We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madeira Regency Palace

Estrada Monumental 275, Funchal, Madeira 9000-250, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madeira Regency Palace
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Madeira Regency Palace
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    233
    105
    57
    14
See reviews for
107
302
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (546)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel on a Saga walking holiday. Its location is pretty good, being close to the 'expressway' giving the good access to the rest of the island by road. It is about a 50 minute walk to Funchal centre, but there is a shuttle bus that works pretty well, and the local taxis are priced sensibly. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read so many bad reviews, I was quite concerned as to what I would find there when I arrived at the hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised. I agree with some previous comments that the hotel could do with a refit, especially as regards carpets and on the chairs and a lick of paint but that said I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, First we would to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property. Our aim is to provide a wonderful experience to our guests. We taking you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Feel free to contact us should you have any... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a 5 Star hotel. Our room was very close to the next apartment block which was a little claustrophobic. The room was a good size but a little gloomy and the carpets and chair coverings were stained and dirty, the sheer curtains had holes. The room servicing was not up to standard. We did not have dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. we regret that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. The room chosen was a side sea view room and there is in a fact a building next to the hotel, but we do not... More 

Somerset
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading 'too many' reviews prior to our arrival we were concerned at the number of negative comments. Although the hotel interior/furniture is looking 'a little tired in places' this did not impact on our enjoyment in any way. This hotel is in a brilliant location, peaceful and close to local shops and restaurants, with easy access into Funchal centre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, we herewtih would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your property. You have written such a complete review about our property which makes us feel proud about it as we work very hard everyday to try to achieve our guests' expectations. We hope to see you again in the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a week's holiday at this lovely hotel. Our rooms were spacious and of a high standard. Yes, it would benefit from a refit, but we enjoyed the "shabby chic" decor! The lounge areas were very relaxing and conducive to drinking cocktails and chatting whilst listening to the tinkling background piano. Please don't miss the local Madeira dance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property. Your comments regarding the maintenance of the room were duly taken and we inform you that a renovation is planned for the future. The carpets are in fact in need of some renovation. We are very glad that you had such wonderfull... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one-bedroom, self-catering apartment in this hotel for the fifth time in about twelve years. Yes, it's shabbier and more worn than the first time we visited, but it's quiet, the sea views to Cape Girao are good, and the garden has matured well. Staff are always helpful, and the two problems we identified were immediately rectified. Cleaning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, We herewith would like to thank you for your continuous trust in our property and continuous visits. We also thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again in the near future and feel free to contact us should you have any query. Best regards Sofia Lopes More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not eat here, but for a 5 star hotel it falls short of what is expected. The room valeting was very poor. Even the basics were not done on a regular basis. Reports to reception were met with a half hearted apology and no change happened. Security very worrying. We went back to our room and found the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. Regarding valeting in the room, sheets are changed 3 times per week and towels are changed whenever the guest wants. We have it written down in the bathroom. Amenities are changed whenever empty. Regarding the your room door... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are very familiar with the island of Madeira, but this time decided to try this (unfamiliar) hotel Room Our room was satisfactory but not to the specification we requested i.e.. it was not a high room and the sea view was only partial. The Wi fi did not work The carpets in the room had were worn and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel on 4 visits over several years with children and without, never been disappointed. Quality hotel and suites, great pool, fantastic restaurant and not far from Funchal. The walks and scenery are truly beautiful and the pace is very relaxed. Climate is warm and sunny all year round. Not for beach lovers though as it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property. We are glad that you have chosen Madeira Regency Palace to spend your honeymoon and that everything was perfect. We hope to see you again in the future best regards Sofia Lopes Sales Manager More 

Olomouc, Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We spent our honeymoon there and were very satisfied with the hotel and its service. The room was quite large, furnished with typical colonial furniture, which was a little bit old, but not damaged. The bed was extra large. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant with typical dishes of Madeira. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I can only recomment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

624 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (248)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (361)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Kids Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (16)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
Suite Classic (44)
Viewed
Superior Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question