. Our truly apologies for the road works unfortunately it is something that we cannot... More

Eastbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the beginning of August in room 301. Due to the roadworks it was hard for us to find the underground parking. So we went to the reception and the receptionist told us where it was and gave us a card to get to the elevator. She was brilliant. Duarte, the guest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. The commentary you’ve wrote regarding our hotel is wonderful, there is really nothing to add. Thank you very much for the kind words and for sharing your experience with the world. Many thanks for the complements regarding the staff and for myself. It is words like the... More

Plymouth
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the newly refurbished Four Views Monumental. The hotel has been nicely modernised and the rooms quite comfortable. The beds are 3' singles pushed together and rather hard (I did tell our nice maid Lidia and she put a folded duvet under the sheet which made it ok). A previous reviewer has described... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel. We realize reading your commentary that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to apologies first for giving you the feeling that in the reception area people are not smiley and that we do not stabilize eye contact. Well it is hard... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Four Views Monumental Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (244)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Funchal with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal #34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
258

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Four Views Monumental Lido and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Four Views Monumental Lido staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer