We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Funchal hotels

Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
trixie2932 Leicester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    199
    60
    23
    8
See reviews for
75
247
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (437)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am writing this from the outside seating area of the Pestana Bay Ocean Hotel, which is very good indeed, but is is not suitable for people with walking problems (us!!). Regrettably, the travel agents etc. do not state that the walk to Funchal along a promenade is not an easy one. Whist this IS possible, the walk is full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thomson should remove this hotel from their catalogue! Food appalling, choice of dish very limited, very rarely hot. I don't consider fish fingers 4* food!! Choice of puddings: blancmange, jelly or ice cream again not 4*, children's tea party springs to mind! Salads were nearly always covered in a sauce of mayonnaise or something, so for someone with an egg/dairy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Although food was of good quality, hotel tried and failed to satisfy the wide variety of nationalities present. Hot food seldom hot enough, lack of variety, especially with desserts and insufficient labelling led to us having a filled roll for dinner on a number of occasions. No air conditioning anywhere so public areas too warm to enjoy comfortably, room at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your message on TripAdvisor, which deserved our best attention. We have taken duly note of all your remarks, in order that we can provide a better service in the future. We will be pleased to welcome you once again. With our best regards, Mariana Sousa More

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a holiday at the Pestana Bay Ocean Hotel. Cons - Could do with air conditioning in both bedrooms and public rooms A sitting area far away from the noise of music lounge etc would have been good. Impossible to read in evening if that is your choice. Pros - Unbeatable location with the sea literally outside your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your comments, which are very special to us. We will take your notes in mind in order that we can offer a better service in the future. Hope you may visit us again. Yours sincerely, Mariana Sousa More

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms: all rooms have excellent seaview. Some of the rooms are old-fashioned, but housekeeping is doing a great job. Spic & span clean. Towels and sheets are changed upon simple demand, so extra point for sustainable tourism! Food: not a huge choice, but enough for me. Sometimes food is overcooked ( one night we had beef brochettes, but too dry)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, which deserved our best attention. We would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. Unfortunately there were some situations during this period of time that were abnormal. We did try our best to control them. We have taken duly note of all your remarks and once again... More

isle of wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time to the island and we were definitely not disappointed.The hotel was great, we had a room on the 4th floor and what a view, we left the patio door open every night and could listen to the waves, magic. Food was good, lots of choice. Hotel very clean and staff helpful. We did the tour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel. We are pleased to acknowledge your satisfaction regarding your holidays. We will be pleased to welcome you once again in a near future. Yours Sincerely, Mariana Sousa More

Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our arrival at the hotel we were given room 101 which unfortunately like the objects on the tv programme had to be rejected. It was above the lounge which was obviously noisy because of the music being played and on the balcony you overlooked the flat roof of the restaurant .I went to reception and without any problem was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are pleased to acknowledge your satisfaction and have duly taken note of the remarks. They are important for us, as they help us to be even better. We will be pleased to welcome you once again in a near future. Yours sincerely, Mariana Sousa More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent weeks holiday at Pestana Bay hotel. Hotel very good clean rooms, with good views of the sea and gardens.food good could always find something to suit. Staff helpful and friendly. Are only little complaint was no air con in main area' s, and we had first room next to reception and could be noisy at night. We are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your holidays. We would like to thank your comments on Tripadvisor, which deserved our utmost attention. We will be pleased to welcome you once again in a near future. With our best regards, Mariana Sousa More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first and definitely not last time in Madeira. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly, as with all inclusive holidays the food becomes samey. There are a great number of restaurants within either walking distance or a bus ride away to have some great local food. The hotel rooms are spacious and cleaned daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your message on Tripadvisor, which deserved our best attention. Your opinion is very special for us. We strive to suceed in providing to all those which visit us with memorable moments to be treasured in the future. We were and will always be pleased to welcome you in our Hotel. Kind regards, Mariana... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great view from balcony lovely room and hotel with beautifully kept gardens. No beach very stoney but walk ways each way. Courtesy bus to Funchal very good. The food was very enjoyable and staff very friendly. Only downside having to pay for sun umbrellas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Your opinion and remarks are very important for us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards, Mariana Sousa More

Do you own or manage Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

336 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (323)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
My Way
My Way
International
Real Canoa
Real Canoa
Portuguese
Rubi's
Rubi's
European