We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

4.0 of 5 Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    208
    66
    24
    10
See reviews for
78
272
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (465)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Stafford UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst viewing other reviews recently I have to wonder if we went to the same hotel! As has been said many times on tripadvisor - the staff are very good at this hotel, and are very attentive but not over the top. Of course, when catering for so many different nationalities it is difficult to please everyone - but in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel and for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to acknowledge your satisfaction and have taken duly note of your remarks. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have happened during your stay. Hope you may visit us in a near future. Yours sincerely, Mariana Sousa More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just returned from this hotel, very welcoming staff,thats where it ends for me, first two days the food was poor in taste&quality,did improve as the week went on, but was never excellent,most fish dishes were dry,beef very tough,salad bar was reasonable, best dish of the week, Duck but soon ran out, only one barman so had to wait 3to6 mins.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, which deserves our utmost attention. We have taken note of all your remarks, and do apologize for any inconvenience that might have happened during your stay. Yours sincerely, Mariana Sousa More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Top notch! Staff-excellent! Room-excellent! Food -excellent! No complaints at all and cannot wait to go back.We found the Portuguese people very friendly and knew the moment we checked in we were going to love it.Hotel is situated a fair way from the town but taxis were very helpful and a courtesy bus available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel, and for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to acknowledge your satisfaction. We strive to succeed in providing to all those which visit us with memorable moments. Hope you may visit us again in the future. With our best regards, Mariana Sousa More

welwyn
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, we have stayed at nearly all the 'Pestana' Hotels on Madeira over the years, this is the first time we have done 'all inclusive' and you get what you pay for, saying that, we only stayed for 4 days so this suited us as a 'chill out' start to our 14 day holiday, you get up eat/lie on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel as a start of your holidays in Madeira and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor, which are most appreciated. Your opinion is very special for us, therefore we have taken note of your remarks in order we can improve our service in the future. We will be pleased to welcome you... More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first time in Madeira, only the second at an all-inclusive. Well pleased with all arrangements as expected. The hotel is 5 Kms from Funchal centre but the only reason we went there was to see the marina area (being rebuilt at present) and to use the cable car to Monte for the Tropical gardens (quite interesting, great views). Free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit and for submitting in this travel review with your past experience. We are pleased to acknowledge your satisfaction and have duly taken note of the remarks. They are important for us, as they help us to be even better. We hope we have the opportunity to... More

New York Mills, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello everybody, I would like to highlight some points that were much below my expectations for Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel: - since hotel is very small noise and smells from dining area are present in the lobby all the day. cooking smells were really disgusting - food was just either not tasty or tasteless - Wireless was available in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We will certainly take them in consideration in order to improve our services. We would like to underline one of our Service Standards: All team is Committed and Pleased to welcome everyone and to do their best to provide all guests a pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcome... More

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from spending a week at Pestana Bay Hotel , on arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a superior room, we had booked a studio which was all they had available at the time of booking but we were told there were none available which was the reason for upgrade ! I have no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your holidays. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have occured during your stay. We have also taken note of all your remarks, that will help us to improve in the future. With our best regards, Mariana Sousa More

Scarborough, Yorkshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at the Pestana Bay where we stayed all inclusive. Overall we were disappointed. The food, served buffet style, was generally bland tasting and boring although occasionally something was served which was of a good standard, definitely not 4 star quality. There are two sitting times,6.30 and 8.30, but it didn't seem to be controlled and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your holidays. At the same time, we were concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations in some areas of your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused concerning this aspect. We have also taken note of all... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned from this hotel 2 weeks ago and can only repeat what has been written by others, this hotel is very dated and in need of serious improvement. The entertainment area was extremely small for what laughingly passed as entertainment, bird show and the local dance troupe parading through the dining room while we were trying to have dinner, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for our first 2 week holiday in Madeira. On arrival about 9 pm at night we were quickly ushered to the dining room by the receptionist to ensure we'd had a meal following our journey and were told to take our time and relax and check in would be done when we finished. We took the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy to have welcome you in our Hotel and thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor, which are very important for us. We are glad to know that we were given the opportunity to meet your expectations. We will be pleased to welcome you once again in a near future. With our best regards, Mariana sousa More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

361 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (348)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay