We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponta Grande Resort

Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ponta Grande Resort
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    17
    12
    1
See reviews for
55
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very welcoming place with good food, also manager and staff great. It's in very good Area about 15 min to the beach São Raphael. Faro airport is a forty min drive away. Albufeira is the nearest town 10 min by car and it's buzzing ywith life in the summer months, lots of bars and places to dine. It also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like most of the recent reviewers we were very impressed with Ponta Grande. The apartments were beautifully spacious. Dated? Perhaps but only slightly and very well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped and much larger than usual. The restaurant on site is good and excellent value. We were there in March but they still had a cabaret night which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andalusia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Stayed last week and although the weather wasn't brilliant the venue made up for it. We had heating in every room, including the bathroom. We were amazed at the staff and customer service. We reported that the microwave wasn't working properly and within half an hour a new one had been fitted! We will definitely go back to this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Although the reset and area was quiet there were still plenty of bars and restaurants open particularly in the lovely fishing villages on the coast. The resort was beautifully maintained centred round a pleasant pool and the accommodation was very good although a little dated,it was very spacious with high ceilings and a good sized terrace. The on site bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fishguard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just back from a week in this excellent resort. The accommodation is first class with bedrooms on an upper level so the lounge/diner and kitchen can be increased in size. Staff are most friendly and are genuinely pleased to help. The on site restaurant can't be faulted. They have a menu of the day at €8.90 but the normal prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We very much enjoyed your stay at the Ponta Grande Resort. There were some snags in our unit because we had 2 guests some New Zealand joining us and needed a few more things. Although the unit was spacious and very comfortable, the fridges (2 small ones) were broken a bit and there was no coffee maker, or sink stopper..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
São Rafael G, Front Office Manager at Ponta Grande Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nickandnic2014, First of all, thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience in Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort. We appreciate that you have highlighted the size of the Villas, the pool area, the restaurant, the cafe and the quality of our staff. Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort will take note of your suggestions in order to improve our... More 

Brixton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here and will be back. The staff, from Management, to reception, to room attendants, cannot be faulted. Great location near the beach.(5 minutes) From the airport we use Yellofish taxis, reliable,english speaking drivers, the kids loved the WIFI on board.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
São Rafael G, Front Office Manager at Ponta Grande Resort, responded to this review

Dear James C, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback . We are glad to read that you had a lovely time in Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort. We are pleased about your positive and kind comments regarding to our location, the beaches and Ponta Grande staff. Our team will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in... More 

West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Recently back from a two week vacation at this resort. Overall we had an enjoyable stay but suffered from not choosing to hire a car as the resort sits just outside of the main town of Albuferia. There is a local bus that you can catch but is does not run on a frequent basis. The walk into Albuferia takes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
São Rafael G, Front Office Manager at Ponta Grande Resort, responded to this review

Dear beaverWestMidlands, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort. We are also pleased about your positive comments regarding to restaurant food and resort staff. It was a pleasure to stand at your service and hope to have the opportunity to... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Four of us stayed at the Ponta Grande Resort last week and had a lovely time. Staff are very helpful. When we could not find English channels on TV a member of staff came to show us within a few minutes. Staff at reception were very pleasant and answered any queries. We ate several times at the resort and meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
São Rafael G, Front Office Manager at Ponta Grande Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tripandyto, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback . We are glad to read that you had a lovely time in Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort. We are pleased about your positive and kind comments regarding to Ponta Grande staff. Our team will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances. We look... More 

The Wirral, UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We were booked into this resort via our Club La Costa Vacation Club points. From reading a previous review from a CLC member, I was horrified and nearly cancelled. CLC assured me this would not happen again and that the matter had been resolved, so we took a chance and went ahead with the booking. This resort is primarily made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
São Rafael G, Front Office Manager at Ponta Grande Resort, responded to this review

Dear wilsonjenny, First of all, thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience in Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort. We really appreciate your opinions; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our mistakes. The Ponta Grande São Rafael Resort are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are particularly grateful for pointing out our location, the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question