We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Views Monumental Lido

4.0 of 5 Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GreenLeadersGold level
Four Views Monumental Lido
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Four Views Monumental Lido
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    263
    93
    32
    6
See reviews for
84
370
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (581)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (182)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Hull uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Showers were excellent and rooms cleaned to a very good standard every day. We only ate out once because the meals were good ,buffet style, house wine was good too. We saw the fireworks on the roof of the hotel and had a lovely time. We had 2 weeks. 1st week in a room at the back of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are leaving today after two weeks and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Four Views Monumental. It is an excellent hotel, very clean and with well designed and equipped rooms. There is free, high-speed wifi throughout, the only problem being that it logs you out when you are not using it and you have to log back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read such an enthusiastic e-mail. Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are still on our vacation with some days left - and what we have experienced so far is a very friendly staff and clean rooms and reception. There is some cons though - * WIFI - lacking in functionallity, almost not working on the room and when it was working our you where in the reception you quite often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. Regarding the internet, we had a few problems with the server being sometimes hard to connect. We have already spoken... More 

Driffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent Christmas 2014 here. Champagne reception (for returning guests) very good with soft drinks alternatives being offered and a good selection of canapés. First impressions of the food in the restaurant were good selection and very clean. However, as the week progressed it became apparent that the choices didn't really vary that much from day to day. (some people might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. We are truly happy reading that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel in a general way. We understand... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel very clean had a lovely room with a sea view on floor 6. Food passable, breakfast was disappointing, everything barely warm, apart from that it was edible. Location is in an excellent position, a nice steady walk into Funchal centre takes about 20 minutes. The island is beautiful and there are some lovely tours into the mountains and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Regarding the warm food we are... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no charm to this hotel and it operates on an industrial level. It is so big that it is impossible to get as good a service as we would have liked. We continually had to ask staff information about the hotel.The rooms were adequate however the "mountain view" was a bit of a misnomer. Could almost spot the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. We have been reading your words and we will share them with our staff in order to improve some of the service you mention. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination. We hope... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Four Views Monumental is a great hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern. The service was polite. There were two restaurants: The poolside bar which offered a limited lunch menu, and the buffet restaurant, which was open during breakfast and dinner. There was also a cocktail bar with a nice selection of drinks. The pools were heated also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. It is so important for us to read such enthusiastic review. It is words like the one you have use... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm actually writing this review while still on our Christmas break here in Funchal. Great hotel, rooms are very clean and modern. Food is of a very good standard with plenty of variety every day. Rooms cleaned regularly. Christmas eve dinner was a fabulous 5 course with drinks included. Friendly helpful staff throughout. First time here in Madeira for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. We feel happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel. Thank you very much for your... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We are spending 10 days here, good location, free parking place, close to many restaurants and shops. The disadvantage is small indoor pool, the one outside was to cold to swim in December. Still worth its price, but mostly for elderly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you... More 

Umeå, Vasterbottens Lan, Sweden
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two friend in a room for two people with an extra bed. Worked good for two weeks. The room was nice. Quite modern with free wifi and a television with alot of chanels. Alot of elder people are staying here as far as we could see. Downside is all children running around in the hallways making ALOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review

OBRIGADO! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Monumental. It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. It is important for us that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal

585 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (287)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (288)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Amenities (99)
Viewed
Kids Pool (8)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (63)
Viewed
Suite Sea View (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay