We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Pico hotels

Pocinho Bay

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pico, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pocinho Bay to your Saves list
Pocinho Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Pico
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
drGaynor Bologna, Italy
  • Overview
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • More
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a traditional hotel. Looks more like a B&B or private house. Built respecting the island tradition. Quite interesting accommodation PRO: - the structure itself is fascinating - the decorations of the rooms and "common spaces" are interesting and unusual and reflect the love for traveling of the owners. Nice the pictures shot by the owner on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosie1412
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The owners don't know how to manage their property. They duplicated our reservation and didn't have the decency to question why a couple on their honeymoon would need two separate rooms. Worst of all they said it was our fault and we had to pay the full 3 night on both rooms. I didn't really get a choice not to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pocinho B, Owner at Pocinho Bay, responded to this review

Dear "Rosie" Sorry but we must correct some facts. First of all, we didn't duplicated your reservation. You did it. You made 2 reservations (one direct with us and one by booking.com). The first reservation was made in your name (R.R.) and the other one in name of your husband (S.H.). As you can see by the initials, there is... More

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There are so many good and bad things about this hotel. The decor is upmarket - the service and facilities are less so. No 24 hour reception, no room service, no restaurant, no kettle or bottled water in the rooms, no products in the bathroom. There is an immaculately kept pool and garden, a beautiful cove on the other side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My family stayed in two of the guest rooms at the end of August. We had a very pleasant stay. The owners are very helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are very nice, clean and modern which makes for an interesting contrast against the old vineyard buildings in which they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I had three nights and days at the nice hotel, and it was a nice experience.. We had been on Lajes de Pico before (on the other side of the Island) looking at whales etc, and now we needed something else to explore. When you live at this hotel, you need a rented car or use of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mass., USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I love small, boutique places to stay that are authentic to the region were we stay. You could not get more authentiic then this with all the modern ammenities. The room was beautiful with all the exposed stone and beams inside. Very comfortable and everything we needed but shampoo! I don't consider this an issue. The innkepers were very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Pocinhobay is a "secret" small hotel in front of a natural swiming pool that have everything we wanted. Its calm, clean, "design decor", traditional materials (wood and basaltic stone) and great gardens. On top of that, the reception was very friendly, the breakfast unforgettable, and the beds and sheets extra comfortable. It was a very good experience and we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Praia da Vitoria, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

There are many beautiful places to stay in Pico. If you would like to experience the most arrogant of inn keepers - go for it - and they don't know how to work the invoice software - so don't expect a quality invoice. If you skip this haven here's what you are missing - 1) no toiletries in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We recently had the pleasure of spending 10 nights at Pocinho Bay in July 2010 - and can't wait to come back to what is simple a special place. For those looking for a quiet haven, with beautiful rooms, set in a wonderfully relaxing garden then we wouldn't hesitate recommending Pocinho Bay to anyone. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisbon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

A wrong choice for those wanting to relax. The hotel has no restaurant, which means that you need to lunch and dinner abroad (material note: only by rented car…). If you decide to go with children I can hardly imagine the confusion! Furthermore, be aware of the cancelation policy… If you are alone and your interest is to climb the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pocinhobay, Owner at Pocinho Bay, responded to this review

I know that we should be mad with a bad revue. But, we are not! We respect all the critics of our clients (they help us getting better). We do not feel the same about the opinion of those that never stayed at Pocinhobay. This revue was writen by someone that dont know Pocinhobay, thats for sure! From 31 July... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pocinho Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pocinho Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocinho Bay

Address: Pico, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Pico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pocinho Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pocinho Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocinho Bay Pico

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer