We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

4.0 of 5 Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    257
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
184
674
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (998)
  • Mar-May only
    (204)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (279)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to and it did not disappoint. The setting of the hotel is just perfect, with a 25 minute walk to Funchal and a longer walk to Camara de Lobos in the other direction along the promenade. Just what we needed after a sumptuous breakfast. My husband was best pleased with the introduction of porridge. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and Reviewer We thank you for chosing to visit Madeira Island and for your decision in staying once again in our resort at the Promenade. We are grateful that you have considered us as a valid choice as to host you in your holidays spent in this Island and that you have found our resort and staff faultless... More 

Willingham, Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our second time at The Promenade and again the standards promised where reached and exceeded. Helpful friendly staff throughout. No idea why this is not a 5 star hotel. Room very comfortable and a good size. Food very good with great choices at he evening buffet style dinners. The Valentines Day dinner and the Sunday Candlelit dinners were exceptional with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 4th Visit to the Hotel Promonade in 2 years, and as on the other 3 visits to the Hotel, the staff, service, and the room was just 1st class. A really enjoyable break once again. The staff in all areas i.e. reception, waiting, cleaning, bar, & restaurant were all very very good, friendly and most helpful. Mick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Traveler It is with great pride and team spirit that we thank you for this review. We are undoubtely joyful to know that once again you have considered our resort spendid to unquestionabely fulfill in the requirements of providing a memorable holiday time and time again. We can only thank you for allowing us to host... More 

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we have stayed in Madeira before it was the first time in the Promenade. Our room was a "studio" fully equipped with 'fridge, dishwasher, cooking rings and utensils. The room itself was spacious with a large South facing balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the sea beyond, small sitting area and spacious bathroom with bath with shower and separate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and Traveler We thank you foremost for returning to Madeira Island so to enjoy another holiday experience. We are truly delighted that you have chosen on this time the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort to host you on this holiday period. We are pleased that you have found our resort first class and our staff attentive and friendly. Surely... More 

Northallerton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first holiday to Madeira. We had booked this through a travel agents which was unusual for us but we were delighted with the whole experience. We were in one of their 'superior rooms' - 1702 which commanded an excellent view over the small pier and the hotels pools. The room was light, airy and comfortable with a balcony and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and Traveler We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Madeira Island and stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort. It is truly breathtaking to receive such wonderful words towards our resort facilities and its staff. We are glad you have considered us as a marvelous resort with an impeccable service and facilities. We... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Madeira and, after researching hotels through Trip Advisor we chose the Pestana Promenade hotel. How lovely did we find when we arrived to be upgraded to room 1803. The views were simply stunning however the noise of running water took some of the enjoyment away bit wasn't enough to ruin what we had. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest and reviewer We are truly glad that you have decided to visit Madeira Island and chosen Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort to host you in this recent holiday. It is with a great sense of accomplishment and recognition that we become aware that your stay with us was forsooth delightful, enabling we hope in the future to many happy... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We again returned to this resort with confidence believing we would experience the excellent service , location we have come to expect. We were not disappointed. Having spent many times here it is a real 'home from home' experience relaxing from the moment we touch down at the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Tripadvisor user We would like to thank you for your return visit to Madeira Island and for once more choosing the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort to host you on this happy return. In name of all the staff that daily do their utmost to present to its guests a service of excellence, we thank you for... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Madeira, we chose this hotel due to the good reviews,we were not disappointed. The hotel is spotless throughout with fabulous views but the staff were all very friendly and helpful which made the holiday for us. If we visit Madeira in the future we will stay at this hotel but maybe stay on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Evaluator We would like to start by thanking you for providing us with your holiday experience and review of our property. It was an enormous pleasure to be able to host you in Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort on your last holidays spent in Madeira Island, therefore we cannot thank you enough for the polite words and... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a package via a local agent and every thing went very smoothly. We had a a very friendly welcome and were shown to our room which was well appointed & spotless. We had booked half board which for us was a mistake. We didn't know about the nearby restaurants. We ate mostly in the a la carte -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest We are truly glad that you have decided to visit Madeira Island on this occasion and that you have decided for Group Pestana and Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort as the Group and resort of choice so to accommodate you this time. We are contended by the fact that you have found our resort spot clean and our... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came back for the 3rd year running in January, in Madeira, in Funchal and at this Hotel. We cannot find a reason to go elsewhere in Funchal. We had B&B hotel room again for maximum flexibility and ate out although I'm sure in would be fine. The poolside Café is good too. We felt we had excellent value. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest and Traveler We are extremely overwhelmed to know that we have managed yet again to provide you with a memorable holiday. As repeated guests there exists already a prior testimony on a passed holiday, therefore to be able to continue to excel on each time that you decide to visit us is truly remarkable and worthwhile every... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal

953 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (646)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (171)
Viewed
View from room (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (128)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (177)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay