We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aldeia da Fonte

Certificate of Excellence
Caminho de Baixo | Silveira, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    51
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
95
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Almada, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A beautiful place, near the sea! A wonderful house, cleaned, quiet... Nice people! Great food! A amazing view! Go and enjoy! Be happy!! Um Sítio maravilhoso, perto do mar. Gente boa. Casinhas limpas e muito bonitas! Vão e aproveitem!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Near the sea. With small villas in the wild nature. The rooms are very well decorated. Fantastic access to the sea. Nice Swimming pool. The staff is quite nice. The food in the restaurant is very good. If you want to enjoy the nature in Pico this is the hotel you must choose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a treat to stay here! The views were awesome and with little nooks and crannies all over the property, you can be totally peaceful while you look out over the water. Rooms were well-appointed and comfortable. Attached restaurant had a large, very reasonably priced menu and made it very easy to dine. Staff was friendly and helpful. We truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This is a resort right by the ocean. It has several similar buildings each holding some eight rooms. It is built from the lava rock and this gives a very distinctive feel to the hotel. There is a lovely pool areas and a walk along the cliff tops and a wave viewing lookout. The rooms are well appointed but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Lovely hotel, spacious comfortable room, bathroom & outdoor terrace. Breakfast fine but really cramped buffet area. Excellent, friendly staff; they were very willing to provide everything we needed & allowed us to keep our room until 1pm on the day of leaving. I suggest it's perhaps not the best place for disabled guests as it's very hilly (although there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Location and surrounding is absolutly great. Unfortunately some of the staff member are very unfriendly. I never had an bad experience like this and I never want to come back because of this. It is very pitty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I don't understand the people who were disappointed in this hotel. If you are expecting 4-5 star as in staying at the Four Seasons in a large North American City, or the Savoy or something, well, I guess this might not meet your expectations. If you are looking for a comfortable place with slightly more than the basic amenities, delivered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

I spent two nights here on another visit to Pico. After eating here last year I thought I would try the hotel bearing in mind I upgraded the room.... Here is the good the bad and ugly in reverse order: Ugly. Cleanliness and maintenance of the room was poor, mystery stains on the toilet bowl, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

After reading the reviews, I had high expectations. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in February 2015. My daughter and I were the only guests for 1 of those nights and 1 of 3 others for the other nights. When we arrived it was raining. We were escorted to a room 4 steps below the surface (so basement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AldeiadaFonte, Manager at Hotel Aldeia da Fonte, responded to this review

Dear guest thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and grounds despite being sorry to learn that you were desapointed by our accomodation. In fact we had a mother and a daughter staying in our hotel in February and also from Massachusets but none with the name Gill (as signed). They stayed only... More 

Bath, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

we loved this out of the way place. You will need your own car to get here. Very pleasant hotel with a good restaurant, which was handy as there is nothing else around. They had Chinese food which was very good. set on the rocks with great spots to sit and watch the sea. 10 minute drive from the whale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay