We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Algarve

4.0 of 5 Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Algarve
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    164
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
63
247
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (417)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had booked a 6 day stay in the Holiday Inn, and had specifically looked for a 4 or 5 star hotel as I wanted a nice relaxing stay without any hassle. Big mistake, huge in fact. This is a 2 star hotel at best, and for me was a seemingly endless set of problems. I had problems with: the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2nd visit here and as always a lovely stay. Staff pleasant and helpful, food very good and always a good choice. Rooms excellent and beds very comfortable. Beach is great just a few steps from hotel. Although this hotels mainly caters for the Saga groups it's still entertaining just sitting in reception watching the shenanigans!!!! Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from a long weekend to charge up batteries, which it did. We loved the fact we could hear the waves from our room, breakfast was ok had all the normal full english stuff but nothing original. The bar was lovely but a little over priced. Our room was lovely but I think the place needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent beach side hotel with all the necessary amenities for having a leisurely break anytime of year. It has a pool an outside bar and it's own access to the beach and the sea views are magnificent. The staff are most helpful in every way and the accommodation is first class. Claudia and Alice in reception were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and to know that you are planning to return next year. Kindest regards Vicki Good More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes hotel is in good location and on most excellent beach. BUT Rooms terrible. We had a so called refurbished Seaview. Can't believe other reviews. We went out as much as possible. STAFF MISERABLE: There is only Claudia who knows how to meet and greet visitors on reception. Glad she was still there and as good as she was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read your review. These are not the standards that we aim for nor those that we normally achieve. We will contact you directly - as we need to know which room you were in. We will investigate each point and will ensure that the issues are rectified. Our apologies. Vicki Good More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with Saga for 2 weeks and had an excellent holiday. We had a non seaview room but it was a very large room & large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the street. The buffet food was as good as any we've had before and the All Inclusive drinks perfectly acceptable . The staff are very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bucks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times and really enjoy the wonderful location right on the beach. The hotel itself was taken over by the Holiday Inn several years ago ,it was originally built in the 1960s so dated in its design and obviously there is only so much a hotel can do to improve certain things. The rooms are comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in a very nice location near the beach with fabulous views and shaded gardens. The staff are willing and helpful. The pool is quite small and very deep. The lifts are not totally reliable. The food was not of a good standard in either quality or variety. The soft drinks that were served to Saga guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Dear ElaineClemmy, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I am pleased to know that our location worked for your needs and that you found our staff commendable. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the food selection and the hotel amenities/ facilities may have caused you. We greatly... More

Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is not what you would expect when you hear the name Holiday Inn. Not that there is anything at all wrong with your typical Holiday Inn, but you usually dont associate it with beachfront property and fine dining. The restaurant had a great breakfast/dinner selection, fitness center, and location. Also, the room was clean and comfortable. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two days and it turned out to be a very relaxing experience. Hotel staff is very friendly, works well together, and pay attention to detail. Managers on duty were very accommodating with certain requests we had and never said no. Overall a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve Armacao De Pera, Portugal

459 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (25)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (50)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
Suite with Sea View (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay