We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

4.0 of 5 Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Hotel website
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    248
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
183
641
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (961)
  • Mar-May only
    (203)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (279)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday here. From the start the staff made us very welcome.The hotel is bright and modern and in a great position on the sea front. Our room was spacious and clean with large comfortable beds and had a wonderful sea view. We will definitely return when we come back to Madeira.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and traveler We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort. We are extremely gratefull for both your testimony and polite words conveyed in this review towards all staff and to this hotel unit. In hope of always have the pleasure of your visit, We remain, With our utmost regards,... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on three occasions and I would happily stay again without hesitation. The hotel is located on the sea front with wonderful views over the atlantic ocean. The staff are extremely friendly and professional and the rooms are modern and cater for every need that you could ask for. Their are many wonderful bars and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Return Guest We would like to firstly thank you for your continuous choice in our resort and for your third visit. Your support to this website is of the utmost importance for us as a resort which main aim and purpose of existance is to offer a service of excellence to all those who have choosen to visit... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for 8 nights and seriously did not want to leave. The position of the hotel, all the facilities and the food were perfect. Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday to Madeira and will definitely go back to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to start by thanking you for your recent visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for your support to Tripadvisor so other travelers may get acquainted to our resort and to your travel experience. We are extremely overjoyed to know that we have not disappoint in any way along your holidays in our resort and... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at Pestanan Promenade and I have to say it was a great experience from start to finish. The staff were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent quality, with plenty of choice and very well presented. The setting of the restaurant is fantastic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pleasure Tripper and Guest It was a delight to be able to welcome you in our resort and in Madeira Island. We find ourselves glad for your holiday testimony and support to Tripadvisor. It is always a breathtaking feeling to know that we have managed to have a positive impact in your holidays. We cannot thank you enough for... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We recently stayed for a week and were extremely impressed by this hotel! Our room was very spacious, had a lovely sea/pool view. We had no complaints about the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The staff could not do enough for us, my wife made the hotel aware of her gluten allergy before we went and they assured us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Muito Obrigado (Thank You!) for your recent holiday spent in Madeira Island and in our resort. Your contribution to Tripadvisor is of the utmost importance for both its users and for our resort that has the solo purpose of furnish with positive marks to the holidays of all those who have choosen to visit Pestana Promenade Ocean... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Only managed 6 nights here after an unexpected enforced night in another Pestana hotel in Porto Santo - diverted because the strong winds made landing in Madeira impossible. The location of the hotel is spot on - sea view rooms and close to a wide variety of good restaurants and of course the promenade itself. We were on a bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and Tripadvisor Traveler We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to our resort and for your support to Tripadvisor in providing us with your travel experience. Regrettably, it was not the best begins so it seems due to the terrible weather conditions that the Madeira Airport faced on your arrival, being the airplanes forced... More 

Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed here from October 20th. Eventful landing on Monday meant we actually didn't land and had to spend a night in Las a Palmas due to heavy winds in Madeira. Spoilt the first day but everything was handled well and despite an age waiting in queues we finally departed Las Palmas Tuesday morning at 9am and were sitting by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to read the review that you shared in TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in Pestana Promenade Hotel . Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and recommendation. We were delighted to learn that you have been impressed with the quality of our facilities and service offered. Your gracious comments will serve... More 

Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Pestana Promenade Hotel and felt that we didn't want to come home. The rooms were great, very comfortable with wonderful views of the pool and sea. All of the staff, reception, restaurant and housekeeping were always helpful to deal with and nothing was too much trouble. The grounds of the hotel and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to writing such a positive review; it is always a delight to receive such lovely comments. We were thrilled to read that you had an excellent stay here at the Pestana Promenade Hotel . All the team is focus in trying their utmost to make the guests feel at home, so it... More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Just returned from a lovely weeks stay at the Pestana Promenade. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cold glass of Juice at reception which was a nice surprise after a long days traveling. The room was of a decent enough size, we had requested a double bed, which is actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing Pestana Promenade Hotel for recent visit to Madeira, and also for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have the opportunity to return in the future. Your comments about the Mexican evening were already... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We had a family holiday at this Hotel which was 10adults and 3children under 2 we all had an amazing time and staff were so helpful.We had requested a table for meals so that we could sit together which they gladly provided.The outside and inside swimming pools were kept immaculately clean at all times and all the family enjoyed spending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Traveler We would like to thank you for your latest visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort. We find ourselves truly pleased to know that your visit to Madeira Island and stay at our house has been most enjoyable and worthy of happy memories. Concerning the towels being worn out and in need of replacement, please rest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal

942 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (636)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (144)
Viewed
View from room (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (92)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (168)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (177)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay