We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Funchal hotels

Aparthotel Imperatriz

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Imperatriz to your Saves list
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
64%
Ranked #67 of 91 hotels in Funchal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
andrewsjohn863 Zurich, Switzerland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (33)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here as I needed to catch the 08.00 ferry in the morning to Porto Santo. This hotel is very convenient indeed for this purpose as it is only a 5 min walk downhill to the ferry. I stayed in room 202 and could not fault it. The bathroom was nice and the shower great with plenty of power... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, On behalf of our team, it’s a great honor to receive such encouraging compliments that encourage us to keep striving to serve you better! We look forward to welcome you again at ApartHotel Imperatriz. With our kindest regards, ApartHotel Imperatriz More

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 14 nights in August 2014. The hotel is quite small (27 studios) but very well run and impeccably clean. Reception and housekeeping services could not be faulted. The rooftop pool is fairly small but very well maintained and always clean. Perhaps the only criticism would be the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, which meant that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review. It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better. We are looking forward to welcome you once again and we will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations. Warmest regards,... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days. Great location, close to the center. Staff were always helpful. Nice roof-top terrace with a small swimming pool. Rooms are spacious, and have a small kitchenette (which provides a good alternative for eating out - and lets you keep your stuff cold). Good price-quality value! Only downside: wifi didn't work during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review. It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better. However, we were very sorry to know that Imperatriz was not able to exceed your expectations in terms of wi-fi connection and also about room on the... More

Nieuwerkerk aan den IJssel, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was simple but OK, excellent beds, toilet and balcony fine. BUT: We had to wait until 2;00 p.m. before we could enter our room. Bath was rusty and the kitchen very minimal. The parking is a real disaster, a narrow dark hole under the ground and every time parked cars that blocked the entrance / exit. A shame that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve constantly, so please be assured that many changes will be made as soon as possible. We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have never experienced anything quite like it. Filthy room, "kitchenette" bathroom and balcony. Tried to clean up where the cooking area was and found a 2009 pornographic magazine on a shelf!!! Totally unacceptable. After a lot of remonstrations was finally moved to a different room which although a lot cleaner was still very worn and in desperate need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of ApartHotel Imperatriz, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for submitting this review. We do value our guest feedback, and I can assure you that we monitor each review to praise our staff and adjust our services accordingly. Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in this aparthotel in Feb. and it was a big desapointment! The place needs to close for refurbishing and lots of other work...,bathrooms are in terrible condition, bathtubs full of rust, room completly outdated, very unconfortable and very depressing! While prices look reasonable, its still too expensive for what they offer. For a litlle more money we could have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your contribution. At ApartHotel Imperatriz, we really appreciate all the feed back from our guests, as it enable us to continuously striving for more and better. Let us start but apologizing for not having received our feed back until now. However, we were very sorry to know that we were not able to exceed your... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week before Xmas. Just what we wanted. Very clean. Large room big enough for fishing gear as well as usual stuff. Large bathroom with hair dryer and lots of hot water and clean towels. TV had news and English entertainment but we didnot go to watch TV! Xmas decorations amazing. Great atmosphere. Breakfast fine for us -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review. It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better. However, we were very sorry to know that the room didn't exceed your expectations in terms of being dark and at the back of the hotel, however... More

Odivelas, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

80's hotel needing big renovations! Good spot in downtown Funchal. You are close to all the turistic places. If you need to pick the ferry to Porto Santo this is the perfect spot to stay. It's all way down to the harbour (500m). The rooms are too old and quite basic but clean. The hotel staff is very very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have recently been back from Madeira, where we stayed at Imperatriz as part of package holidays. I have been in doubt if it should be a 3 or 4 stars but decided for 4 stars because of value for money. I think the place is hard to beat on that. But there was also some negatives. So for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very good value for money, in a fantastic location near the city centre. The staff are lovely, polite, helpful and welcoming. Its very clean. It may be a little basic but for the price you can't beat it. I would recommend it. Its close to good places to eat and near to the buses. We stayed for 8 days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aparthotel Imperatriz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aparthotel Imperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Imperatriz

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Imperatriz 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aparthotel Imperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Imperatriz Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Hotel Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Madeira/Funchal

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Funchal with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aparthotel Imperatriz is a small family-run establishment conveniently situated in the most upmarket district of Funchal, adjacent to the famous Madeira Casino and Congress Centre, close to some of the city’s finest restaurants and bars, about 5 minutes walk from Funchal's harbour. The hotel has 27 comfortable studios, each with private bathroom, hair dryer, balcony, kitchenette, mini-bar, cable TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe-deposit box. Facilities include a snack bar, restaurant, games room, business centre, small library, winter garden, freshwater swimming pool with a sun terrace affording breathtaking views over the ocean, private garage, 24-hour reception and a rent-a-car service. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aparthotel Imperatriz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer