We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aldeia da Fonte

Certificate of Excellence
Caminho de Baixo | Silveira, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
93
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Ottawa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a resort right by the ocean. It has several similar buildings each holding some eight rooms. It is built from the lava rock and this gives a very distinctive feel to the hotel. There is a lovely pool areas and a walk along the cliff tops and a wave viewing lookout. The rooms are well appointed but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, spacious comfortable room, bathroom & outdoor terrace. Breakfast fine but really cramped buffet area. Excellent, friendly staff; they were very willing to provide everything we needed & allowed us to keep our room until 1pm on the day of leaving. I suggest it's perhaps not the best place for disabled guests as it's very hilly (although there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location and surrounding is absolutly great. Unfortunately some of the staff member are very unfriendly. I never had an bad experience like this and I never want to come back because of this. It is very pitty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I don't understand the people who were disappointed in this hotel. If you are expecting 4-5 star as in staying at the Four Seasons in a large North American City, or the Savoy or something, well, I guess this might not meet your expectations. If you are looking for a comfortable place with slightly more than the basic amenities, delivered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
91 hotel reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

I spent two nights here on another visit to Pico. After eating here last year I thought I would try the hotel bearing in mind I upgraded the room.... Here is the good the bad and ugly in reverse order: Ugly. Cleanliness and maintenance of the room was poor, mystery stains on the toilet bowl, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

After reading the reviews, I had high expectations. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in February 2015. My daughter and I were the only guests for 1 of those nights and 1 of 3 others for the other nights. When we arrived it was raining. We were escorted to a room 4 steps below the surface (so basement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AldeiadaFonte, Manager at Hotel Aldeia da Fonte, responded to this review

Dear guest thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and grounds despite being sorry to learn that you were desapointed by our accomodation. In fact we had a mother and a daughter staying in our hotel in February and also from Massachusets but none with the name Gill (as signed). They stayed only... More 

Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

we loved this out of the way place. You will need your own car to get here. Very pleasant hotel with a good restaurant, which was handy as there is nothing else around. They had Chinese food which was very good. set on the rocks with great spots to sit and watch the sea. 10 minute drive from the whale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Konstancin
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
104 hotel reviews
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This seems to be the best hotel on the island of Pico but it underwhelmed me. It seems that exterior maintenance has not kept up with the ever growing moss, ferns, etc. There is a slight smell of decomposition around the hotel. Inside the rooms were clean and well cared for. Breakfast was rather boring and standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Great location, good atmosphere, nice property - just we didn´t get to enjoy this all because the hotel was overbooked even though we have had prepaid for the room. They just offered to move another housing which was far from what we were expecting. Solving the problem was not professional by the administration.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Incredibly located in the rough and steep Lava Coast with a lot of walkways, view points, places to relax and even to swim (if the ocean is calm enough). Very good restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay