We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aldeia da Fonte

Certificate of Excellence
Caminho de Baixo | Silveira, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
88
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
88 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent two nights here on another visit to Pico. After eating here last year I thought I would try the hotel bearing in mind I upgraded the room.... Here is the good the bad and ugly in reverse order: Ugly. Cleanliness and maintenance of the room was poor, mystery stains on the toilet bowl, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

After reading the reviews, I had high expectations. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in February 2015. My daughter and I were the only guests for 1 of those nights and 1 of 3 others for the other nights. When we arrived it was raining. We were escorted to a room 4 steps below the surface (so basement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AldeiadaFonte, Manager at Hotel Aldeia da Fonte, responded to this review

Dear guest thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and grounds despite being sorry to learn that you were desapointed by our accomodation. In fact we had a mother and a daughter staying in our hotel in February and also from Massachusets but none with the name Gill (as signed). They stayed only... More 

Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

we loved this out of the way place. You will need your own car to get here. Very pleasant hotel with a good restaurant, which was handy as there is nothing else around. They had Chinese food which was very good. set on the rocks with great spots to sit and watch the sea. 10 minute drive from the whale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Konstancin
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
100 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This seems to be the best hotel on the island of Pico but it underwhelmed me. It seems that exterior maintenance has not kept up with the ever growing moss, ferns, etc. There is a slight smell of decomposition around the hotel. Inside the rooms were clean and well cared for. Breakfast was rather boring and standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Great location, good atmosphere, nice property - just we didn´t get to enjoy this all because the hotel was overbooked even though we have had prepaid for the room. They just offered to move another housing which was far from what we were expecting. Solving the problem was not professional by the administration.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Incredibly located in the rough and steep Lava Coast with a lot of walkways, view points, places to relax and even to swim (if the ocean is calm enough). Very good restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This place is amazingly located - it's just surrounded by pure essence of the Pico island. Steeping outside of your room puts one almost straight on the Pico trail - and I enjoying walking them immensely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Loved the swimming bay. Very friendly and accomodating service. Good picninc sandwiches. The only drawback was the plastic on the matresses. I don't have anything else to write, but Tripadvisor demands 200 characters - stupid rule!! Stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My husband and I spent our 20th Wedding Anniversary in July at this gorgeous resort. The views and design of the resort are just amazing. You are set high above the ocean with different pathways to the pool or an ocean overlook where you can either sit and read or take in the stunning views. We enjoyed the restaurant in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at Aldeia in mid-September. We stayed in a single studio room with was very large, comfortable and had very nice modern bathroom. We had an amazing ocean view, free wifi in our room, and really enjoyed the beautiful natural setting of the hotel. We didn't use the pool which was very nice, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question