We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Armacao de Pera hotels

Holiday Inn Algarve

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Algarve to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Algarve
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
78%
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Armacao de Pera
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lyndylou98 Guildford, England,
  • Overview
  • Reviews (387)
  • Photos (442)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    152
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
62
231
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England,
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely location , good for the more mature generation , not suitable for under 55's wanting a more quiet relaxing holiday . Disappointed with food compared to other hotels , but location & views are wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was very old. To expensive for the quality. You pay to be close to the beach which was very good. The food in the breakfast and dinner was ok. The swimming pool is a little small compared to the size and the number if rooms in the hotel. The beach is ok but cold water compared with another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our Hotel in September, 2013. We are very sorry that we did not reach your expectations last year, we hope if you return this year, you will see improvement. Kindest regards Vicki Good More

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from the 15th August for 10 nights. We booked directly with the hotel, in fact with Claudia, who was very helpful, given us the advice and help we wanted. We had a lovely sea view room on the 3rd floor which was on the small size, but clean, bed was comfortable, lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at our Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments. We hope it is not too long before you return Kindest regards Vicki Good More

Poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rusty table lamps, curtain rails & the railings outside of our window showed a clear lack of attention to detail. The curtains were also threadbare in places. The air conditioning unit progressively got noisier & then, literally, ejected a shower of ice into our room! The shower head's slide bar was disengaged from its bottom mounting bracket, so making height... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve. We are very sorry to read your comments. Please accept our apologies. Your feedback will enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindest regards Vicki... More

Odessa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given a room with a view (1st floor) despite that we booked a non-view one, so it was already positive. Also the personnel at the reception was very helpful – they organized a taxi to meet us at the train station, provided us extra help which was more than their obligatory job – so the services exceeded our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My experience at the Holiday Inn, Armação de Pera, Algarve was disappointing. I am aware that I went in August which is the peak season and you end up paying for that as well. The location of the hotel is fantastic as you can basically park your car and do mostly everything if you stay in Armação de Pera. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are very sorry that you were disappointed. Your feedback is much appreciated - it assists us in improving our standards. We will investigate your points and resolve these issues. Kindest regards Vicki Good More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the holiday inn for a week, really enjoyed our stay there friendly staff, rooms cleaned every day we wanted a balcony as we had asked for one and we did get one the next day, overall a nice quite place beautiful terrace if you dont want to go to the beach, bit of entertainment in the hotel would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here in the near future. Kindest regards Vicki Good More

Herning, Danmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 week on the second floor with a seaview. Really nice hotel. The room was a nice size with big very comfortable beds. The terasse was tiny and not really usable for anything else than drying your towel. Luckily it was not so hot that we needed to have the aircon on, because when we tried, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Dear Andersostergaard, Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. I am elated that our hotel location and room accommodations exceeded your expectations. Please accept me sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with the condition of the pool and service received. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked for ten days at the Holiday Inn on an all inclusive basis. On arrival it seemed that there had been some confusion between our travel agent and the hotel which had left us a bed short on the first night for me, my disabled wife and our three children. This was quickly resolved by Claudia and her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barnstaple
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel...clean...well kept tidy pool area...excellent reception staff. BUT...is so let down by the poor food and sullen old men(waiting staff) in the restaurant. BREAKFAST....nice selection overall but the cooked option sits in 'rechauffe' dishes with lids on from 7.30...when you come in at 8.30 the 'fried' eggs are rubbery and overcooked, the bacon is steaming and soggy and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review

Dear Mark T, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve Armacao De Pera, Portugal

442 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (25)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (50)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
Suite with Sea View (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Armacao de Pera with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armação de Pêra, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armação de Pêra accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
189

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Algarve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer